We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

From the beginning the help was most accommodating, courteous and very pleasant.
Great location to the historic sites and restaurants. Front desk was knowledgeable to questions asked about sites and restaurants. Breakfast was very nicely displayed and the staff most pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Very courteous staff. Clean hotel and quick response to special requests. Breakfast was fantastic with many options and we really enjoyed it. Thanks for making our vacation a lot more relaxing. When back in Philadelphia will definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Stacey M,

5 Stars...Wow, what a great review, thanks. And thank you for staying with us as well.

I am please to read your gracious comments, especially that our staff was "Very courteous" your "Breakfast was fantastic" and that our team helped make your "vacation a lot more relaxing".

This is great news...

But of all the nice comments you posted, my favorite was this one..."When back in Philadelphia will definitely stay again". This tells me, we did our job and took great care of you.

Thanks again. Come back soon.

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location to all of Philadelphia's historic sites and restaurants. The only problem was the 6 am construction noise coming from across the street of the front of the hotel. And there was considerable noise after midnight on the weekend from the late night bar crowd. Breakfast was good - a lot of options. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location for American History buffs, or anybody that wants a really nice, boutique-ish hotel in downtown Philadelphia. It's a quick walk to the subway and a whole lot of culture. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful, and the breakfast was well attended and had lots to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Raymond J,

Thanks for staying with us at the Independence Park Hotel and for posting your gracious words on TripAdvisor. We appreciate both!

Your comments about our hotel, such as "a perfect location" and "a really nice, boutique-ish hotel in downtown Philadelphia" and the one I love best..."The hotel staff was very kind and helpful" - THANKS.

We appreciate your business and hope you can return to Philadelphia and stay with again soon!

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had to visit the City of Brotherly love twice in June for business meetings and stayed at the hotel on both occasions. I needed early check-in and Lynn on phone was very helpful in arranging for that. When I arrived on both occasions the room was ready couple of hours before their normal check-in. While leaving, the front desk associate provided with directions to reach the nearest freeway. Rooms are well decorated while keeping the old theme as well. The breakfast was good, but choice of hot breakfast items is limited. But the highlight is the Liberty Bell Waffle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank soumyaroopb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had to stay in Philly for one night. Wanted to be in the historic district that we were familiar with so we chose BW Plus Independence Park for this stay. Check-in went smoothly but parking was a little tricky since it was raining cats and dogs. (a few loaner umbrellas would be a nice addition to the lobby) Lobby was decorated very nice and staircase was center of historic room. However, when ascending the staircase, some old rusty piping was bare and the baseboards were removed causing a bad feeling while going to the room. Taking the elevator would avoid seeing this but also one would lose-out on the "historic" aspect of the building. Room was small, clean and decorated nicely. The bathroom was a good size and was clean. Light and fan came on simultaneously which meant if one got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, the other woke up. Only one night, so no biggy for us. Flat screen TV was large and worked great with lots of channels. Room chair was very pretty. Check-out went smoothly and front desk staff was very quick and friendly. Housekeeping found my husband's reading glasses and rushed them to the front desk before we turned in our parking card. Value was a bit pricey for room size. Wish I could have dropped the price a little by using some Reward Points but BW Rewards is an all or nothing type system.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank kwbts124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel couldn't have a better location--it's within a 5 minute walk of the Visitor's Center, Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell...and within a 10 minute walk of other local attractions. The hotel itself has a spacious lobby for gathering with travel partners. Breakfast is adequate (real dishes and plentiful seating make it even more enjoyable) and adds to the value of the hotel. The front desk staff is knowledgeable and very friendly--they were readily available and had answers to all of our questions. The only minor fault I could find with the hotel is that the air conditioning vent was aimed directly at the head of the bed--and in this historic building, there wasn't much that could be done about that. Parking is in a garage about a block and a half away; $16 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,476 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,344 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £100 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing