We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service shines in old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Egg Harbor Township
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Service shines in old hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Overnight stay in a waterfront room. Furniture in the room wasn't in the best of shape (nicks in tables). However the bedding and cabinetry for the plasma were updated. Pillows were extremely comortable.
Bathroom tub and lower part of counter were dated but clean. Lighting in the bathroom wasn't the best.
While the hotel wasn't that impressive for me, the service from the staff was. From the doorman and valet attendent to the check-in and check-out employees at the front desk, they said all the right things to make a customer feel welcomed. Extremely professional, accommodating, and well-trained in customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMVR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    832
    290
    145
    80
See reviews for
559
642
125
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel in great location to down town historical district. Short walking distance to South Street which has something for everyone, the Liberty Bell and lots more. Nice view of the Delaware river and the New Jersey shoreline.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Greetings Steve H,

Thank you for going out of your way to provide positive feedback on your recent stay with us at the Hyatt Regency Penn's Landing. We are thrilled you chose our location for you stay in Philadelphia. We often hear enthusiastic about our location and how convenient we are to the historical district and sightseeing activities. We hope you will return on your next stay in Philly to the Hyatt Regency.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I recently stayed at this Hyatt on a business trip. I just have to say that the service from the concierge desk was unparalleled.

Just in general, I have a great deal of respect for folks who have a true passion for their profession no matter if they’re a doctor, teacher, mechanic or concierge. This type of passion was apparent in my experience with David at the concierge desk.

Being an out of towner, I simply asked if there was a restaurant within walking distance to grab a Philly cheesesteak. Here are the Cliffnotes version of the answer I received:

Yes, there are two places you can pick from (pulled out a map and outlined the locations)
Asked me if I preferred the slightly healthier option of the two
Since I opted for the “less greasy” cheesesteak he recommended Ishkabibbles
He knew that they steamed the steak with water on the grill vs. using oil
He recommended that since seating is limited, I can grab my sandwich to go, walk 2 ½ blocks northwest to a beautiful park he outlined on the map and have an impromptu picnic
Also advised there was some cool, eclectic shopping in the area which I ended up taking full advantage of
He recommended that after lunch, I can walk across the street to the Curtis Center to see (for free) an incredible Tiffany, stained glass mural called the “Dream Garden” (it is literally 15 x 49 feet). Even knew that Steve Wynn tried to purchase the piece from the city for one his Las Vegas hotels but the city refused to sell it.

He basically turned my simple cheesesteak request into a perfect afternoon, experiencing Philadelphia.

Can’t say enough about this incredible level of service.

This experience wasn’t a one-time fluke either. The day before I had asked if there was a health club in the area that offered open gym for basketball. Although he didn’t know off the top of his head, he was immediately on the phone with several clubs/gyms in the area. Even the guy standing next to him was working the phones at the same time because he overheard my request.

I’ve always had good luck with Hyatts in the past, but my experience here has made me a Hyatt fan for life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for going out of your way to share your extensive feedback about your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that the concierge consistently exceeded your expectations and provided such a high level of service. I will make sure that David is recognized for the excellent job he did and that he knows what a difference his efforts made in your stay. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again on your next trip to Philadelphia.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel has a nice view of the river, and the bridge looks pretty when lit up at night. The bed was comfortable, the shower was great, the staff was friendly and helpful, the food was good, and the hotel is in a very nice location with plenty of restaurants and shopping in walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creus421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi creus421,

Thank you for taking a moment to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing. I am delighted to hear of the wonderful view you enjoyed from your guest room. Our Hyatt Grand Beds are one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Our employees will be recognized for the wonderful service you experienced. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel on the water was a perfect place for a girls weekend in the city. Really enjoyed the restaurant! Lunch was wonderful. Room was clean and spacious with nice furnishings. We had an outstanding view!
The staff was very helpful. Everyone was polite and courteous. The valet staff, doorman and bellman were awesome.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rubia_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your girls weekend. I am thrilled you had a memorable stay and found your room to be very clean and spacious. We have some breathtaking views at our property. I have shared your kind words regarding the staff and their service with our management team. Your recommendation is our greatest compliment!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a River Front room and had the best view of the tall ships and the skyline of Camden. Just beautiful! Room was very comfortable and the hotel is in walking distance to Moshulu, Chart House and La Veranda, as well as the smaller restaurants in the area. Everyone was cordial and helpful. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a River Front room. Actually, the River View rooms would be interesting too. I think we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I’m glad that you had such a wonderful river view and could see the ships and the skyline. It is great to hear that you found your room to be comfortable. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be within comfortable walking distance to so many of the local attractions and restaurants. It’s wonderful that the staff was cordial and helpful throughout your stay. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
630 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great location, near Society Hill, and Independence Hall. Right on the water with very good water views to Camden. There is a nice view of the South Philly area as well. We were on the 18th floor and middle teens which gave us the river view. The staff is very friendly from the Valet to the Front desk. This seems like a very safe area of the city. Right at Penns Landing.

Room Tip: Ask for the 18th floor great views and the elevator is fast so it isn't a hassle to be up so hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Greetings SheriBobLove2Travel,

Thank you for going out of your way to write this review on your experience at the Hyatt Regency Penn's Landing. We are so happy to hear of your wonderful room accommodations during your stay with us and the amazing views we offer of the water and south Philly. We will be sure to recognize all of our team members for the great job they have done to make your visit even better. We hope to welcome you back on you next visit to Philly.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Property: Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Address: 201 S Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3101 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property located at the doorstep of Center City, and walkable to Philadelphia's Historic Sites. Take in wonderful city views from a spacious and elegantly furnished guest room. Stay connected with WiFi at the oversized desk, or recline on the plush bed and watch the flat-screen TV. Additional in-room amenities include an iHome alarm clock radio, refrigerator and in-room safe. Choose an inviting suite for more space and amenities, or treat yourself to the ultimate Penn's Landing stay in the luxurious Owner's Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing