We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfiest bed and relaxing stay”
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
East Coast
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Comfiest bed and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our stay here was a welcome oasis on a bitter cold night. Our room (204) faced a lovely snow-covered courtyard. It was quiet, cozy, immaculate and well-appointed. The best part, by far, was the bed. I don't know what kind it was, but we felt like we were sleeping on a cloud.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    160
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
95
299
40
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Morris House Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. It is a beautiful house, well appointed and maintained, with many excellent features.
The staff were generally friendly, though one or two staff members seemed less than enthusiastic and even failed to come up with a basic hello. One the whole though they were helpful.
The public rooms of the house, the breakfast room and a small lounge, were well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast was quite basic, but the cookies in the afternoon were a nice touch and delicious. One could even take a small jar of seeds harvested from the plants in the lovely garden to take home.
The room we stayed in (201) was in the main house and was large and comfortable. The furnishings were lovely and while the bathroom had seen better days it was spotlessly clean and large.
The hotel is perfectly located and many of Philadelphia's principal attractions are a short walk away. That said, the hotel is on a quiet street and has a peaceful air.
A very nice hotel, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very centrally located, easy walk to many areas. It was actually one of the best priced hotels I found in the area. The rooms are very well decorated, they are laid out a bit strange, appropriately because it is an historic house turned to hotel. I loved this aspect, but it is not a cookie cutter place. You will not lack anything, and the experience is great. The single bed rooms are too small for a family. Amenities too numerable to mention. I am a Hilton diamond member, and am extremely glad I broke my routine to stay at this unique, historic, comfortable and high class hotel full of history.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripDoc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My family and I were visiting my sister in the hospital nearby. Morris house provided us a perfect, luxuriously comfortable stay, providing us much-needed relief. We felt extraordinarily well cared for. Lowell was the most polite and genuine gentleman and the food next door, superb. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our daughter lives in South Philly and recommended several hotels near her neighborhood for us to stay during a midweek visit. One look a the Morris House online, followed by a phone-call reservation convinced me the choice was easy. But the historic home -- an oasis of colonial architecture amid the glass office towers surrounding it -- exceeded our expectations. Easy access. Friendly and helpful staff. Warm and comfortable public rooms. Complimentary wine in the afternoon at the cozy bar. A beautiful and comfortable suite overlooking the brick courtyard for a great price. And it's in a great, great location -- an easy walk to restaurants, attractions, historic locations. This is where we will stay on return visits to Philly.

Room Tip: Tiny complaint -- not enough surface space in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my SO. The house has a very warm feeling and is very clean and comfortable. Location is great - close to many restaurants, the liberty bell, independence hall, the national constitution center.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mge972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed at the hotel over the Army Navy football weekend. The room was quite nice though I arrived late and it was difficult to gain access to the property. Given security concerns, this was understandable. However, the next morning, my guest and I attempted to have breakfast. The dining area was a complete mess. There was no place for us to sit. I was less concerned about the seating but the area had not been cleaned leaving no place for other guests to eat. Other than a few pieces of bread, the food was completely gone. It appeared that no one was in charge. My guest and I bussed the tables and got was little food was left. The hotel is quite beautiful and historic but I expected a bit more in regards to customer service. Simply ensuring that the dining area was clean and that some breakfast items were available would have made our stay much better.

Room Tip: The rooms were quite nice. We stayed on the second floor and we enjoyed the room. It was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gamecockjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing