We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent host”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Ranked #3 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent host”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend in Philadelphia, where Spruce Hill is conveniently located near the tram and even not too far for a walk into town.
Janet is a wonderful and very accommodating host. She even got up early on our day of departure to take us to the station at 06:00 a.m.!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGlobetrotter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
104
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Spruce Hill Manor. The hostess, Janet, upgraded our room since we had to reschedule due to the snow the previous week. She also helped us make dinner reservations, which I thought was very nice. The room was huge, gorgeous, and had a nice kitchen that we utilized. I loved the breakfast, which consisted of quiche and organic goods from Whole Foods. Overall, I loved our stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was recently in Philadelphia for a conference at The University of Pennsylvania and decided to stay at Spruce Hill Manor instead of the Sheraton which was twice as expensive. My stay at Spruce Hill Manor was fabulous. I was there three nights and enjoyed each one. Janet was extremely kind and gracious. Her attention to detail is outstanding and she is very attentive to the needs of her guests. Initially I was concerned about walking the distance to campus for my meetings so she offered to drive me! It turned out that the walk was only a few blocks so I didn't need the ride, but I thought it extremely kind of her to offer.

My room was very clean and tidy. The neighborhood and house are well located relative to both Drexel and UPenn. It took me about 15 minutes to walk to UPenn for my meetings and about 5 minutes to Drexel.

All in all I definately recommend Spruce Hill Manor and appreciate the value and service I got for my money!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Billie Holiday room which is on the front of the house and has a view of the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay at Spruce Hill Manor. I am very happy I found this place as my son, a Drexel student, lives just a block away. Everything was perfect, very clean, lots of attention to details. Janet is a charming hostess, helpful and attentive. I'm looking forward to go back !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadiam461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for two days and loved it! Got a personalized experience. The inn keeper, Janet, is very sweet and accommodating-she asked us what foods to buy/make and invited our son who we were visiting for breakfast with no charge. The rooms were clean and above expectations. The house was quaint and each room was more stunning then the next. Overall had a very nice getaway and would definitely revisit and recommend it to others. We were 2 blocks away from Drexel Campus so this was the perfect location for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mdm907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed one night for a romantic weekend. Janet was super friendly, helpful, chatty and genuinely interested in us. We got an upgrade and she even drove us to the train station the next morning. Breakfast was great, she had baked a wonderful quiche. We actually ended up having something like a three hour breakfast with a Brooklyn couple who was also staying there, and Janet joined us for great conversation as well. Its outside of downtown, but a very quick ride with public transportation into town and was not inconvenient for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vqye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyoke, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Expectations are everything, and from the reviews mine were quite high. The room was well-appointed (we stayed in the Billie Holiday room) and the house was close to public transit into the city, which we loved. But I wanted more from the B and B experience than a hotel would provide, and I'm not sure that my expectations were met. While pleasant and helpful, Janet seemed distant and withdrawn. I left feeling like I knew nothing about her and she knew nothing about me or my husband. She did not join us or "host" breakfast other than setting out a cold continental buffet (which had great choices of cereal, fruit, milk, juice and breads). She mostly stayed in her sitting room off of the breakfast room. We were also staying at the B and B at an unfortunate time - the entire B and B other than our room had been rented out by an extended family and they all knew each other. When we tried to join the other folks for breakfast we were told their table was reserved just for their family (there was a card to that effect left by the hostess that they showed us) and instead my husband and I ate by ourselves at a smaller table next to the large dining table. It felt odd and a bit uncomfortable, and that isn't why we wanted to stay at a B and B. The hostess did nothing to mitigate the situation or warn us as we checked in the night before about this fact so we were unprepared for it. And if I wanted to stay in a place where we felt anonymous I would have stayed at a hotel. In a hotel the room wouldn't have been as unique, but it probably wouldn't have been a let down in terms of expectations. I thought our first stay at a B and B would be better...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megmagrath85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHManorBB, Owner at Spruce Hill Manor, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We are devastated when a guest has a negative experience at Spruce Hill Manor and feel the best response is to remind our guests of our money back guarantee.

We have already contacted the reviewer by email to this effect and our awaiting their decision as to how we may fully refund their stay, by check or credit card refund.

With warmest regards,

Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,306 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
769 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#25 of 85 in Philadelphia
614 reviews
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Philadelphia
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Property: Spruce Hill Manor
Address: 3709 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2305
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is an 1879 family-owned Victorian mansion located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia in walking distance to Amtrak 30th Street Station, the Mega and Bolt Buses, CHOP, Universities of Pennsylvania and Drexel, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The bus and trolley stop across the street and provide a 5 minute ride to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Historic District. Flexible check-in, check-out and 24/7 access to the dining room. There is free on and off-street Parking. We customize every aspect of your visit ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing