We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay When Seeing the Sights!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Palouse, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay When Seeing the Sights!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is great! Perfect location to see the sights of Philly. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is clean and well taken care of. They serve tea and cookies each day from 4-6:00 pm and have a very nice breakfast every morning. Our room was quiet and well appointed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    427
    79
    15
    16
See reviews for
431
528
66
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were in town for the Hot Chocolate 15k race and the hotel that was offered through the race was booked. We looked at other hotels but decided the location of this would be great for a kid free weekend for my husband and I. It was a bit pricey but very nice hotel and great staff. I had requested a room on a high floor away from the elevator when I made the reservation. I was contacted via email about a week prior to arrival to be made aware there were no rooms available that weren't by the elevator. When we arrived we were happy to find we were on the top floor and our room basically had three walls that were to the hallway and one that overlooked the atrium. We never heard the elevator. The beds were comfy and nice toiletries in the bathroom. A couple of things regarding the room...the temperature was a little difficult to regulate. It was stuffy when we arrived so we turned the A/C on and it got very cold, very quickly. We turned the temperature up and it began to get a little stuffy again. I think midway through the night, it seemed to even out. Also, the fridge that was in the room was nice but if you turned it up to make it colder, it would make a loud, strange sound. Fortunately, we didn't really use it other than to keep some water somewhat cold so that wasn't a really big deal. Once we figured out where the noise was coming from, we just turned it back down and it stopped.

As far as the staff, we arrived early so our room wasn't ready but we were given the parking pass and the gentleman at the front desk asked if we would like them to hold our luggage until the room was ready. We opted to just leave everything in the car and head to the parking garage. On a side note, parking was $16 for our stay but we could come and go from the parking garage as we pleased. We also had some questions about how to get to the start of the race as I needed to be there by 7:00am. He suggested a cab over and possibly a bus back. He left a note for the morning person to call a cab for us at 6:45. The next morning we got downstairs and the cab driver was waiting in the lobby for us. We were able to catch a bus back that stopped about three blocks from the hotel. Very convenient.

The hotel is within walking distance of Independence Mall and several other historic places, as well as restaurants. Also a short walk to Penn's Landing.

We enjoyed our stay and felt very comfortable here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cseventeenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant. We only stayed one night and were not in the room for very long pretty much just sleeping. The parking was pretty convenient but is a block and a half away. All and all a pretty nice hotel and very friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelreuter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear michaelreuter1

Thanks for selecting the Independence Park Hotel for your stay while in Philadelphia. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and our staff was helpful and pleasant. In fact. I loved the title of your TripAdvisor review..."Great Staff"

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your returning to Philadelphia soon.

Be well.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great location for a family trip to the independence hall area. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Rooms were quite nice for BW. Will stay here again if we plan a similar trip to Philadelphia. Parking is off premises. Not a big inconvenience though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Hiren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockville, MD, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Less expensive, friendly and helpful staff, though dubious parking facility outside the hotel, but near quality restaurants and historic churches and the Independence Park complex. Coffee and snacks in the lobby, plus local papers. Breakfast was so-so but hot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken/althea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Ken/althea M

Thanks for staying with us recently at the Independence Park Hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate both!

I am pleased that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff, our great location and the plethora of nearby quality restaurants and historic sites. I'm also sorry we didn't impress you with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet.

Anyway, thanks for your kind words...please come visit us again soon.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel was well located, but the room even smaller than a New York City room. The breakfast was ok. I found the hotel to be pleasant but quite average. There was a concern about groups of young men loitering at and near the entrance to the hotel. A bit intimidating. The breakfast was perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank AmCanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear AmCanLondon

Thanks for staying with us at the Independence Park Hotel and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

The Independence Park Hotel is Philadelphia's MOST historic hotel and yes, some of our rooms are smaller than today's modern hotels. Additionally, we do have larger rooms as well as rooms with parlor areas, so perhaps one of these would be better suited for your next visit?

As for the "young men" outside of the hotel, it's my understanding that these were the valet parking staff for the neighboring restaurant, so rest assured... there's no need for concern.

Anyway, I a appreciate your honest comments and look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

THANKS

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkton, MD, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Independence Park Hotel while attending a conference held at the Convention Center, Philadelphia. This hotel was everything you expect from Best Western; friendly staff, comfortable beds with those great pillows, relaxing atmosphere, and yummy breakfasts including a thick liberty bell waffle!. This hotel is located 2 blocks of the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, etc. The lobby is beautiful, and they serve tea & cookies each afternoon. On the down side, there is no on site parking (not unusual for this area), but you may drop off your luggage, and then take your car about a block away to a inside parking garage. Room rates were a bit pricey for us, but probably consistent with this area The only complaint we had was the wonderful biscuits & sausage gravy was not available on Sunday - it is served every other day. Bummer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,057 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing