We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Did the job”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Went to Philly for a wedding. Hotel was very decent. Clean and fairly well maintained. Our first room was an interior, and we had to switch as it remakes of smoke and tiny to boot. The staff quickly swapped us to a -08 room in the back of the house. Great daylight view, roomie, and no construction noise. Great location and adequate for trip. No complaints but only gets 3 stars as 4 is to much.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flyfastsellhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    433
    79
    15
    16
See reviews for
444
537
68
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surprise, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

First time in Philadelphia, hotel is centrally located with easy access to sights, restaurants, and baseball stadium. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Hotel has a very Philadelphia feeling, colonial.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushkill
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a very well maintained hotel. It is within walking distance of most of the major historic sights. The bed was comfortable, the staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was good. We enjoyed the Wednesday night cheese and wine in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a charming hotel. As others have said, the location is perfect, the staff is warm and friendly, and the rooms are comfortable. We stayed in a room right next to the elevator – which may have been larger than a typical room. Elevator noise was not a problem at all. Everything was very clean.

The room has a refrigerator and microwave, which is always nice. The free breakfast was adequate and even served on real plates with real flatware. We never had a problem finding someplace to sit. They had opened a meeting room for breakfast which offered additional tables. The décor was like “grandma’s house” – wall sconces, wall paper, etc... but appropriate for the historic area.

The downside is still the construction across the street – although obviously this is completely out of the hotel’s control. We were facing the street and were awakened around 6am every morning by jackhammers, the “beeps” of reversing dump trucks, and just general construction noise. Maybe a room on the other side of the hotel would remedy that…. maybe. It was pretty loud. If your’re an early riser, then you should be ok. If you’re a very heavy sleeper you may be ok. Otherwise, just be aware of that before booking. And they weren’t even close to done with whatever project they are working on – the area is still being leveled. No new construction has even started yet.

The hotel is great – and based on the hotel alone they get the highest marks from me. Next time maybe I’d bring earplugs!

Room Tip: Book a room that is not facing the street - probably not the better view, but the nearby constructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We loved staying at this hotel. Great location, rooms were clean and comfortable. Historic sights and lots of restaurants nearby. We took advantage of the health club passes which was a nice bonus. Breakfast was average but nicely presented. We used the parking pass through the hotel which we thought was a good value at $16/night and convenient at a block away. Kids loved the tea and cookies every afternoon. Only complaint was that one room did not have good internet service, other room was fine. Would advise requesting a room on a higher floor and away from the street for a quieter stay as there was construction ongoing across the street. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Philadelphia.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Kathleen L

“Quiet, Clean, Comfortable Hotel in Great Location”; what a great title for your review. Thanks for telling the world about the Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel and much you loved your stay with us. THANKS!

I'm also please that you you loved our location and that your kids enjoyed the complimentary cookies and snacks offered daily in our lobby. This is great to read.

Also, I was a bit surprised that you had some challenges with our Internet service. We do offer 24/7 technical support, so keep this in mind for your next visit.

In regard to the construction noise, this is a temporary matter and for which we apologize. Rest assured that we have taken several corrective measures to mitigate this for our guests. And from what I have learned, we have this one solved.

Anyway, we look forward to your return trip to Philadelphia and appreciate your kind words.

THANKS

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deland, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is a gem. It is centrally located so no need for a rental car. The historical attractions and excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. It is a popular hotel so make reservations for it and local restaurants early. Rooms are small but very nicely appointed. Breakfast is adequate and the afternoon tea and cookies is a nice touch. Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank meearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The location of this hotel is in a great location if you are planning to tour the historic district of Philadelphia. We were able to walk to all of the sites in the historic district. The hot breakfast was amazing. The rooms were clean and quiet. This is a small hotel with only a few rooms on each floor keeping noise levels down. We never heard anyone on our floor. Guests pay for parking which is typical in a city hotel. Loading and unloading space may be available in front of the hotel if no one is parked there. Including delivery trucks. or others from the city. It would be helpful if the hotel could get the space reserved for loading and unloading only for guests. Guests park in a city ramp about two blocks away with in and out privileges. Check out is at noon. On the day of check out the hotel will store luggage in a locked room for guests if they would like to continue to tour the city. This is a very nice hotel and children are welcome although ours seemed to be the only ones in the hotel during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank DDKD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,134 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing