We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Decorated, But Disappointing Compared to Other B&B's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I chose the Bella Vista since it is within walking distance of the major historical sites. Upon arrival, there was no street parking anywhere near the B&B, so we had to park in the hourly garage that is several blocks away near the SuperFresh.

The B&B is a converted row house. Most rooms are located off of each building's main staircase, and they are set up like miniature apartments. We stayed in the Oasis Suite. It was nicely decorated with beautiful antiques, but the rooms were in definite need of repair and a deep cleaning. Also, as several posts have mentioned, the breakfast consisted of bananas and individually packaged muffins that were left in a wicker basket near the front door. (We were advised of this before we made our reservation.)

The innkeepers were very friendly at check-in, but we didn't see them again for the rest of our stay. We tried to call the next morning to request more blankets in our room, but our voicemail was never returned. The next day, we even left a note in our room in case a housekeeper stopped by, but no one every responded. We also never received a final receipt or even a thank you for our stay.

In my experience, personalized touches and human interaction are cornerstones of the B&B industry. If you are looking for that, you will be most likely be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you tend to get cold easily, make sure that you request extra blankets right when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank underwater337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, Owner at Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

I wish I knew who you were so I could check who was working that day that did not call you back, I am sorry about that.

Breakfast is now individually provided in the room so everybody gets it. We still do not provide hot breakfast, only a self-serve continental plus hot/cold cereals and fruits.

We might had the wrong email because we always send a thank you note.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

I've stayed here several times in the last year and I've always loved it. It has drawbacks to be sure, weird hot water, sub-par bedding, weak continental breakfast, slow internet, not perhaps as clean as one would desire, but at the same it has some really strong perks including a fabulous location, a warm hostess, a pint of milk a day, and OJ and water too, all the coffee and tea and popcorn and cereals and kitchen basics you could ask for, very interesting decor, as if furnished from the overflow of an antique shop. It has a great live and let live approach, it is as if briefly you have your own furnished apartment in town, and even though it's a little strange that can be just what the doctor ordered. Think of it as a four star place if simplicity is a high value.

Room Tip: Try the Magnolia room or the Victorian Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It is hard to characterize the Bella Vista as "good" or "bad," but it is definitely a bit "unusual." We stayed just one night and had been notified by phone a day in advance that no one would be available to check us in or greet us after 5 p.m. -- we were given a security code to the front door and told that our room would be unlocked and a key left in the room. Finding the room was strange, too; the room number did not correspond to the floor, and we had to go through a couple of doors and through a kitchen to arrive at the room, which must have once been part of a 2-bedroom apartment, as it shared a full kitchen and bathroom with another bedroom (we knew this in advance, just not quite how the layout would work).

"Breakfast" consisted of several bagels and slices of bread left in the downstairs hall, outdated bottles of orange juice in the kitchen fridge, and a coffeepot and coffee in the kitchen. We skipped this part and walked a block over to Philly's Italian shopping street where wonderful pastry and coffee are readily available.

It is probably the proximity of the Italian neighborhood that "saves" the Bella Vista. I'd describe accommodations here as "funky" and advise guests to think of it as bed only, not b AND b. In terms of pricing, it definitely is less expensive than the historic district hotels though there are better value b&b's available. Because it can be difficult to find centrally located rooms at less than huge prices, I'd recommend this place to budget conscious folks who are forewarned about the drawbacks (actually, probably young folks, definitely not my parents, for example).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ceilidh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed in the Autumn Mist room and thought it was really nice. We arrived early and the owner was kind enough to let us check in early even though our room was not ready. The bed was comfortable and our room was large with a kitchenette and updated bathroom. Our room was stocked with water, juice, coffee, tea, condiments, and cereals. Downstairs, assorted breads, bagels, and fruit were available to bring up to the room. Bella Vista is located in a residential area about a 20 minute walk to Independence Hall. We felt safe walking, even at night. Directions to area restaurants and attractions are provided.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

First, I want to say that this B&B is located in a great spot in South Philly. The check-in process since we arrived at 7PM entailed getting some security codes for the front door and our suite emailed to us. This was fine but keeps me from being able to share comments about the level of service.

I do realize buildings are old in this area of Philly, but the place is in need of repairs. Thinking code violations are everywhere here (see attached pics).

Bed in Magnolia Suite (3rd floor walk-up) was comfy, linens are old and need to be replaced. There is no "breakfast" so if that's important to you, be prepared for tired-looking fruit and white bread / commercial bagels in Ziplock baggies are you walk into the building to use the next morning. I personally think the lack of breakfast was a blessing as it introduced me to Sam's Morning Glory Diner on the next block that served up outstanding breakfast.

Price is great at this B&B and location is good. If that's what you care about, this place is doable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank foodwinechickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, Owner at Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

The Magnolia problems were fixed as soon as I saw it, breakfast now is provided inside the room but we do not provide hot breakfast.

I wish you could come again and change your mind. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I were due to arrive at this bed and breakfast on Monday afternoon when I had to be hospitalized for unexpected gall bladder surgery. We contacted the owners and they were so understanding and kind enough to refund our money. Thank you Bob.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank MommaT_Grammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, Owner at Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed in the Victorian Room of Bella Vista B&B, and had a delightful stay there. There are a few drawbacks to South Philly as a whole - such as very little parking - but this place has a parking garage only three blocks away. It's a rowhouse, so there were a flight and a half of stairs to climb, but they weren't bad at all. Understand that breakfast is continental, but the trick is to go down late at night after they've put it out for the next morning to pick out what you want, before everyone else had gone through the basket of goodies. The Victorian Room was wonderful, with a full kitchen, nice bath, and a spacious room that was nicely decorated. We slept well, felt safe, and enjoyed the stay. If we return to Philly, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whois23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,396 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center West
La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
University City
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Philadelphia
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

Address: 752 S 10th St, Philadelphia, PA 19147-2746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: £90 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When guests enter this stately Philadelphia town home they are immersed in an inviting world full of character. A complement of antique furnishings, eclectic design, and decorative art, wonderful colors all make for a truly unique and wonderful place to call your Home Away From Home. You will be just a short stroll to many of the city's historic sites, museums, the central business district, the Pennsylvania Convention Center, and the Avenue of the Arts which boast the Kimmel Center, Wilma Theater and the Academy of Music. Just up the street you can visit the Hip South Street Entertainment District that offers more than 75 restaurants, 150 stores, theaters and nightclubs. South Street is adjacent to Penn's Landing Water Front along Columbus Boulevard where you will find more restaurants, history, boating and nightlife. Oh, and by the way don't forget to visit Geno's and Pat's Steaks located in the world famous Italian Market just around the corner. Bella Vista is the home to some of the country's oldest and best Italian restaurants. There are also many fine French, Vietnamese, Thai, Chinese, Mexican and Lebanese restaurants that offer a menu that is ready for your feast. Ah Bella Vista. You will smell the aroma of daily fresh baked Italian Bread from Sarcones Bakery and the Sweet Pastry Aroma coming from Isgro's Baking their world famous cannolis and the Saloon Bakery's preparation of their delicious treats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Bella Vista Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Bella Vista b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing