We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older but well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Older but well maintained”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This is an older property as many downtown hotels are. It is well maintained and doesn't show much of its age. The service was good, the breakfast was above average. My room was clean and comfortable. The only negatives was the heat, it was either on full blast or off, the thermostat was broken. Also, the parking garage is a challenge. It's kind of like valet parking but a lot more challenging. But it's the city, it's what you expect to get at a downtown location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank swandive208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Sorry to hear that the HVAC was such a challenge, and the weather has been quite a suprise for us of late. It's good to hear that good points about your stay as well. Your comments on the garage will be shared with the Patriot Parking garage, and we do appreciate all that you had to say. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    472
    149
    46
    18
See reviews for
281
223
68
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here 12/22/13 to 12/28/13 room (1002)
What A great location the front desk staff was great the room was clean and quiet We would like to thank Emily & Tiffany AT the front desk also Casey for helping us to our room since we had a lot of luggage and could not find a bellman. To Gary in security for always taking the time to give us directions to where we needed to go . To james in house keeping that I only meet once in the elevator for asking how our stay was and if we needed any thing all we had to do was ask to Mrs Catherin in the restaurant for just greeting us with a smile. This location is great there is a store across the street and every thing is within walking distance the parking was easy with in and out privlage thanks to all for a great stay We have been waiting along time to go away for the holidays and this hotel made it a great one for us We will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doug m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
How wonderful your stay sounds, and thank you for sharing. It is great to hear how many of our employees positively impacted your time with us. We hope to see you again when you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Ok value for the right price. Stayed a few times. Rooms are older. I guess it was clean enough. Breakfast is basic and ok edible. Free waters upon check in was a nice touch. Right in the heart of Philadelphia's famous "Gayberhood". Easy to get around from this location. For a decent price it could be well worth staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camelduece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We are glad to hear that there was a balance to your stay. We are updating our rooms and meeting areas this spring, so we hope to see you back after we have completed the update.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I've stayed at this hotel because of the location. The first time I stayed was not great, but I thought I would give it a second try. Everytime my partner and I stayed at this property, the front desk staff were very rude and unattentive. The room itself was nice, breakfast was good and even the hsk and breakfast staff were great. But I will not be going back to this property because the front staff was terrible.

Room Tip: Horrible customer service with front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank optomistic2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior guest service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for an extended weekend with my husband and a friend to attend a local convention. I chose this hotel because it was the cheapest, and close to the convention center. The hotel itself was not bad, I have no complaints. However, I reserved a room with a king sized bed before I knew my friend was going to be rooming with my husband and I. I called the hotel a few days before our reservation to inquire about having a cot placed in our room for our friend to sleep in. The person at the desk told me I would have to wait until I got there to request a cot. I asked for a cot when I got there and was told they had none available and that I could try to call back the next morning because they assumed someone would return a cot (even though I had already asked about one days prior). Of course, I called the next morning and there were still none available. Luckily, another friend let us borrow an air mattress they had brought (their hotel HAD cots, they did not need their air mattress). Other than this issue, the stay was uneventful. The location was key- within walking distance to the convention center, Broad Street (avenue of the arts, shopping, ect.), major transportation, Chinatown, and the Reading Terminal Market. I never tried the food or went to the pool. Parking was an issue- my husband paid a lot of money to park his car in a private lot on Broad street because we drove separately and he needed to leave early. I opted to park my car in West Philly and take the subway to 13th street (know the area and felt that my car would be safe- at it was).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalregnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior guest service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We do have rollaway beds available for guest use, but during the time of your stay there was a convention in Philadelphia with a very high percentage of rooms requiring rollaways and we apologize that due to the convention we could not honor your request for a rollaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is in a superb location for exploring the City. The rooms are a good size, clean and the hotel provides a splendid complimentary breakfast which is more than adequate for both Adults and Children.
Nothing was too much for the staff who would always go that little bit extra to deal with your concerns.
I have no difficulty in recommending a stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for letting us know the staff went above and beyond, and that you had such a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
204 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice clean hotel with friendly staff. Located near several restaurants and rooms have great views. Excellent breakfast buffet. Very comfortable beds and very little hallway noise or noise from adjacent rooms. Took me about 20 minutes to get to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpack1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you very much for letting us know that is was a good place to stay and that you enjoyed yourself while at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Rodeway Inn Center City
#46 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing