We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Ashton Cigar Bar

Ashton Cigar Bar
Ranked #4 of 250 Nightlife in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stopped in on a recent visit to Philadelphia. Very nice place, busy on a Wednesday night. The server was very helpful in helping us choose cigars and drinks. Her advice was right on. We'll be back on our next visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan, USA
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great spot to grab a smoke”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Heard about this place from a a business associate and decided to check it out on a recent tip to Philly, not a super big place but plenty of room to sit back and relax and smoke a a good cigar, staffed well with cute girls in short skirts. no fee if you bring in your own cigars ventilation is better than most of the cigar bars I have been too. Cigar humidor is one back wall with floor to ceiling glass door and stocked well with Ashton brand( as you would expect) but thou should be able to find a cigar you like bathrooms are the most interesting part common area for washing hands but coed stalls which either sex can use

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“No Cutting fee...”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

They had me at "no cutting fee". I was in from New York on business with a buddy and a few sticks of my own. No problem, no extra fee. We returned the next two nights and had no issue buying a few from them as the prices are quite reasonable. (NOTE: I live in New York and due to the luxury tax our cigar prices are inflated. If you're from PA the prices at Ashton may seem expensive.) The brown liquor selection is substantial! If you have a favorite brand expect to see numerous iterations from the same house (i.e, Balvenie Double Wood, Port Wood, Carribean Cask, Tun 1401).

It's a lovely looking spacious place also. You've got a few large screens to watch the game on and a really nice selection of draft and bottled beer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

A very good place to take a friend or a guest from out of town the staff are great an friendly an sit an have a good cigar an a nice drink with it I highly recommend it to you every your in town make you pass it on to a friend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rodney m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocky hill, CT USA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wear nice shoes”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Posh place with a well dressed, polite pitbull on the door... We were at first turned away because of the hubby's lack of "proper" footwear, (he was wearing $170. Merrill hikers), but after the doorman let in 2 brothers wearing sneakers, he let us in. VERY nice, posh place. The bar service is impeccable, the whiskey and cigar selection impressive. We were finally able to try the elusive Papi Van Winkle.... nice, smooth, worth the money, for just the one time!
Like others said, bring lots of money, but it IS worth it! We will definitely come in again on our next visit to Philly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashton Cigar Bar also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Ashton Cigar Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing