We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not so great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The rooms are very very small and it is difficult for 2 people to get ready at the same time. There is no full length mirror anywhere in the room (or any mirror other than the one over the sink in the bathroom), the table by the reading chair was broken, you can't see the TV from the bed and the refrigerator made so much noise we had to unplug it. On the other hand the bathroom was almost as big as the room and was very clean. Even though housekeeping was on our floor (which hardly had any rooms) when we left the room at 8:00 am and again when we dropped stuff off at 11:00 and again at 1:00, our room was never serviced during that time. Because of our afternoon schedule, we were unable to get our room cleaned during our stay. I wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pghgirlsthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear pghgirlsthree

I'm sorry for any confusion you encountered regarding our Inn and that you left less than satisfied. Hopefully, you enjoyed your stay in Philadelphia overall.

First, the table is not broken, it's designed to be "unlatched and moved" in the room. Second our TVs swivel, so the screen is adjustable and can be viewed from almost all points of the room.

In regard to housekeeping services, we clean our rooms every day.

On the day you were scheduled to depart, we wait for your checkout and then enter and clean the room. We are sorry for any confusion that you experienced and would have been happy to address any special needs you desired..

And yes, some of our rooms are intimate in size, but this in common in historic hotels. We do have larger rooms and rooms with sitting areas, perhaps you would enjoy one of these on your next visit.

Anyway, we are happy that you selected the historic Independence Park Hotel and found our accommodations "very clean".

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. Come back soon.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    410
    74
    15
    14
See reviews for
395
504
65
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We could walk from this historic hotel to most of historic places we wanted to visit. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff exceptionally friendly. Breakfast was nice. Many restaurants within a few blocks. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we return to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gwyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Neighborhood is yucky, but accessibility to historic sites was great. Parking is okay, and the breakfast meal too. Essentially, this is a nice, quiet hotel, with modest amenities and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Robert P

Wow, your review on TripAdvisor certainly shocked me; not the part about our accessibility to historic sites being great or our friendly staff; because I agree with both.

But when you wrote that the neighborhood is "yucky", I was totally taken back. And I disagree!

We are located 2 blocks from Independence Hall, 3 blocks from the Liberty Bell and directly across the street from the National Park.

And we are surrounded by great restaurants, museums and major national attractions, plus we are in one of the most historic areas in the USA. There's grand architecture and iconic treasures everywhere.

Anyway, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but we must take exception with your description of our neighbors...

Thanks for staying at the Independence Park Hotel.

JM


Neighborhood is yucky, but accessibility to historic sites was great. Parking is okay, and the breakfast meal too. Essentially, this is a nice, quiet hotel, with modest amenities and a friendly staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel was centrally located to the Historic District and in close proximity to local bars and Night Spots. Easy access to Public Transportation. Hotel staff was accommodating and the complementary hot breakfast was ample.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is very nice. Warm and comfortable. The staff was very friendly the rooms cute and beds luxurious. The food was great and plenty to go around. Parking price was shocking, however after looking around the price was better then most places. I had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cassidy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowell, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

great hotel , the staff always went above par to help make my stay a very positive and beneficial one for me. The Hotel is very unique in style and more like a bed and breakfast in a hotel. Since my stay I have recommended the Independence Park Hotel to many in the business community. Thank you Very Very Nice

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palouse, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is great! Perfect location to see the sights of Philly. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is clean and well taken care of. They serve tea and cookies each day from 4-6:00 pm and have a very nice breakfast every morning. Our room was quiet and well appointed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing