We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wonder why the call it Holiday Inn?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I wonder why the call it Holiday Inn?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2006

In terms of location it's great. You are a few blocks from the most attractive places in Philly: Liberty bell, City Hall, Museum of art etc...You can walk almost evrywhere in downtown Philadelphia.
HOWEVER, the hotel doesen't deserve the name Holiday Inn for many reasons:
1) I booked this hotel 3 weeks before my stay and they already charged my credit card (the whole amount). Therefore I basically had to pay the hotel 20 days before my arrival!!!

2) When I arrived they wanted to charge me $10 dollars more from the amount that I paid. I had to show them my printed copy of the receipt in order to clear it out.

3) The hotel people (especially those in reception are very unfriendly and rude). You will notice that from the first moment you will arrive.

And one good thing: The breakfast is free and taste good. Don't expect to see of cource any sausage or bacon...

CONCLUSION: If you plan to go to Philadelphia for having good time re-think again if this hotel is good for you. Especially if you plan to spend time inside the hotel (rooms are old and smelly).

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank grevo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    464
    144
    43
    17
See reviews for
274
221
67
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Springs, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2006

Our three night stay was very comfortable and quiet, considering the midtown location. Easy walking distance to all historical sites and many excellent restaurants. Buffet breakfast well-rounded with omelets, fruit, cereal and those famous cinnamon rolls. Great value for the money. Staff was very friendly and professional. Took care of minor room repairs immediately.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — $21 per night parking fee, excessive for guests of the hotel!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twelveoaks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

Unfortunately I only really spent a night at the hotel so didn't have much time to explore the immediate area, but knowing Philly I can say that the location is close to everything.
What really sets this HI Express apart is the value you get. I paid $115/night to stay in downtown Philly at a more than adequate hotel, that's a great deal in my book.
The free breakfast was outstanding; it's something a Courtyard would charge at least $5.95 for. The $21/day to park is reasonable considering it is downtown and you do get a key card that gives you in and out privileges all day.
It looks like they are remodeling the interior hallways and that is good because the halls and rooms are a little dated, but all in all, a great deal.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — age
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank FightOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2006

My husband and I paid for our room in advance since 5/31/06..We get to the hotel and we can't get a room. The front desk staff seem non-caring and did not go out of their way to reassure us. No king rooms smoking are clean, can you believe this. We ask to speak to a supervisor she had major attitude we hear her yelling and then she flounced out the side door on her merry way never even addressing the issue. So the 3:00 supervisor picks up the slack and after much discussions and promises we get our room. The room is lovely quite spacious and the 20th flr view is great. So on the 2nd day the key card does not work, the cleaning lady lets us in. We are not going back out and were leaving the next day so we did not go back down. Then after breakfast on check-out day the fire alarms go off, what a mess for the guests still in their rooms. I am so glad we were out of there and downstairs..Holiday Inn Express, Midtown Philadelphia, Nice rooms, bad staff attitude,too many problems..NEVER AGAIN..I'll stay in the Rittenhouse where they know how to treat a customer

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2006

We stayed at this hotel through a terrific rate with AAA. We thought the hotel was very nice for the rate that we paid. The room was neat and clean. We did notice a strange odor when we left the elevator but it did not bother us. The breakfast was wonderful and there was plenty of food available when we went down at 9:00 am. The location is terrific - we walked to the Rittenhouse area as well as the Washington Square Area within minutes. We will definitely stay here again.

We checked in early around 2 pm and our room was ready and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Bathroom toilet needs replacing
Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldilocks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2006

It may be Philadelphia, but this hotel was in a non descript street, does not look much from the outside and blink as you drive past and you would miss it. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable though a/c was a bit ropey. Staff and atmosphere non existent. All in all stay here if you want ok room and have were with all to find your own way about the city. Very impersonal.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsox367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2006

Not knowing Philly or the area was unsure of where exactly we would be. It was an extremely great location for everything. Downtown, historic, the parks, food, tourist attractions. I parked in the garage & didn't take my car out until 3 days later when we left. Was able to walk everywhere. The hotel staff were beyond great -- they greeted us every night when we got back asking how was our day, what did we do. Even at the breakfast buffet the hostess was absolutely delightful. Went out of her way to find us one day to give us info we had asked about as did the front desk. The room was very nice - decent view of City Hall or at least William Penn. Only downfall was housekeeping was very chincy with toilet paper & kleenex. It was like pulling teeth to get an extra roll (so weird)... The price was great as well. I never write to hotels with praise - but did this one. Had wished they had a bar/dinner restaurant in hotel --- but there was a very nice one down the street. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Hotel Staff
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank piezees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing