We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelly Drive

Kelly Drive
Ranked #43 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Beautiful, functional, great in city park with a perfect river for all types individual athletic activities

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    48
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Kelly Dr. and West River Drive loop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I live outside Philadelphia and just love coming into town to ride bikes on the weekends here. The WRD is closed to cars on the weekends makes for a real enjoyable ride. Great views. You can then either go behind the Art Museum or ride in front, take on the famous stairs and even get a photo with the Rocky Statue. There was quite a line there today. If you are visiting philly there is a bike rental shop on Kelly Drive right at Boathouse Row. You'll get to see lots of interesting sculptures, the river, the boathouses, and on many weekends you may be lucky to see a rowing or dragon boat regatta.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outdoor delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Park the car behind museum & take a walk. Get a sandwich or ice cream at cosmic cafe. Dodge bikes & skaters to walk past the boathouses. Close looks at sculpture areas along River banks. Stroll to falls bridge to work off ice cream. People watch also available for free.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank minookajoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
194 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive along the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Kelly Drive is the place to find beautiful scenery, history, bike trail and walking path along the river. Stretching from Falls Bridge in the East Falls section of the city to the Philadelphia Art Museum and Museum Row - you can ride a bike bike, walk/run. rollerblade, skateboard on a paved path along the Schuylkill River.
While there you may see the row teams from local colleges and universities practicing on the river. Look carefully - you might spot a Dragon Boat, too. Or maybe there will even be a regatta.
Formerly known as East River Drive, it was renamed "Kelly Drive" in the 1980s to honor John B. Kelly, Jr., a Philadelphia City Councilman, Olympic rower, and the brother of Grace Kelly. Alongside Kelly Drive, a statue of Kelly's father, Olympic rower John B. Kelly, Sr., has been placed at the grandstand near the national racecourse finish line. Along Kelly Drive is Boathouse Row, the Ellen Phillips Samuel Memorial Sculpture Garden, and a multi-use recreational trail that is part of Fairmount Park.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
327 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A treat for locals and tourist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We were touring Philadelphia and after a couple days of history and museums we were ready to get outside.

Our hotel (The Monaco) offered bikes at not cost so we decided a day of riding would be fun.

We rode around the university of area and then decided to go up and down Kelly Drive. What a treat for bikers, runners, and walkers.

We loved the views, the river, the places to stop, and the fresh air.

Philadelphia is fortunate to have such a beautiful park.

We were only in the park and along the bike paths in the day time. The area seemed safe while we were biking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PH-Travel-Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly Drive also viewed

 

Been to Kelly Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing