We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Using a hospital rate at Crown Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Using a hospital rate at Crown Plaza”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I traveled to Philadalphia to visit a relative in hospice care this month. Because we could not confirm how many days we might stay, the hotel made a two-day reservation with a late day check out option on the second day. The Crown Plaza offered this option and a special rate for a king room as a "hospital rate" which was a new term to us. We were very appreciative and would recommend this hotel if you need to stay on this side of Philadelphia ( it is outside of the city).

The location of the hotel is next to a small shopping center with a Target store as the anchor and a few restaurants. There is also a Friday's in the front of the hotel's parking lot and parking seems to get tight in the evenings as the restaurant crowd competes for parking spaces.

The room was as described and we were in a "secure" wing of our floor where they provided snacks and fruit each day and the key card was needed to enter the hallway. The hotel staff seems very well trained and veterans of the property. We did not eat in the restaurant, but i did have breakfast the last morning. I arrived just as the buffet opened and have to say that the food was not great; bland eggs, salty hash browns and very under-cooked bacon.

Still, a pleasant stay in difficult circumstances and I would recommend this hotel if it fits your destination needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
It is a pleasure to note that you had an overall satisfactory stay and that you particularly appreciated the service of our staff. However we are sorry that you were disappointed with your Breakfast experience . Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback and it is valuable reviews from our guests that enable us to improve & continue offering our guests quality service. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    202
    135
    60
    48
See reviews for
170
95
60
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The wife and I are not picky people but this hotel is not a 3 star by any means. This hotel is in great need of refurbishment. The rooms are dingy and feel dirty. The carpets are in bad shape and the hallway walls need redoing. This hotel is not located in the best part of the city and always had young men hanging around in the parking lot day and night. The staff were very nice and helpful. It was quiet and really not a bad place to stay if you just consider it 2 stars.

Room Tip: If you want a good room I advise you stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenC354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are continually striving to improve our facility and the hospitality we offer, and appreciate the feedback we receive. We regret we did not meet your expectations on your last stay. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include The Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My Partner and i stayed at the Crown Plaza this week we just checked out this morning and i want to say that we were pleasantly surprised by the level of service at this hotel. when we go to Philly we usually stay downtown at another Hotel. But this time he was taking a class that was being held at the Crown Plaza. After a very quick and friendly check-in from Dean at the front desk. Everyone we encountered on staff was great. The breakfast staff went above and beyond expectations! The Hotel is about 10 minutes from center city. We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justtraveling85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel was selected as part of a wedding so we did not have much choice in the location.Check in was with friendly front desk staff but the bellmen did not seem interested in helping with bags. We extended our stay on the front end to make the weekend a bit easier and when checkout time had passed for the first night, staff knocked on the door and asked if we planned on checking out anytime soon. When he was informed that we were in the same room for both nights he simply walked away. The wedding party had arranged for an after-party at the hotel bar with food and drinks for the guests. The kitchen closed when we arrived and the open bar was cashed out about 45 minutes later, about an hour and a half before closing for the night. No accommodation was made for the group. The room itself was fairly clean and reasonably comfortable but I was expecting more for a Crowne Plaza property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmlytrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear fmlytrvls,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed overnight for an interview at Drexel in early October. The room was clean and quiet. But above all, I'd really like to thank Vicki for her kind assistance. She went up and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Staff like Vicki really make the hotel truly shine! Thank you again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location right off 76. Upon arrival I was greeted and welcomed to the property by a very friendly and attentive staff. My room was ready upon arrival and the check in process was very quick. My room was located on the eighth floor which was very quiet and offered a lounge with snacks and soft drinks. The room itself was clean and spacious although the bathroom was somewhat dated, it was still very clean and in great condition. The bed and bedding was comfortable and also well maintained. The room service meal was delivered within the time promised, the food was hot and well prepared. The menu was reasonably priced and offered many choices. The hotel has plenty of free parking available and is located near lots of restaurants and shopping.
This is a great property in a great location.

Room Tip: Executive floor is extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blapicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The staff is so nice and helpful. I arrived quite early, much before check in time and was going to simply stow my bag but was informed since my room was ready I could go on up. I needed advice several times since I was unfamiliar with the area and the front desk and bellman always had answers and suggestions with taxi service and shuttles, etc. Also, it was very convenient that a car rental was on the premise. I am staying here again for my October visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#46 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#27 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Property: Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Address: 4010 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Philadelphia - City Avenue Hotel, where travelers are sure to love our great location on City Avenue off I-76 and I-676, less than 15 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and just four miles from downtown Philly. Our hotel near the Main Line of Philadelphia offers leisure travelers easy access to many of the city's most popular attractions. Nature lovers can enjoy the great outdoors at one of the largest parks in the country, Fairmount Park, situated just one mile from our hotel. Our Philly accommodations are also near the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the Manayunk Historic District, the Wachovia Center, Penn's Landing and the Philadelphia Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing