We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hotel was perfect for our visit. Very convenient location. The parking garage was only a block away. All attractions were within a couple blocks. We really enjoyed the breakfast, the all day fruit bowl and water canister and the afternoon cookies

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 36nancyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Small hotel, a little run down. Free breakfast was a plus. But construction across the street will continue for a long while and started at 7:30 am. Very limited staff, though very helpful. Not a very kid friendly hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank nova81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear nova81

Thanks for staying with us at the Best Western Independence Park Hotel. We appreciate your business, thanks.

Your comments are appreciated and I am pleased to learn that you considered our free breakfast "a plus" and that our staff was "very helpful". This is great news.

And yes, our hotel is one of the historic boutique hotels in Philadelphia, I'm sorry if you thought we were larger.

I must say I disagree with your comment about kids and our overall condition, totally. We graciously welcome kids, we have board games in our lobby for their enjoyment and besides we are a very family friendly hotel.

Plus, our lobby has been recently restored, our rooms are beautiful and our breakfast area is stellar. Sorry you felt otherwise.

As for the nearby construction, since your stay we have taken several steps to mitigate this situation for our guests. And they seem to agree. Also, the construction is not performed everyday, plus it's a temporary situation.

Nonetheless, we appreciate your comments and wish we had somehow been able to serve you better.

I hope you will return...and please bring the kids!

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The objective was Best Western museum, but unfortunately closed... So we went to the one in the historical center. Without any reservation the lady at the counter managed to find us one room for three nights. The first contact was very friendly.
The room was perfect like it can be in an old traditional Best Western.
The location of the hotel is perfect, everything (except the museum) is in a short walking distance.
The breakfast is perfect.
Everything is like we want.
The icing on the cake, making the stay that is already as we desired, a stay that we will never forget in our lives, is the human factor.
Lynn is, for us, the one who made ​​our stay more than perfect in Philly. She knows her city so well, she is so kind that she can share with you some advices...
Thanks again Lynn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PierreGoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear PierreGoffin

Wow, what a great review, I am so happy that Lynn, our location and entire hospitality team made your trip to Philadelphia PERFECT!

Yes, the Best Western Independence Park Hotel is the ONLY Best Western in Philadelphia, so I am glad we could make your visit so enjoyable.

Of all your kind words in your review, my favorite was when you wrote..that your visit with us was one "we will never forget in our lives"; this is absolutely beautiful.

Thanks again...please come back soon!

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Went to Philly for a wedding. Hotel was very decent. Clean and fairly well maintained. Our first room was an interior, and we had to switch as it remakes of smoke and tiny to boot. The staff quickly swapped us to a -08 room in the back of the house. Great daylight view, roomie, and no construction noise. Great location and adequate for trip. No complaints but only gets 3 stars as 4 is to much.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank flyfastsellhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

First time in Philadelphia, hotel is centrally located with easy access to sights, restaurants, and baseball stadium. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Hotel has a very Philadelphia feeling, colonial.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a very well maintained hotel. It is within walking distance of most of the major historic sights. The bed was comfortable, the staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was good. We enjoyed the Wednesday night cheese and wine in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a charming hotel. As others have said, the location is perfect, the staff is warm and friendly, and the rooms are comfortable. We stayed in a room right next to the elevator – which may have been larger than a typical room. Elevator noise was not a problem at all. Everything was very clean.

The room has a refrigerator and microwave, which is always nice. The free breakfast was adequate and even served on real plates with real flatware. We never had a problem finding someplace to sit. They had opened a meeting room for breakfast which offered additional tables. The décor was like “grandma’s house” – wall sconces, wall paper, etc... but appropriate for the historic area.

The downside is still the construction across the street – although obviously this is completely out of the hotel’s control. We were facing the street and were awakened around 6am every morning by jackhammers, the “beeps” of reversing dump trucks, and just general construction noise. Maybe a room on the other side of the hotel would remedy that…. maybe. It was pretty loud. If your’re an early riser, then you should be ok. If you’re a very heavy sleeper you may be ok. Otherwise, just be aware of that before booking. And they weren’t even close to done with whatever project they are working on – the area is still being leveled. No new construction has even started yet.

The hotel is great – and based on the hotel alone they get the highest marks from me. Next time maybe I’d bring earplugs!

Room Tip: Book a room that is not facing the street - probably not the better view, but the nearby constructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,489 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,346 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £99 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing