We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great City Hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a neat hotel in the historic district of Philly. The staff is great, and the hotel is very attractive. I have stayed here many times, and have never had a bad experience. I will be back again!

Room Tip: Wednesdays are wine and cheese night, and every night they have free cookies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Roger C,

Thanks for staying with us again at the Independence Park Hotel. We appreciate your return visits, the kind words and excellent review you posted on TripAdvisor. Thanks.

It's wonderful to read your comments and see that our staff has taken great care of you every time you stay with us.

Come back soon.

HAPPY NEW YEAR

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    422
    78
    15
    15
See reviews for
419
523
66
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Yes,the location is nice, but the helpfulness of the staff, good service, cleanliness, and breakfast are the best reasons to recommend this hotel. I have found fewer places which meet all these criteria in the center of the city.Thanks, Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel for adding your hospitality to our son's wedding experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is the perfect place to stay if you are site seeing at all of the local historical sites in the area. You are able to walk every where without any difficulties. Short taxi rides to other places, even the casino!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at the Best Western PLUS Independence Park Hotel this past weekend. We had a great time seeing the sights and being tourists in Philadelphia. The hotel was clean and very convenient location. The staff we encountered were friendly and the breakfast was a nice part of the stay.

I would have given this hotel an excellent rating, except towards the end of our stay, two issues arose. The night before we left it was so noisy inside the hotel with yelling people and doors slamming it was hard to sleep. Also after no more than an hour after we checked out, we realized we left a bathroom appliance behind in our room and called to notify them. The staff member we spoke to wasn't the friendliest and told us they would try to locate it and mail it back to the address on the reservation as well as bill us for shipping, which was fine. We called the hotel today and they had no record of us calling and alerting them of what we left behind and that there was nothing they could do. I do not understand how one minute they can assure us they will do whatever they can and let us know and the next minute they could care less. We are so disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Best Western in Independence Park is a great location. It is literally just a few blocks from the Liberty Bell and the historic sites. It's also easily accessible to the Subway. The hotel itself is really nice. The lobby was cute and rooms were great. They also have a hot breakfast included for free when you stat here. Loved that. The staff we encountered were really nice and helpful. This hotel is within walking distance to everything you'd want to see in Philly. Its a hike to the Philadelphia Museum of Art but we decided to walk it to explore the city. If you don't mind walking, it took about 45 minutes at a casual pace. The street the hotel is on has lots of bars and restaurants. It could be a little loud at last call but we liked that the bars were so close to the hotel especially since neither of had been to Philly before. Overall, really great location. I would no doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We loved this hotel and will return there again. Location across from Independence Mall is the best, even though we were there during the government shutdown. We walked Society Hill, walked to lots of historic sites that were open, enjoyed excellent restaurants on the street. Our room was surprisingly large with a refrigerator and microwave and had excellent lighting--lamps everywhere. Nice size bathroom and clean, clean, clean. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful and even located a laundry that would pick up our large bag of dirty clothes and return them the next day, folded. The spacious, bright breakfast room on the lower level was well-stocked right up until it closed, and apples, oranges and bananas were available all day in the lobby. Parking garage was around the corner, (not cheap, but convenient.) Book early!

Room Tip: Book early! Small groups really like this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SobeSuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful historic building in the Old City. Walking distance to terrific restaurants. Hotel is clean and very comfy. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We keep coming back and are never disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Susan S,

I was please to see you return to the Best Western Independence Hotel again and to read your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you..thank you..thank you!

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again soon.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,920 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing