We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful New Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cornelius, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my two sisters for one night. We had a double queen suite. The room was absolutely huge. The living room had two queen sofa beds plus two chairs in the along with a flat screen television, mini refrigerator and microwave. Tons of storage in the closet. The room had a full wall of windows but our view overlooked the street outside. The bedroom had two queen beds, another flat screen television, dresser, two nightstands, a closet and chair. The sink was in the bedroom while there was a separate bathroom with a bathtub/shower combo and toilet. The room was spotless. I would definitely recommend staying here, especially if you were going to a game nearby. The lobby did have a nice bistro that served breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks. The menu was limited but had enough choices if you were hungry. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakenorman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    80
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
75
94
11
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This location has been open about a month and all seems well. Clean, friendly, helpful. All the usual that you can expect from this chain/brand name. What does make this location stand out is that it is in the navel yards at the southern end of Broad St. The yards are an interesting area to walk around and if you are a navel buff this is the place for you. Additionaly, this location is very close, even walking distance to the sports complex. Lastly the price is certainly right. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Chose a room looking out at the sports complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnutandbensparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! The Navy Yard is a great place to visit and learn about history of the Navy. Thank you for pointing out just how close we are to the sport centers. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is new and modern. You can tell from the squared grass and the surrounding construction of the office buildings. The Decor is extremely modern. New finishes, New styles, What I expect from a 4 star or more.

Bed was comfy, Rooms, hallways, lobby were clean. Fitness room was an ok size. 24hr bar and snack zone, free wifi. beautiful iMacs Business Center. FYI: There is an outlet on like every fixture in the bedroom. This hotel gets it!!!!! THIS is the hotel you want to stay in.

HOLD ON!!!! it has downsides. Its in a decommissioned Navy base, so there is a guard at the gate, just tell him your going here and he'll let you in. (Don't be spooked). Parking can be a problem when you arrive late (past 2am or so) so.. park on the street. THERE IS NO POOL.

Other than the few minor problems This place is on my top of the list. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguinator13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for the great feedback! You are correct that in the off hours, we are in a gated river front community so please just let them know at the gate that you are coming to the hotel. The security team can help you with directions and map from the gate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is such a beautiful property and definitely surpasses the quality you expect from staying in a Marriott. Upon check in I was greeted by Maria at the front desk who had the best customer service and a upbeat attitude. Getting up to the room was another great experience that I will not forget either. All of the rooms have a different ambiance than any other Courtyard Marriott. After coming back from a long night at the club I was welcomed by the night auditor Sears who was ready to help me with anything that I needed. I can honestly say that this will my first choice when visting the Philadelphia area! Thanks for such an awesome experience Courtyard!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a pretty awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jshearin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for the wonder comments! Our staff appreciates the shout outs. We look forward to your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
591 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The much anticipated new Marriott is finally open for business as of 1/7/2014. I stayed here for one night on a business trip and arrived on a Tuesday at 6 PM. The front desk clerk was professional and friendly. She tried to look up my rewards number and apply it to my stay for reward points, but was unsuccessful. She pointed out the fact that the hotel had a bistro that was available for dining at for dinner or the next morning for breakfast. I declined to even look at it as I wasn't interested. Tip for the hotel: include a menu of the "bistro" with prices in each guest room. Don't expect me to go visit it to find out what they have to offer and the cost. I'll just go elsewhere and you just lost potential business.

I stayed in a Guest room, 1 King, Sofabed for a special reduced rate. It had a lovely view of a gigantic field of mud. Free parking though!

--Complimentary lotion bottle was previously used and left in room. Disgusting! These should be replaced between changing of guests in the room.

--There was someone else's hair left on the wall in the shower. Disgusting! Shower walls should be scrubbed down between changing of guests in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeoWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWeney, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I would like to thank you for your feedback about your previous stay with us. I am deeply concerned about the issues with room cleanliness and I look forward researching and improving on this matter. As a newly opened hotel we realize that our guest comments will only help us get better. I hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We are booked into this hotel for an event at the Arena mid-summer. I must say that already our experience has been outstanding and we haven't even gone there yet! The staff has been extremely helpful over the phone, and we feel very well prepared for our trip. One great bit of advice for those staying here to attend sporting or concert events: We have heard stories of difficult taxi experiences and price gouging for the very short drive. Have the hotel staff help with taxi quotes if you plan round trip. Uber.com is an app for your phone, easier than the drive/pay/park method, but not inexpensive for the three minute trip. If you are there during the week we recommend the FREE LOOP SHUTTLE from the Navy Yard! This hotel is located right within the Loop and the free shuttle will have you at the corner near the stadium in minutes. It runs during the week until about 7:30pm, so you will have one way transport covered. Many folks opt to walk back to the hotel along the sidewalk on the south side of Broad Street. It can be an intimidating street crossing, but there are traffic lights in our favor.

Will undoubtedly be back to report on our experience with additional tips and recommendations!
Happy Travels :-)

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherelleDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your comments and helping other travelers with great ideas on transportation to the sports complex. Lots of great tips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a nice new hotel that I thought was pretty nice especially for a Marriott Courtyard. The staff was very friendly and the helpful and the bar/breakfast area had lots of glass and was nice and bright and open. It had lots of seating and I noticed a area/table that had lots of plugs if you needed to charge your devices.
The room was very nice and clean. Large flat screen and a nice bathroom/shower. So what was bad? It was hard to find! It is literally in the navy yard and you need to pass through a security gate, but one guard gave us bad directions and we drove around the navy yard a bit to find it. I think a bit of signage would be a plus.
We had a nice time and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#59 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard

Property: Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Address: 1001 Intrepid Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19112-1227
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience modern style and historic charm in this dynamic city hub when you stay at our new, LEED-certified and eco-friendly hotel in Philadelphia's South neighborhood, the Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard. Located just four miles from Center City, our hotel is the first in The Navy Yard's dynamic urban development offering a unique campus environment with a dedication to sustainability. Experience our state-of-the-art lobby and The Bistro – offering all-day dining, an evening bar and The Navy Yard's only Starbucks®. You'll also enjoy our South Philadelphia hotel's inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax. Tap into the free Wi-Fi throughout our Philadelphia South hotel, or get the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your visit to our hotel's South Philadelphia accommodations is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing