We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Marjorie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Stayed in Trade Winds for 3 nights on last October and loved it.

The location is very good, within a walking distance of every major attraction of Philadelphia.

We've chosen the Twin Room which was lovely. On the room there's a breakfast table and a refrigerator. On the refrigerator there's always water, milk, yoghurts and orange juice. On the table there are some cereals.

We had to share bathroom with another room, but that was ok. The bathroom is very clean.

Marjorie, (the owner of the Bed and Breakfast) is a lovely lady, that helped us in everything she can.

Thank you for everything Marjorie.

I'm sure that if I ever come back to Phillie I'll stay with you again.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RitaandPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2008

This is a great affordable bed and breakfast in the heart of Philadelphia. We stayed here for almost a week in April and thorougly enjoyed out stay here and in Philadelphia in general. It's a a nice area within walking distance to most major attractions. Marjorie is a wonderful hostess and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when we go back to Philadelphia!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herbieluvbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

Our plane was delayed, so it was late at night when we came in. The area this Bed and Breakfast is located in was so bad the cab driver did not even want to leave us. The B and B does not have air conditioning, reguardless of what you are told. The knob came off the bathroom door after we struggled to get the door unstuck. Since their was no air and it was 88 degrees, we were forced to leave the window open. The street the B and B is on was so loud that the motorcycles may as well have been in the room with us. The "breakfast" was left in our room, and was cereal, whole milk, and yogurt. We spent 20 minuites in the room before we called a cab and went to another hotel. Under no circumstance stay here, especially with children.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MasterTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We booked this B & B through Tripadvisor comments and also because the prices of hotels on the East coast cities of America are so expensive. We found the B&B to be in a great location, about a 10 minute walk from Independance Hall and the Liberty Bell.
The B&B itself is not the height of luxury although it is clean and comfortable. We had a room with a shared bathroom and while the bathroom was nice, it joined two rooms together and there was no way of locking the door to the other room. This meant that it would be possible for you to be in the bathroom and someone from the other room to walk in (strange!). Having said this we had no problems and enjoyed our stay.
Would recommend for travellers on a budget and who are not worried about getting the fancy hotel treatment.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuShieps8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

Another excellent stay
Great location - nice quite property and walking distance to pretty much everwhere in Philly

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2007

The Trade Winds was in a great location to see much of the greater Philadelphia sights. We were able to walk to all the major attractions, as well as being just a block from South Street. Easy to get to the bus route for the museums that were a little further away. The second floor room was clean and comfortable. Decor is eclectic, but interesting! Breakfast was stocked in a fridge in the room, so we were able to set our own pace in the morning. Traffic noise was a bit loud at times...but overall not bad.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelerDuvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2007

I don´t want to describe the B&B again, because some visitors did it before in their reports. We loved the mixed style of design, the comfortable beds and the beautiful paintings on the walls (especially those with Chinese style inour room). The owner, Marjorie is a very nice friendly person, she let us feel like at home. We really enjoyed our stay in her B&B. Although our flight arrived very late in the evening, everything was perfect arranged and we enjoyed every minute of our stay in Philly. My son and me came from Austria for one week, and it coudn´t have been better, Marjorie provided us with many insider tips which were very valuable and I would recommend the stay in Trade Winds to everyone who is coming without car to Philly. You just don´t need it. Marjorie even ordered Big Bus to pick us up at our place for our sightseeing tour. Philly´s people were very friendly to us tourists and Marjorie is one of the nicest people I have ever met.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
5  Thank queenie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Center City
#55 of 88 in Philadelphia
569 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast

Address: 943 Lombard Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: £91 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trade Winds Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing