We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It is hard to find a room with two beds in a bed and breakfast, and I was traveling with my college-age daughter. It turned out to be a wonderful location in my favorite part of Philadelphia, with Whole Foods to buy food a block away. Marjorie got me a street parking pass, which worked beautifully. Be aware that Marjorie has yappy dogs and this is traditional city life, with people sitting on the steps to the front door. I thought it was great, but it isn't the kind of bed and breakfast with shared spaces where you become friends with the other guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pam_in_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

During an academic research trip, I stayed here on and off for 3 weeks, and it was perfect. Fridge always stocked, room cleaned everyday, and because it was a longer stay, Marjorie even did my laundry! Excellent price for the room, given the location, which was 5-10 min walk from everything you need in Philadelphia. Will return in future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was in Philadelphia for a short evening, with an very early departure. I found this place on AirBnB, and thought that the price and location seemed very reasonable. Marjorie was very helpful with her directions and being available when I got into town. She did not enforce any kind of curfew... which was great as this B&B is located in a WONDERFUL area! The room came equipped with some light breakfast foods and a mini-fridge, and had a very neo-Classical style to the decor. The air conditioner was stand-alone, but it did cool the room perfectly. The bathroom was shared, but I did not see or hear the other patrons--a very quiet spot. I would definitely recommend this place to future travellers given they are okay with the B&B setting and shared bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

First off, let me say that Marjorie seems like a perfectly wonderful person, and most of the reviews here paint a fairly pretty picture. We like to patronize B&B's and local shops, so we were seeking out a place like we thought this would be. However, there are plenty of reviews across the web on other sites - do yourself a favor and read those before you select this particular B&Not-Quite-B.

A few comments from our recent experience:
• The carpeting on the steps up to the room was very soiled.
• The inn smelled of cigarettes and pets and ???
• The shared bathroom had opened/used bottles and a used bar of soap.
• The bedroom had an overpowering potpourri scent masking other smells.
• The neighborhood’s more eclectic than upscale – think artsy, not fartsy.
• IMPORTANT: The shared bathroom could not be locked from our room (the one with two beds) or from the other room, making our room accessible to anyone else at the inn, including the other guests in the other room sharing that bathroom. This really is a security issue. Be mindful of that if that's an important consideration to you.
• The inn's website says nothing about the “self-serve” breakfasting. Here, “self serve” apparently means yogurt, milk in an open/used bottle, juice, and cereal on the table in the room. Ours went untouched in this Bed & Not Quite Breakfast Inn.

While it seems to be a good location to explore Philly from, be sure to go in with your eyes wide open. This is not, to our experience, a typical B&B – there is no community room or parlor to relax in, there is no prepared breakfast or dining room, other than the spare leavings in each room for each guest to self-prepare, and there is a decided lack of security in your own room due to the non-locking shared bathroom facilities. And do realize that it's located right on the street in a busy place, complete with competing nightlife and such, so if you need dead-quiet to sleep, this place's location might also pose issues for you.

Room Tip: Read the aforesaid review - and realize that if security in your room is essential to you, the share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed in the room with the mural pictured above which seemed somewhat clean at first sight. The room had an overpowering smell of air fresheners and cleaning supplies. There were also bed bugs! The bed and surrounding area appeared clean but I woke up with four extremely itchy bites on my foot and ankle! The bathroom shower needed cleaning as well. Although this place is in a great central location, I would definitely not sacrifice cleanliness for location. Do not stay here unless you are willing to wake up after being bitten by bed bugs!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rlg2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Marjorie Amrom's Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast is a great location close to everything in Philly. 4+ different Cheese Steak Places within 10 minutes including Pat's and Geno's, 10 minutes to the Library/Art Museum, got to run the stairs....

Great Place to stay at a reasonable cost. I'll stay again when in Philly.

Room was the one with 2 Twin Beds and a shared Bathroom. Good size and NO problems sharing the bathroom. Portable AC in the room. Sat. TV. Cool environment.

Fridge was stocked with Juice and Yogurt and Cereal was in the room. Coffee and Microwave. Great for evening snacks and Breakfast.

Marjorie was very helpful in getting around Philly. Parking a bit of a issue but found one on the street (FREE) with in a block of her place.

Note: This is a B&B so know there are stairs to go up to the rooms.

Room Tip: One of the few B&B's with a room with 2 twin bed's anywhere in the world. AC is great t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

COMPLETELY IGNORE THE "WORST 30 MINUTES OF OUR LIFE" REVIEW . . . with the exception of the cereal and milk breakfast.

We were met at the door by the owner with a city visitor parking pass she purchased and had ready for us upon arrival. Next, she called while we were driving around looking for street parking to tell us she was standing in a recently abandoned parking place directly across the street from the front door. She arranged bus tour pickup, directed us to the nearest grocery stores and offered pretty much anything we could need for our stay in Philadelphia.

The neighborhood was extremely clean, safe and convenient to almost all the local historic attractions. We didn't get a cab at all during our stay and were less than a 15 minute walk to everything we wanted to see.

We traveled with 2 small children and the accommodations were much better than a hotel. We had 2 bedrooms connected by a bathroom and the price was the same as the cheapest acceptable single hotel room in the area and included a wonderful ambiance, comfortable beds, free wireless internet and a basic breakfast.

We will stay here again when we travel through Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast

Address: 943 Lombard Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: £90 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing