We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip”
Review of Khyber Pass Pub

Khyber Pass Pub
Ranked #68 of 4,356 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was our second visit, and the primary target of entertainment for our trip. The first visit I foolishly played safe and ordered the house burger, and it was good. This time, however, I braved the new, and went for the roast beef po'boy. Never in my life did I think I would enjoy a concoction made from that list of ingredients, but it was absolutely amazing. The only complaint was that according to my wife I should have had gravy puddling around my elbows. And speaking of strange concoctions, the Bourbon Milk Punch. It makes no sense, tastes like nectar, and after several, makes total sense, and still tastes like nectar. If you can't get to NOLA, this makes for an acceptable substitute.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcnally5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    84
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cherry hill
Level Contributor
251 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“5 Star Southern Comfort Food”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This was a superb meal in every respect. The fried chicken juicy and flavorful, the mac and cheese exceptional baked in a small crock crispy on top. The duck sandwich with cashew oil, cheddar fries, and fried tomato BLT were also exceptional and quite large. We were also impressed with their large hunk of bread pudding. One of us had a Manhattan perfectly made and reasonably priced with premium spirits, The draft beer selection is extensive and properly poured.
The server was knowledgeable and friendly. This will be a go to place when we want to treat ourselves an unhealthy but delicious meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very happy”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Second visit. First was for brunch where their tale on a Cajun version of eggs Benedict was fantastic. Lunch this time was a smoked turkey chili, which is up there with the best I've ever had. Servers are friendly and helpful. The beer selection is very good and focused on craft and micro- brewed selections. Also, unusual for a pub that focuses on beer, I had an outstanding Bloody Mary. This is now on my list of places to visit on a regular basis.

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great beer and Po Boys”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Nice little pub in Old City. Great beer list on rotating taps so always something new and exciting. Good happy hour with $2 off draft beer. The food menu has a large Po Boy section, I had a catfish one that was delicious. Also, get the bacon fat popcorn, sounds disgusting but you will not regret it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wysocki9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Love this place. Always a good atmosphere. Great beers on tap. Fantastic food. Get the brisket! Also the sides are great...personal favorite are the sweet potato fries, but the orca is also great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank joeman003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khyber Pass Pub also viewed

 

Been to Khyber Pass Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing