We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanctuary in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sanctuary in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Absolutely stunned by how good this hotel was. We had a suite for a ridiculously cheap price and the accommodation was amazing. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and as soon as we arrived made us feel very welcome, telling us about the history of the building. The location is right in the heart of the city and with the gorgeous courtyard garden it felt a million miles away from the city centre. Everything about this hotel was wonderful and would definitely stay there and again and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    160
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
95
297
39
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu,HI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

incredible history, funrnishings, staff, 'M' Restaurant....everything was superb!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hokua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, UT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Nice experience to stay in such an historical building. The rooms are beautiful- do try to stay away from rooms 301 and 302 in the front of the building due to noise issues. I stayed in room 302, which was beautiful and well appointed. It seems that the hotel likes to put their solo travelers in these rooms. I asked to be switched and was told only the Presidential Suite was available at an additional $189.00. The M restaurant was very good and beautiful. The continental breakfast was slim pickens (old used fruit). This hotel is close to all the historical district and some very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

we were looking for a suite in Philadelphia and found the Morris House! Our room was like an apartment and was perfect for us- two adults and a toddler. It was nice to have a living room, kitchen, nice size bedroom and large bath. The staff were so nice and helpful and we were within walking distance to the historic sites. I would definitely stay in this great hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

We were in Phil for a short vacation. The house is very smart and it really good located to the sites. For the Restaurant Service People we have to give a bad note. We ordered to glasses of wine (each for 11 $) and didn't get some snacks with it (maybe in case they are looking forward to get home). The matrass in our room was constructed in 7/ 2006 (!) and is was layed out. I asked for a change, but they didn't have another one. They
put a wooden plank under the matrass. The only good thing is the building itself and his rooms and his location near to the POI's. The breakfast was miserable (only -old- croissants and bagels and plastik packed jelly).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

The hotel is a classic old home that has been very nicely appointed into a comforatable stay. Try not to take too much luggage. Even though the staf is willing and able to help, there is not an elevator and the stairs are narrow.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeecartl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Quick little overnight to Philly and I saw the excellent ratings for Morris House on Trip advisor. Granted we booked late and didn't have the "pick of the litter", but really for the rate charged, I expected a bit more. Room was decidedly average, cleanliness was questionable at best and upon leaving the response to your question about where we could get a full breakfast we heard the dreaded four letters..."IHOP". Too many other great accomodations in Philly to venture a second try, sorry to say.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scenario23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing