We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
The Independent Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Bellevue Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alexander Inn(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
333
527
160
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
527
160
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressgreat locationwithin walking distancewalnut streetparking garagebreakfast roomjefferson hospitaloutdoor poolyogurtwould stay here againfree breakfast isliberty bellbreakfast barconvention centerhot breakfastfront desk staffhistorical sites
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights because of eye surgery at wills eye. Staff very accommodating. Rooms are spacious, undoing renovations. Should be much better when all is done! Breakfast was good, food was hot and staff kept up with refreshing. Our air conditioner did not work first night and told front desk if unable to fix we would need to change rooms. They were fine with this but were able to fix unit and second night was much more comfortable. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you! It's good to hear that the hotel suited your needs, and that the problem you did experience was corrected to your satisfaction. We hope you have the opportunity to see the refreshed rooms when they are completed. Again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Ok, so don't expect a luxury hotel.

Having said that, the H-I Express Philadelphia does exactly what it is supposed to do and does it well. Very convenient central location, good size rooms, well managed property. Check-in was a little chaotic (several groups arrived at the same time) and I would have appreciated a separate Priority Club (IHG rewards club) desk for Platinum members. Once I got someone's attention, the process was pleasant and efficient.

Rooms offer plenty of space, are generally quiet, housekeeping is good.

Convenient parking on-site (but - when we visited - managed by a different company, meaning any 'special requests' - did not want to leave my keys - are down to an individual's own bargaining skills...)

Breakfast is a slight let down, mainly because of the poor lay-out of the area. A lot of bumping into other guests, a lot of unnecessary 'dancing around'. Could improve by making (slight) changes to the layout.

Overall, happy to have chosen this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you so much for your rave review, it was well balanced and I believe covered all the bases. We appreciate knowing how we impacted your stay with us, and the areas we could strive for better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed two nights on business at this mid-town hotel. I got a great government rate, so I don't know what the regular price is. The location was perfect--walking distance to restaurants, shops, the convention center, and Reading Terminal Market (fun for foodies). The breakfast (included in the rate) was decent and included hot items like oatmeal and eggs as well as the standard cereal, juice, and coffee. The room was spacious and comfortable, though I was surprised to hear street noise on the 18th floor. My only complaint was that the "business center" turned out to be separate computers in the lobby and breakfast area. It wasn't the usual setup, but everything worked fine and there was no extra charge. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn41353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Love to see you come back and hope your next visit is soon. We did not originally have a room to house a business center, so we tried to make it as accessible as possible for our guests. Thank you for letting us know it worked well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Hotell is on a really central location in Phille.
It was prob the most expensive placee we stayed at at out US trip, Due to the lack of cheaper hotels in the most central areas of Phille, But it was still very basic.
But if you was a hotell in downtown Phillie its a good choise. To bad the pool was closed when we where there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, but sorry you missed out on the roof deck pool. It is only open during the summer season from Memorial Day through Labor Day. Hope you can come back for a visit then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

There were many things to like in our recent stay at the holiday inn express midtown Philadelphia.
1. excellent location for public transportation, points of interest like the Reading market, theaters, restaurants
2. friendly and helpful staff including front desk folks and housekeeping staff
3. plentiful free breakfast with enough choices, constantly refilled foods, adequate seating
4. room was attractive, good size (2 double beds) especially for a city location
All of the above would have meant at least a rating of "4".

However, the wifi connection was terrible!! In the 3 days that I was at the hotel, I was able to connect with my laptop for maybe a total of 10 minutes. Even when I eventually went to the lobby to use a computer there (at midnight after giving up in my room), the staff couldn't connect for the first 15 minutes. Since I needed to spend several hours on line for work, these problems were really problematic. Talking to other guests, we found out that most of them had similar problems.

So, if you don't need to connect to the internet, this hotel is a great choice! But, if you do and the hotel hasn't fixed the wifi connectiion problems, you might want to try someplace with a better internet system in place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill1207W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

It's good to hear that you enjoyed most everything about your stay except for the WIFI. We are working with Comcast to resolve any issues with the WIFI service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews