We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique small theater space offering interesting productions”

Arden Theatre Company
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Unique small theater space offering interesting productions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit to see the very original and funny staging of "Incorruptible". The theater is very small meaning everyone is pretty close to the stage. The only concern was the bleacher like seating with a lot of stairs to climb which may not be for everyone. Staff was attentive and helpful. They supply hearing devices if asked.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    34
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently great, new, creative productions in two theater spaces”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

On the fringy edge of Old City, contemporary theater space with two stages presents great, often original productions. Great intermission snacks of brownies and other tasty treats and drinks. Excellent restaurants a few blocks away. A great day or evening out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissElegance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great theater in an interesting location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I saw a great play here during my visit. The theater has stadium seating (on bleachers) so there is not a bad seat in the house (but would be difficult to get to higher seats if mobility impaired). The theater is in a very interesting part of town--a nice neighborhood with interesting shops and restaurants. Totally different feel than downtown (more Greenwich Village or Soho than mid-town).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank flagfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“What fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Saw "Incorruptible" 5 days ago and haven't stopped thinking of it since. Each actor was perfect for his or her part. This was truly an ensemble play; no one actor stole the show. I can't remember when the last time was that I laughed so much and enjoyed myself so much at a play. I wish I had discovered the Arden years ago and could have been enjoying all their plays. It's an old movie house converted into this theater, so even the last row of seats is good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jody5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a studio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great theater to view a spur of the moment play. There is a great feel due to the proximity of the stage and seating. The actors and actresses are superb. They have a wide variety of shows and the membership prices are reasonable. Generally before each show there is a light dessert and coffee share in the lobby of the theater. A meet and greet. Seats are comfortable and roomy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillymama0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arden Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Arden Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing