We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
US$388
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$313
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$401
US$377
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$213
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$290
US$255
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$232
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
333
527
160
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
527
160
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressgreat locationwithin walking distancewalnut streetparking garagebreakfast roomjefferson hospitaloutdoor poolyogurtwould stay here againfree breakfast isliberty bellbreakfast barconvention centerhot breakfastfront desk staffhistorical sites
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The room was very clean, I was actually pretty impressed. Only problem is the room didn't have a fridge and they wouldn't provide us with one. Front desk workers aren't very pleasant and in some cases pretty rude. We had asked where the ice machine was and were laughed at; probably not how you should treat your guests. Something just needs to be done about their costumer service skills.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky94583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and apologize for the service you received. As noted with previous reviews we have worked hard on our customer service and apologize that your experience did not mirror other guests. We will address the issue you raised about the fridge. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

What makes it so special is definitely the staff. Everyone with whom we had contact - reservations, front desk, room attendant, the ladies who tended the great selections of breakfast foods in the cafe, and even the parking attendant who helped us find our car, which we thought was on Level 2, but was actually on Level 3 - all were so friendly and helpful. Thank you, Aubrey! Thank you, Devin! Thank you everyone!!
The hotel's location is ideal and within walking distance to all the historic sites (we enjoy walking). To visit the art museums and science institute, I recommend taking the Philly Phlash bus. You can get an all day hop-on/hop-off pass for $5.00; seniors (65 & older) ride for FREE! I would have given the location 5 stars, except that the area at night takes on a different atmosphere that had us looking over our shoulders while we were walking; however, that's not the fault of the hotel.
The room was spacious and clean. Its furnishings were more than adequate with a comfy bed and pillows, chairs and an ottoman, a great relief to my tired feet at the end of the day!! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCamper152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay we are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay. We especially appreciate your comments regarding our staff; we have passed along your kind words to the appropriate folks. Based upon feedback from past guest like you have worked hard to improve our quality of service and are pleased to hear your kind words. As with any big city it is about being aware of your surroundings and your words regarding the location are appreciated. We do have a great location to all area attractions and nightlife can still be enjoyed. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

am pleasantly surprised to find out that this hotel is as good as any in the holiday inn chain because it always seemed avaiable. but my family and i are glad that we came here - the room is clean and does not have the musty smell that often comes with budget hotels, plus the staff are corteous and attentive. just don't look for the extras like a fridge and safe in each room. a big plus is its proximity to the tourist sites and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

We appreciate your response and pleased you had a nice stay at our hotel. Our location is one of our best amenities and we are pleased you found value for price paid at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback regarding the condition of our rooms. Extra amenities like a mini-fridge and microwave are not common in downtown Philly, but we will pass your recommendation on to our ownership group. Thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

From the moment we checked in we knew this was a great place. The front desk was super friendly and went out of there way to recommend restaurants and things to do. Roof top pool was awesome and hotel was centrally located being walking distance to Reading Station and also all the historical sites.

Complimentary breakfast was both hot items and continental, so my whole family was happy. Parking garage is attached and you can prepay onto Hotel bill. We parked our car and forgot about it for 3 days. Being from Chicago $21/day parking is a bargain, but could see how others might be shocked.

Strong recommendation for family with kids wanting to see great city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachBryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel; we are pleased you had a pleasant stay. Glad to hear you had a chance to enjoy our rooftop pool, although the water is heated by the sun it is a nice retreat during hot summer months. We appreciate the feedback regarding the parking, as with any major city parking is always a challenge and we are glad we our prices offer more value than Chicago! Thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I've stayed in a lot of hotel/motels in my life, but this was the first time I'd ever received a safety card on my pillow explaining how to protect myself while staying in their establishment. The area around the motel wasn't the nicest place, so I can see their point, but it was a bit un-nerving. The rooms were clean, but old and in need of replacing a few things. The breakfast are had no A/C so you nearly died of heat exhaustion before your day ever started. Also there is a great deal of street noise that you hear in your room and we were on the 11th or 12th floor, so you'd think that would be diminished.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

We appreciate your feedback and as a member of downtown Philadelphia we are like all other properties in that we provide a safety card for our guests traveling to our larger city from smaller locations. We are focused on guest safety and these cards are a small way to remind our guests to use common sense when visiting. We are addressing the issue you raised regarding the temperature of the breakfast room, we appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews