We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not completely up to the standards of Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not completely up to the standards of Embassy Suites”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

First off, I am not a fan of staying at hotels near the airport. In almost every city I have been to, the area around the airport is dodgy. This hotel is located in a cluster of about five hotels that all cater to the business traveler. If you stay at any of the hotels in the area, you are in the same neighborhood. It is clear to me there have been theft problems in the parking lots based on the signage about not being responsible not only for the contents of your vehicle, but the actual vehicle too. As mentioned by a previous rater, the hotel needs to be updated. The staff does not seem to motivated or enthusiastic when it comes to doing their job. The rooms are large (typical Embassy Suites), but probably need a "deep cleaning." The hosted evening reception was lame. Free cocktails, but when it came to the appetizers I was kind of surprised. Chips, salsa, snack mix, and M&Ms. The next night was not much better. One rater spoke about the Ruby Tuesday down the street. I would not recommend it. Very small portions of food, and I got a bit concerned when I noticed a security guard near the front door for the entire Sunday night. Is it really that dangerous? The problem is there are not any other food options nearby. While this is a convenient stay for a business traveler, you might be better off in a quality hotel downtown and deal with the traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtnDog69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bswales, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia Airport. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was not exceptional. We take pride in our efforts to provide the very best in hospitality. Please accept my apologies for the less than acceptable service attitude of our staff. I will be sure to share your feedback with my team so that we may be able to make improvements in the future.

Thank you again for your candid feedback and for choosing the Embassy Suites Philadelphia Airport for your hospitality needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    445
    251
    198
    120
See reviews for
525
270
77
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucker
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The nightly rate was fair. The location is near the airport and they offer a shuttle. The hotel is dated and could use a remodel. Service at the restaurant is appalling. Appetizer never arrived and both waitresses blamed each other for not putting the order in the system. Entrée arrived completely overcooked and inedible. The waitresses (Learia and Danae) were very rude and not the least bit concerned. The restaurant Manager (Beth) is poorly trained and completely lacking any resemblance of the ability to provide even the most basic level of customer service. A simple apology goes along way and no one on this team is capable of saying I'm sorry without you prompting them to say it. This does not keep me from patronizing the Hilton brand but I will never stay at PHL Embassy Suites again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bswales, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia International Airport. I apologize and am embarrassed for the issues that you encountered in our Restaurant and have taken the liberty to share your feedback with our Food & Beverage Director and Executive Chef so these types of guest inconveniences do not happen in the future. Our mission at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia is to deliver exceptional hospitality and I am disappointed to hear that we failed in our execution.

I appreciate your feedback and for choosing the Embassy Suites Philadelphia Airport for your hospitality needs. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your faith in us on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Mission Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just a quick business trip into Wilmington DE via Philly Airport. Stayed one night at the ES and not much to report other than the following observations.

1. Lobby 'Elixer' (water with fruit/veg) is a nice touch upon arrival. However, if your going to do it, do it at all hours and keep it maintained with fresh ice and fruit/veg. I arrived around 9 PM and found the water to be 'stale'.
2. Breakfast was good and to the point - not much in the way of creativity but then there should not be an expectation of anything special.
3. Shuttle service to the airport was effecient and fast
4. Liked the bath amenities - nice selection
5. FYI - there is a Ruby Tuesday restaurant within walking distance (weather permitting) for lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60isthenew40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bswales, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us about your stay at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia Airport. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast and am glad that you appreciated our proximity to the Airport and the value of our shuttle service.

Thank you again for your thoughtful feedback and for choosing the Embassy Suites Philadelphia Airport for your hospitality needs. We hope that you visit us again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed with spouse on a Phillies home weekend. Good involved complementary breakfast which was freshly prepared by a grill chef, comfy beds, and a nice hot tub. Some things not so good. Given the layout of Embassy Suites with all floors of rooms surrounding a foyer, the hotel was noisy, especially if a room was on any floor in the bar area. This is despite the fact that we always request the highest floor in any hotel. Other issue is with parking. This hotel in South Philly is in a wasteland in an area only with other hotels and the PHL airport. Outdoor parking is ample with a very large lot that serves several hotels. Yet Embassy has erected a gate and they charge a parking fee. This is ridiculous in that area of town, which is not a destination for anything but a hotel room with easy access to CBP. It is a shameless money grab. We always stay at one of this block of hotels, so might go back, but with no enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Only reason to stay here is an overnighter for the airport or for access to the Sports complex. Cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank_mary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bswales, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia International Airport.
I apologize and regret the noise issues that you encountered from your guest suite and your displeasure with our automatic parking gate system. The parking system was implemented after a great deal of research and analysis in order to ensure all guests of the hotel have adequate parking facilities. This basic expectation was being severely compromised due to our close proximity to the airport and spaces being taken by non guest airport patrons. Our mission at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia is to deliver exceptional hospitality and I am disappointed that we failed in this regard.

I appreciate your thoughtful feedback and for choosing the Embassy Suites Philadelphia Airport for your hospitality needs. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your faith in us on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The beds were super comfy and the layouts in Embassy Suites are always awesome overlooking the lobby. We were in a Doubletree in downtown for most of our week stay, but the night before we flew out, we stayed in this Embassy Suites by the airport. I like Hilton hotels more and more every time I stay in them.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bswales, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback and for your 5 Star Review! I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind and gracious comments regarding the hotel.

Thank you again for your gracious feedback and we hope to see you again real soon at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I attended a day planning retreat at this hotel. The hotel was well maintained and services was good. Meeting room was a little cramped for our group and media acess was not that great. Embassy suites always includes breakfast and cocktail reception; although most of us decided to skip the low end free drinks and just purchase what we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bswales, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia International Airport. I am glad to hear that our hotel worked out well for your meeting.

Once again, thank you for your gracious feedback and for choosing the Embassy Suites Philadelphia Airport for your hospitality needs. We hope to have the honor to welcome you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Cooked-to-order breakfast was superb, beds comfortable, room quiet (top floor), pool & hot tub very nice, workout room small but nice- always had a big bowl of delicious oranges there for the taking. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Excellent experience!

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacationer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bswales, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia International Airport and for your 5 Star Review! I am pleased to hear that you felt our hotel was awesome and an excellent experience.

Thank you again for your gracious feedback and for choosing the Embassy Suites Philadelphia Airport for your hospitality needs. We will be honored to host your return engagement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
#45 of 86 in Philadelphia
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
0.5 mi away
Philadelphia Airport Marriott
Philadelphia Airport Marriott
#36 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
Address: 9000 Bartram Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19153-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#48 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning accommodations at the Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Airport hotel are designed for your comfort. Unwind in the lush, tranquil atmosphere of the open-air atrium after a long day of business or leisure in Philadelphia during the Evening Reception*, featuring complimentary drinks and snacks. Enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast in the hotel's atrium, and additional on-site services such as a modern fitness center and an indoor pool. This hotel is less than a mile from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing