We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great interior and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great interior and great staff”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived today and love our room. The room decor is really refreshing. The beds are comfortable and everything's very clean and modern. Paul Mitchell shampoo in a spacious bathroom! Lobby is pretty too and has a Starbucks. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angiesalga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the 5 Star review. We are all very happy to be here live to provide great experiences for all of our guests. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    86
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
89
104
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett NH
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is only a few months old so everything is fresh and new!!! We have stayed in many Marriott hotels and this is certainly one of the nicest. The rooms and baths are very nice and extremely clean. The restauarnt is somewhat limited in its menu, but the food is good. The staff here was great, but the management needs to be more proactive. For instance, the restaurant closes at 2 PM and re-opens at 5 PM. On the day we arrived, many guests had flown in from all over the country, arriving around 2-3 pm with no food available. Management should have known that these guests would be coming for the Frozen Four at the Wells Fargo Center, checking in mid afternoon. If you are attending a sporting event this is a great place as it's a 10-15 minute walk to the Center. Beware, there are no stores or restaurants in walking distance and downtown parking is a nightmare.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you reviewing us. We appreciate your feedback and it will help us get even better for the future. The Navy Yard is planning to have more services added to the area in the near future. We look forward to others opening in The Navy Yard to give you more choices of places to dine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Like every trip, i was staying into a Marriott hotel, who are always near sport building. Clean room, easy walk to the Citizen bank park and wells fargo center. Go to this hotel if you want to see Professional sports in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic21345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for such a postivie review. Our goal is to have every guest experiance the same level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

New and modern facility that was within walking distance to the sports complex. We were in town for a hockey game. We were able to save some money by walking over to the arena in about 15-20 minutes.
The beds and pillows are excellent. The room was on the small side but very clean and modern. The service was adequate. No free breakfast, but had food available for purchase. Very convenient to attend a football, baseball or hockey game in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bookroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWeney, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hello,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the convenience of walking to your event from our hotel. We strive to offer clean and comfortable rooms along with great customer service to every guest.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We are currently guests at this hotel and I absolutely love it. We can see the Phillies scoreboard from our room during the game!
Nia at the front desk is lovely. Very professional and helpful but with a warmth that truly makes you feel that she is happy that you are happy here. You can tell she takes great pride in her job.
Our room is on the second floor. The shower is amazing, a bathtub may be missed if you like a soak after a long day, but that shower head will change your mind, as well as the pleasantly smelling soap provided.
The bistro is a bit pricey, but the selection is good, and everything is very fresh. This is the first hotel I have stayed at that did not include free breakfast, which is really the only negative thing I can think of. The sofa is comfortable, my son slept well on the sofa bed. My husband and I slept well on our king sized bed as well, I like the pillows, not too firm and not too soft either.
The location is so close to 76, 95, and a quick jump up Broad to Packer to Oregon that you can be at Tony Luke's for the best cheese steak in the city in minutes, then head down Oregon, take a left on Columbus and you're downtown by Penn's Landing in minutes!
Let's not forget you can walk to the games since the stadiums are so close I can see them from my room and tell you the score. Sorry, the Phillies are losing to the Brewers right now.
Security is great being behind the gates to the Navy yard, there are gates that do have guards at them after hours, and you need a room key to use the elevator. We will absolutely return, and I will look at staying at other Courtyards in our future travels after such a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front that faces the parking lot and stadiums for a great view of planes takin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakegeorge_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWeney, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hello,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for all of your great comments.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara falls
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Some friends and I went to a hockey game. It was easy to find, clean, greatly priced, close to arena and the staff was so friendly! Definitely recommending it to everyone!!! I love the new modern feel to it

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachykeen2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for reveiwing us and letting people know about how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very unique location in the Old Philadelphia Navy Yard! First, the hotel. Modern design, very spacious rooms and bathrooms. Great tiled shower! the beds were comfortable and in our case, the view of the South Philly stadiums was very nice. We ate at the Bistro downstairs as part of an included breakfast package and the staff was very accommodating. The lobby bar was pretty typical for a smaller hotel, but the lobby space was a bit of an upgrade. We plan on using this Marriott as a regular stop.

As for the Navy Yard itself, what a great planned residential and commercial property! There are so many original structures remaining, many of them being reused plus a lot of new construction. Seeing the old firehouse, infirmary and grand parade grounds in front of the huge barracks gives a peek into our military past. Pretty cool having to go through the old gate to the base to get to the hotel. There are many old reserve Navy ships docked at the water front and the decommissioned Carrier JFK is just sitting there rusting away, but you can walk right up to it! I'm a bit of a military history buff and spending the weekend on this property, where many of my family members worked, was an added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
The Navy Yard is such a great place to visit. The JFK is on museum hold for a group up in New England. Let’s hope they can get their funding and restore the JFK the formal glory. The USS JFK RI is the organization leading this effort. Thank you for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#60 of 86 in Philadelphia
767 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
974 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard

Property: Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Address: 1001 Intrepid Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19112-1227
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience modern style and historic charm in this dynamic city hub when you stay at our new, LEED-certified and eco-friendly hotel in Philadelphia's South neighborhood, the Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard. Located just four miles from Center City, our hotel is the first in The Navy Yard's dynamic urban development offering a unique campus environment with a dedication to sustainability. Experience our state-of-the-art lobby and The Bistro – offering all-day dining, an evening bar and The Navy Yard's only Starbucks®. You'll also enjoy our South Philadelphia hotel's inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax. Tap into the free Wi-Fi throughout our Philadelphia South hotel, or get the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your visit to our hotel's South Philadelphia accommodations is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing