We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor Ice Skating along the Delaware River”

Blue Cross RiverRink
Ranked #116 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ice Skating Rink
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outdoor Ice Skating along the Delaware River”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

There are not many ice skating options in Philadelphia especially outdoor rinks with a special view. So the Blue Cross River Rink allows skaters of all ages to lace up for a reasonable fee - look for coupons in stores. You can also purchase food in an indoor pavillon or go inside to get warm. The admission ticket is for an allotted time period. Only certain holidays, you have front riverview spot for firework shows.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sportsrus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun evening out”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was here for the Valentine's Day Sweetheart Skate. The weather was amazing and the venue was very nice. The ice was congested with people and a tad choppy towards the end of the session, but that's expected. The venue has wonderful views of the Delaware River and Penn's Landing. It was a fun date and I'd definitely go again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrandonP92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family fun on the ice”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went the Friday after Christmas. Was it crowded? Yes. Was the ice choppy? Yes. Did we have fun? YES! The view of the river from the rink was beautiful. Staff were friendly and helpful. A really nice touch we enjoyed was the fire pit for making s'mores.

Tips for your visit: They run the zamboni after each skating session, so we suggest that you arrive 20 minutes early to put on your skates and you can be ready to get on the ice while it's still fresh. Admission is cheap but skate rental is high, so if you own ice skates or can borrow some you will save a bundle. There are lockers to rent so you can store your shoes. Dress in layers, it was a chilly day but we got warm while skating.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chocolategirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor rink”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Went on Sunday, January 27. Parking was $12. We did the 12:30 session, and brought our blue cross insurance cards to save $4. on each ticket. It was a nice size rink with view of the Ben Franklin bridge. I thought the staff on the ice were very attentive. As many times as my kids fell, they were right there reaching their hand out to help them up. One of the employees took the time, and gave my kids a few pointers. I would most likely return.

Helpful?
Thank SmitMLS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too Crowded”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Too many people on very choppy ice did not make for good skating. Temperature was in mid 30's so you can't say that it was a factor in bad ice conditions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Cross RiverRink also viewed

 

Been to Blue Cross RiverRink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing