We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
18
18
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
18
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small refrigerator yogurt fridge was stocked ceiling fan first floor public transportation one night stay nice room marjorie tradewinds lodging ac
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

During an academic research trip, I stayed here on and off for 3 weeks, and it was perfect. Fridge always stocked, room cleaned everyday, and because it was a longer stay, Marjorie even did my laundry! Excellent price for the room, given the location, which was 5-10 min walk from everything you need in Philadelphia. Will return in future.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was in Philadelphia for a short evening, with an very early departure. I found this place on AirBnB, and thought that the price and location seemed very reasonable. Marjorie was very helpful with her directions and being available when I got into town. She did not enforce any kind of curfew... which was great as this B&B is located in a WONDERFUL area! The room came equipped with some light breakfast foods and a mini-fridge, and had a very neo-Classical style to the decor. The air conditioner was stand-alone, but it did cool the room perfectly. The bathroom was shared, but I did not see or hear the other patrons--a very quiet spot. I would definitely recommend this place to future travellers given they are okay with the B&B setting and shared bathroom.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

First off, let me say that Marjorie seems like a perfectly wonderful person, and most of the reviews here paint a fairly pretty picture. We like to patronize B&B's and local shops, so we were seeking out a place like we thought this would be. However, there are plenty of reviews across the web on other sites - do yourself a favor and read those before you select this particular B&Not-Quite-B.

A few comments from our recent experience:
• The carpeting on the steps up to the room was very soiled.
• The inn smelled of cigarettes and pets and ???
• The shared bathroom had opened/used bottles and a used bar of soap.
• The bedroom had an overpowering potpourri scent masking other smells.
• The neighborhood’s more eclectic than upscale – think artsy, not fartsy.
• IMPORTANT: The shared bathroom could not be locked from our room (the one with two beds) or from the other room, making our room accessible to anyone else at the inn, including the other guests in the other room sharing that bathroom. This really is a security issue. Be mindful of that if that's an important consideration to you.
• The inn's website says nothing about the “self-serve” breakfasting. Here, “self serve” apparently means yogurt, milk in an open/used bottle, juice, and cereal on the table in the room. Ours went untouched in this Bed & Not Quite Breakfast Inn.

While it seems to be a good location to explore Philly from, be sure to go in with your eyes wide open. This is not, to our experience, a typical B&B – there is no community room or parlor to relax in, there is no prepared breakfast or dining room, other than the spare leavings in each room for each guest to self-prepare, and there is a decided lack of security in your own room due to the non-locking shared bathroom facilities. And do realize that it's located right on the street in a busy place, complete with competing nightlife and such, so if you need dead-quiet to sleep, this place's location might also pose issues for you.

Room tip: Read the aforesaid review - and realize that if security in your room is essential to you, the shared bathroom and it's non-locking nature could be cause for concern.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed in the room with the mural pictured above which seemed somewhat clean at first sight. The room had an overpowering smell of air fresheners and cleaning supplies. There were also bed bugs! The bed and surrounding area appeared clean but I woke up with four extremely itchy bites on my foot and ankle! The bathroom shower needed cleaning as well. Although this place is in a great central location, I would definitely not sacrifice cleanliness for location. Do not stay here unless you are willing to wake up after being bitten by bed bugs!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rlg2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Marjorie Amrom's Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast is a great location close to everything in Philly. 4+ different Cheese Steak Places within 10 minutes including Pat's and Geno's, 10 minutes to the Library/Art Museum, got to run the stairs....

Great Place to stay at a reasonable cost. I'll stay again when in Philly.

Room was the one with 2 Twin Beds and a shared Bathroom. Good size and NO problems sharing the bathroom. Portable AC in the room. Sat. TV. Cool environment.

Fridge was stocked with Juice and Yogurt and Cereal was in the room. Coffee and Microwave. Great for evening snacks and Breakfast.

Marjorie was very helpful in getting around Philly. Parking a bit of a issue but found one on the street (FREE) with in a block of her place.

Note: This is a B&B so know there are stairs to go up to the rooms.

Room tip: One of the few B&B's with a room with 2 twin bed's anywhere in the world. AC is great to have on those humid summer nights (I'm from PHX so the EVERYWHERE with the possible exception of the middle east is humid by comparison)
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews