We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We spent one night in room #201, the most requested room, according to the site. It was a rather large and well appointed room but instead of offering a chocolate on the pillow, they may do well to give you an Ambien. The room was in the front of the house with all the street noise that would be expected in the city but also on top of the subway runs under the hotel and frequent rumblings can be felt as the subway goes by.
Pluses for the Morris House are it's people who are very nice and helpful, it's location and the beautiful old house with it's history and mostly it's garden area, rare in the city.
Minuses, aside from the noise, would be it's condition seems to be on the slide.
Please replace the sofa in the Parlor, as it is worn and dirty looking.
It's breakfast was minimal.
I would try it again in the nicer weather but will take care to request a room in the back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhiladelphiaGreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a night out in the city and stayed at the Morris House. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. It is in a perfect spot for a get away in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h13short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

This hotel is literally around the corner from the Wills Eye Institute and very convenient to Jefferson Medical. For our purposes, it was terrific.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdmoser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We had a fantastic time! The exterior of the building is brick and has a great historic vibe, while the interior is ultra-modern and has every amenity. The cookies in the lobby were the icing on the cake :) The hotel is a stone's throw from the Liberty Bell and the Constitution Hall; lots of nice restaurants nearby as well.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KChaplinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Very nice rooms; cozy "living room" downstairs with a nice fireplace and the New York Times; cookies every night (not homemade, but still pretty good). Great location for historic sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajbobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My grand-daughter and I recently spent two nights at the Morris House, as part of our celebratory visit to Philadelphia for her 21st birthday. The accommodations were better than adequate, but not luxurious. I had the feeling that someone had begun with a lovely collection of antiques, then filled in the holes with purchases from Ikea or perhaps a trip to Goodwill. The bathroom was sparkling clean and well supplied with towels, etc. Although we did not use the kitchen facilities in our carriage house room, I was surprised to notice that there were no dishes or glasswear provided. Someone would have trouble preparing even a light breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, the morning meal was quite nice, with a variety of breads and spreads provided. A second choice of cereal would have been appreciated.

Where Morris House excels, however, was in the personal service. We were there long enough to meet three concierges, and each was more efficient, more pleasant and more knowledgeable than the one before. Their enthusiasm for service went a long way toward making the price more palatable.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyMaran21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

My wife and I stayed at the hotel one night because of its close proximity to the Pennsylvania hospital where she was scheduled for out-patient radiation treatment. Surprisedly the hotel offered no discounts for patients attending the hospital and in fact offered no room discounts at all for any reason. I'm always amazed how a hotel can charge such exboritant rates and have such uncomfortable beds. The queen size bed we had was sagging in the middle and needed to be replaced. For some unknown reason the hotel has a small office set up right by the staircase leading up to the rooms - couldn't it be placed somewhere else? Returning from a walking trip we were preparing to enter our room and could hear several hotel employees loudly complaining about a hotel guest who had been dissatisfied with a meal at the nearby 'M' restaurant which is owned by the hotel - very unprofessional conduct to say the least. We ate there and the meal was good although dinner portions were small. We had to eat at the bar since a conference was in session and no advance warning was given to guests who had intended on eating there - once again very unprofessional. If you're going to tout your restaurant you should inform guests if it's going to be unavailable during the peak dining hour.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaggybone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,389 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £120 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing