We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Ranked #4 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This place is an awesome gem, the neighborhood is quiet the rooms are spacious and full of character, from the dining room to the architecture it's well worth the stay. Janet the host is great the most helpful person you can imagine, she gave us great directions and maps of the areas and made our stay the most pleasant ever. We've been all over the USA and this is by far one of our top choices for a Bed and Breakfast. We're definitely coming back

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

A delightful B&B in a quiet but fairly central neighbourhood. Comfortable and spacious rooms and the breakfast spread is delicious and included fresh fruit salad, home baked quiche and options of cereal etc. You can help yourself to tea, coffee and snacks anytime of the day. Janet the owner is so hospitable and goes out of her way to make your stay memorable. She is a gem.
A long way from New Zealand but I was made to feel completely at home here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spruce Hill Manor is one of the best places to be in Philly! The house, the bedrooms, the garden, the breakfast and the neighborhood are perfect, but most of all Janet, the innkeeper, is what makes this place the most special B&B @ Philly. I lived in Philly and I also have been at other B&B in Philly, both in center city and also in the university city, but Spruce Hill Manor is by far the best. Janet we love you!
Napo & Livia

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napoleaofv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Janet Reitano, Innkeeper, goes way beyond the call of duty. Her wish is to accommodate! She'll even offer to drive you to wherever you have to go in the area! Waking up at 5AM for a flight? She'll wake up as well and have a pot of coffee and breakfast ready for you. The Inn is beautiful, clean, cozy and quiet, beds are comfortable, there is food out always for snacks and if you happen to miss breakfast and want something that is not out, Janet will be happy to get it for you. You'll even get a bottle of wine! I can't say enough about how wonderful it is to stay here. My son just graduated from Penn, and I only found out about this Inn in April. So I've been there twice. I only wish I had known about it for the four years that my son was in Philly! I will be recommending it to anyone I know traveling there in the future. Don't bother with the hotels, or Airbnb. This is definitely a cut above the rest!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyInSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great proprietor. Janet was warm, friendly, helpful and great to talk to. The B&B is beautiful, well-maintained and graciously appointed. Special dietary needs were cheerfully accommodated. We had hoped to stay in city center on this trip, but this location was very convenient and was not disappointing at all. Very easy to get to the Barnes Foundation, Philadelphia Museum of Art, and downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvojt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spruce Hill Manor is a well-maintained B&B located in University City, a very nice neighborhood for walking or jogging. The house is beautiful, and the rooms are pleasantly arranged with antique furnishings.

It's a very well run B&B. The innkeeper, Janet, was extremely helpful. This was my first trip to Philly, and she provided me with a bunch of maps and advice to find my way around. She really went the extra mile to make sure my stay was comfortable.

The breakfast was outstanding. Every morning, there was a loaf of fresh bread in the dining room. Fresh fruit, milk & cereal, yoghurt, and pastries made for a pretty satisfying start to each day. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The host was very accommodating and kind. The property is just as wonderful. Very pricey in my opinion, but all my needs were met. For those needing to take the USMLE Step 2 CS Exam, this B&B is about 0.5 miles from the testing centers. I recommend this location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y0ungLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,400 reviews
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
813 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,374 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Address: 3709 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2305
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: £124 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is an 1879 family-owned Victorian mansion located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia in walking distance to Amtrak 30th Street Station, the Mega and Bolt Buses, CHOP, Universities of Pennsylvania and Drexel, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The bus and trolley stop across the street and provide a 5 minute ride to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Historic District. Flexible check-in, check-out and 24/7 access to the dining room. There is free on and off-street Parking. We customize every aspect of your visit ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing