We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had to stay in Philly for one night. Wanted to be in the historic district that we were familiar with so we chose BW Plus Independence Park for this stay. Check-in went smoothly but parking was a little tricky since it was raining cats and dogs. (a few loaner umbrellas would be a nice addition to the lobby) Lobby was decorated very nice and staircase was center of historic room. However, when ascending the staircase, some old rusty piping was bare and the baseboards were removed causing a bad feeling while going to the room. Taking the elevator would avoid seeing this but also one would lose-out on the "historic" aspect of the building. Room was small, clean and decorated nicely. The bathroom was a good size and was clean. Light and fan came on simultaneously which meant if one got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, the other woke up. Only one night, so no biggy for us. Flat screen TV was large and worked great with lots of channels. Room chair was very pretty. Check-out went smoothly and front desk staff was very quick and friendly. Housekeeping found my husband's reading glasses and rushed them to the front desk before we turned in our parking card. Value was a bit pricey for room size. Wish I could have dropped the price a little by using some Reward Points but BW Rewards is an all or nothing type system.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank kwbts124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel couldn't have a better location--it's within a 5 minute walk of the Visitor's Center, Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell...and within a 10 minute walk of other local attractions. The hotel itself has a spacious lobby for gathering with travel partners. Breakfast is adequate (real dishes and plentiful seating make it even more enjoyable) and adds to the value of the hotel. The front desk staff is knowledgeable and very friendly--they were readily available and had answers to all of our questions. The only minor fault I could find with the hotel is that the air conditioning vent was aimed directly at the head of the bed--and in this historic building, there wasn't much that could be done about that. Parking is in a garage about a block and a half away; $16 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel was the absolute best place to stay while visiting Philadelphia, PA. The staff are super friendly, ready to help with any question. The hotel is within walking distance of Penn's Landing, Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross House, City Tavern, Franklin Court and much, much more. The museums are fantastic, PLASH transportation was great and food at the hotel and Reading Terminal Market was just terrific. We would do it all again and stay at the Best Western PLUS Independence Park Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed this hotel because it was convenient to all of the 4th of July celebrations. The staff was very friendly ad the included breakfast was excellent. There were good restaurants nearby and it was an easy walk to Penn's Landing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank margietex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in July and had a wonderful experience! This property is just a 5 minute walk to all the attractions and parking is so easy. The staff is great and made us feel welcome! I would highly recommended this historical hotel it's great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly19842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Kimberly19842014,

Thanks for staying with us at the Best Western Independence Park Hotel. And thanks for posting your gracious reviews and saying that your stay had an "Outstanding Stay". This is great news.

We love when our guest write such stunning reviews, especially when they include phrases like..."a wonderful experience....parking is so easy....The staff is great" and my favorite...I would highly recommended this historical hotel it's great!"

So, thanks again for staying with us and telling the world about your experience at the Best Western

Come back soon!

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Beautiful room, but small for $200+. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a great area, many bars and restaurants on the same block, and the Liberty bell is 2 blocks away. There is no parking lot, there is a parking garage located around the corner and its an additional $16 charge to park there, I didn't mind the walk to go there, but if it were raining or snowing I would of been dissatisfied with the parking situation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were a family of five; we requested two rooms, which they managed to arrange to be together, even on a busy 4th of July week. As others have mentioned, (a) the location is great for walking to attractions, a variety of dinner options, and mass transit (to reach the rest of the city), and (b) the staff was especially attentive. Two things stood out for us. First, we had a card reader that for some reason was stuck; the manager was on that like a pit bull and I believe she would've invoked the ghost of Benjamin Franklin to resolve the issue had it been necessary. Second, they made very practical recommendations for how to beat the lines to see the Liberty Bell, and how to combine dinner with a free concert at Penn's Landing. We had a great time exploring Philadelphia, and the location and service from this hotel was a big part of it. I'd strongly recommend that family travelers to historical Philadelphia consider this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street (at present, summer 2014) face construction of a new museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mister_stinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear mister_stinky

(Well, I would have preferred to call you "friend" or "guest", but your post says "mister_stinky"; so I guess that works for you...)

Anyway, we loved your review of the Best Western Independence Park Hotel and glad your family of 5 had a great stay with us. Thanks.

And while your review offered many gracious comments, I enjoyed this one the best...." I'd strongly recommend that family travelers to historical Philadelphia consider this hotel". Thanks.

Please come visit us again soon...and bring the full family!

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,626 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,402 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £111 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing