We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Philadelphia”
Review of Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Philadelphia”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Soooooooooooo Noisey could not get to sleep until 3:45 AM. No one to call and no one answered the phone! Terrible experience. Thick layer of dust under table. No chair in room so only place to sit was on the bed. The room itself so hot we were sweating while in the hall it was very cool. We walked away from the second night which was prepaid and for a mere $40 more, stayed at the Society Hill Sheraton and got a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here if you want to sleep. Broken windows see through curtains let in street light, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    26
    27
    88
See reviews for
17
67
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Never again! I warn you all! I ´m completelly destroyed after 2 nights! It´s without any service at all, the lights don ´t work, the awful technical noise during the night, ugly rooms, locks don ´t work - it´ s the worst hotel I ´ve ever been in.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PetrBilik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at the society hill hotel for 3 nights. The location was great, only a 5 or so minute walk to the liberty bell and city hall (liberty hall). A shopping center is also within walking distance, which was good. The room was small, but it's an older building so totally understandable...the ceiling was high which was cute, overall I enjoyed the room, the side table was very cute and vintage. The tv was very small but not hard to watch, ours worked perfectly and we had more than enough channels. Our toilet didn't work properly though. The worst thing about the place was the staff! We arrived after a long journey and they have a strict check-in between 3-5, so we had to wait an hour in the cold. When the lady came down to get us, she was extremely rude which gave us a bad idea of the place. Luckily for us they don't seem very interested in working so they weren't there very much (at all?) so we didn't have to see her again. Yay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabbie_dern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The room was the size of a walk-in closet, the bathroom almost non-existent, the bed so small you couldn't turn into it, the air conditioning noisy as an airplane. In four days they never made the room (not even the bed) or changed the towels. The reception was always closed and nobody answered the phone, so it was impossible to talk with them. As we had left (for securuty...!) our passports and plane tickets with them, we almost missed our flight.
Only good thing is location, right in the middle of old town Philly, but that's not enough to make anyone want to stay there

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valeria30154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Concur with other reviews...clean, great location, good price, NO amenities. One thing I wanted to emphasize was that the rooms are SMALL. At least 301, which was a tiny bedroom, connected to a tiny sitting room by a really tiny bathroom. My sister and I are both pretty small (under 5'6" and thin) and there was no place in either room where we could walk past each other without turning sideways. Not awful for us, but my 6'2" husband would have been very cramped. Some of the pictures seem to show other rooms that are larger, so maybe you could call ahead to ask for one of the "larger rooms".

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkyf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is for sure the worst "hotel" I've ever been in.

First of all, there is no service at all; from time to time somebody is showing up in a sort of office they have on the first floor. Whatever you ask them, be sure that you won't get it, also because the previously mentioned office is always closed (I suspect that they only show up when they know that some guest is coming)

The rooms are ridiculous, small (but this would even not be a problem) and dirty. I've been there for four nights and the room has NEVER been cleaned.
The furnitures in the rooms are creepy and unstable. I got a couch in my room at it was so dirty that I was even afraid of putting my clothes on it.

According to what I saw in that "hotel", I have to say that the pictures that they show in the internet must be either fake or manipulated.

At the end, when I had to leave, they even didn't give a receipt although I clearly asked for it in advance; they told me twice that they will send it to me per email (it is superfluous to add that until now -almost three moths later- they didn't do it).

Be careful

Room Tip: If you ar looking for a good room, go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a great hotel if you just want a clean inexpensive place to stay in the Society Hill area of Philadelphia. Built in 1860, the overall structure of the hotel has changed very little since that time . It gives a unique perspective as to what it must have been like to travel and stay in Philadelphia during that time period. The rooms are very, very small as is the bathroom. There is a minimal amount of convieniences (no telephone, small window a/c, no dressers, etc.), but this adds to the charm and experience! This hotel has only 15 small available rooms and we were told that it's almost always booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#50 of 86 in Philadelphia
533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
0.2 mi away
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Society Hill Hotel

Property: Society Hill Hotel
Address: 301 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2795
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Society Hill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Society Hill Philadelphia
Hotel Society Hill
Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing