We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Ranked #57 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Chose this hotel for our first visit to Philly after reading the reviews. My only regret is that five nights here was not long enough. Huge suite with living room, bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Free diy laundry service and tea/coffee and two computers in the business centre. The staff are friendly and most helpful. The hotel is in the liveliest area of Philly with lots of restaurants and bars and shops. Good access to the area using the transit system.
I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burmaLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    24
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
24
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

AKA Ritenhouse Square has a superb location in Philadelphia downtown area, just in front of the Rittenhouse Square and close to some of the best bars, restaurants and shopping in town. Moreover, it's very easy to get around from there (for both business and leisure travelers). The rooms are great: spacious, modern and clean, with king size beds and full kitchens. The service is also impeccable, always kind and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be excelent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVZanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I grew up near Manhattan and on a whim decided to visit Philly for the first time... EVER. Being in my early 20's, I watch my money and plan my finances but OH MY GOD is the AKA Rittenhouse ever so worth every dollar. I got the 1 bedroom deluxe suite and let me tell you - it's about 4 times bigger than my own apartment!! I'm in LOVE!! GORGEOUS decor, very homey and clean. The hotel is chic and inviting. I love the elevator's neon color lighting. The location is right in the middle of central philly and right in the middle of everything!! The best and greatest asset this hotel has to offer? The front desk is SUPER sweet and extremely helpful. They were so helpful in offering advice as to where to eat, grab a drink, go shopping and find groceries and the like. They even go so far as to show you exactly where to walk and will genuinely ask you how you enjoyed the restaurant/bar/wherever to ensure you've found exactly what you wanted!!

For these reasons and so much more, I'm in love with Philly because of the AKA Rittenhouse and plan to make a weekend trip at one of their suites my monthly escape from work... like my own monthly mini-vacation. It's CERTAINLY worth every penny!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglsinair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I had a Studio Suite which included a kitchen/bed/bathroom. The location in downtown Philadelphia across from Rittenhouse Square is excellent. I love everything about this area of town and am very comfortable staying near the square because of the availability of restaurants, transportation and shopping.

The Studio Suite isn't going to please everyone, but it suited me perfect for a four-day business trip. I particularly liked the granite island for spreading my work out. It was so much better than the desks that other hotels provide.

There wasn't much room in the suite, but the bed was large and very comfortable and the kitchen had everything I could have needed. It's great to be able to keep food/drink in the room and not have to always depend on restaurants. There are plenty of options for grocery, wine, beer within a few blocks of the hotel.

Noise - I was on the 7th floor facing 18th street. There were five windows in my suite and noise was never an issue for me.

The bathroom was tiny....really tiny. This wasn't a problem for me, but I guarantee it wouldn't have worked for my wife. However, it had great fixtures and marble tile everywhere. The shower stall had more room than the sink area and I prefer the stall to a tub/shower combination.

They also had me hooked as soon as I saw the Rowenta iron in the closet. It's much nicer than any other iron I've had in my travels.

I arrived at the hotel around 11:30 pm and asked the gentleman at the desk if he could recommend a place to grab a quick bite to eat. He was so helpful and gave me lots of options. I wound up 2 blocks to the west at the Irish Pub and was able to get something to go before they shut the kitchen down. I have always been very comfortable in this neighborhood and wouldn't think twice about walking around late at night.

If I could change one thing about my room, it would be to paint it. Since it's a converted building, the rooms have high ceilings, and my room was painted white. The granite in the kitchen and the cabinets could use a warmer color to close up the room a bit. White in December kept me going to the thermostat to turn up the heat!

And.....Apple I-macs in the business center!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Perfectly located right on Rittenhouse Square these apartments are close to everything. Superbly fitted out kitchen, elegant furnishings, and super helpful satff at the front desk who will do anything to assist - all with a smile.
Would happily recommend for short or longer term stay - we stayed 5 weeks on a business assigment and were sorry to have to leave!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

can't go wrong with this one - clean hotel, great service, great location!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hajralak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

I stayed in a 1 bdrm suite for 2 nights. The room itself was great. Very spacious and included a good sized kitchen. The bed gave me a great sleep, and actually all the furniture was comfortable (I almost fell asleep on the couch!). The only thing I can criticize is the lobby. Very dark and bare and the fluorescent pink light in the (slow) elevator didn't add anything positive. However the lobby is in stark contrast to the actual room, which was both cozy and professional.
Location is right in front of Rittenhouse square so is a great starting point for walking around the city. Lots to do and see nearby. Its only about a 5-10 minute cab ride to University city and was told its walkable in about 20-25 minutes.
No pool or fitness center (but the in-room brochure said you can get in-house massages from a nearby spa). No restaurant but they have coffee/tea service on the 2nd floor and room-service is available (comes from a nearby restaurant according to the brochure). There are many restaurants in the area though. Free highspeed wireless internet.
The staff were very friendly and professional and were helpful in suggesting places to visit.
A little pricy, but well worth it, especially when you need a solid place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,246 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#23 of 86 in Philadelphia
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Rittenhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Rittenhouse Square

Property: AKA Rittenhouse Square
Address: 135 S 18th St, Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#42 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Rittenhouse Square 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA Rittenhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Rittenhouse Square Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing