We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I concur completely with the one 'poor' review given for this Bed & Breakfast Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Ranked #3 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I concur completely with the one 'poor' review given for this Bed & Breakfast Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this B&B last year with my husband, my daughter and her fiancée and decided not to write a review for trip advisor even though we were bitterly disappointed with the accommodation. Having just read the one 'poor review' that has been posted I was prompted to rectify this. I would concur fully with the comments given. The house is sited on the outskirts of a decidedly dodgy area. The breakfast was exactly as the reviewer has described and that also goes for the decor.
My daughter's fiancée's only comment was "if this is the number one B&B in Philadelphia ......stay in a hotel" !!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank mmw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHManorBB, Owner at Spruce Hill Manor, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We are devastated when a guest has a negative experience at Spruce Hill Manor and feel the best response is to remind our guests of our money back guarantee.

We have already contacted the reviewer by email to this effect and our awaiting their decision as to how we may fully refund their stay, by check or credit card refund.

With warmest regards,

Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    30
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
104
28
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Janet is a glistening gem. She was extremely thoughtful and kind, also very respectful of privacy and space. The dinning room was lovely and the breakfast was great (not to mention the other guests we met over quiche, with whom we will now continue an everlasting friendship). We stayed in 'The Library', a romantically eccentric room with built in bookshelves lining one wall. Among the great American novels, children's classics, and Philadelphia-centric books, I also found a copy of John Cage's 'Silence'. "What is this magical wonderland" you ask? "It's Spruce Hill Manor" I reply with gusto. -Sarah from Brooklyn

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I travelled to philly for a job interview at Penn hospital and wanted to be somewhere close to hospital campus so I chose to stay at Spruce Hill due to location and I was very surprised with the warm welcome, wonderful atmosphere and amazing hospitality of Janet, the innkeeper.
She does everything she can to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable.
She even gave me a ride to my job interview early that morning so I don't have to stress over finding the location which was a huge help.
You can not find this level of hospitality anywhere. I truly felt I am staying at a relative's house and was very calm and comfortable despite the stress of the interview.
The place is beautiful and at a prime location of philly.
If you are reading this review, you have considered staying at this place. I tell you do not hesitate and book it. you will be happy about your decision !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The host Janet was exceedingly hospitable. The room was warm and well-decorated. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was continental from Whole Foods plus made-to-order eggs. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return for our next trip to Philly.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DodgeWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was back in Philly for Christmas and stayed once again at Spruce Hill Manor. As with the first time I stayed there (last August), the experience was great. I must say Philadelphia is probably becoming my favorite American city and Spruce Hill Manor and its owner, Janet, are playing no lesser role in it. You certainly feel so much at home there. Janet is such a great host. She does her best to make your stay as memorable as possible. She is always available but without ever imposing on you. She even gave me some lovely Christmas gifts.
The room I stayed at, Tiffany´s, is lovely, beautifully furnished and with a spacious bathroom, and the area, the University District, is a very nice, quiet and enjoyable neighborhood within walking distance of many of the city´s main attractions and serviced by reliable SEPTA buses, subway and trolleys.
Spruce Hill is definitely the place to stay at when in Philly.

Room Tip: Tiffany´s is not as spacious as the other rooms but if you are travelling solo it is large enough an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaL0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at Spruce Hill last weekend and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Instead of a boring box hotel room downtown, the B&B gave us charm and quirkiness. The owner, Janet, was absolutely lovely, doing everything from driving us to the closest subway stop "because it's too cold to walk" to scrabbling around in her personal effects to find an old DVD set of foreign films for us to borrow. She also handed us a bag of little Christmas gifts as we checked out. She treated us to an evening cocktail and breakfast the next morning was very good. It was like being Mommy- pampered without being intrusive, all of which is sort of nice when you're in your 40s. The hotel itself is not fancy but it is very clean and comfortable and, again, more interesting than a standard hotel. We definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked the Audubon room -- there is a sitting area with a TV that adjoins the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The best thing about Spruce Hill manor is the host, Janet – incredibly kind, accommodating, and helpful. The home is fairly old with several rooms to choose from. Ours was very spacious with its own mini-kitchen. We enjoyed the pastry and tea selections available at all hours of the day in the dining area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#24 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Property: Spruce Hill Manor
Address: 3709 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2305
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is an 1879 family-owned Victorian mansion located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia in walking distance to Amtrak 30th Street Station, the Mega and Bolt Buses, CHOP, Universities of Pennsylvania and Drexel, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The bus and trolley stop across the street and provide a 5 minute ride to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Historic District. Flexible check-in, check-out and 24/7 access to the dining room. There is free on and off-street Parking. We customize every aspect of your visit ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing