We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay on Rittenhouse Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay on Rittenhouse Square”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Easy trip from airport, uniformly friendly and prompt, professional service. Library Bar is small, intimate and a great way to start or end the evening. Two high end restaurants on premises - Lacroix - a decidedly upscale menu with unusual fares and Smith and Wollensky's - a great steak house. The are numerous, less expensive coffee houses, cafés and restaurants within 3 blocks or closer.

Rooms are a good size for inner city and nicely furnished. Nothing special. Great bathrooms. Room Service and Housekeeping were outstanding. No coffee makers in room. Have to call room service. Pool and Fitness being renovated will be ready in a few months. Have stayed here before, would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to you. Not cheap, but what good hotel in large Northeast city is?

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Tony,

We appreciate your candid, no nonsense take on our hotel. Thank you for your return business.

As you noted, we will be continuously upgrading and fine tuning our offerings in the months and years ahead. Hope to see you when you next return to Philadelphia.

Best regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    134
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
198
281
37
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, CT
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Perfect hotel, terrific location. Superb white glove service with a smile. We were here one wonderful night while visiting our freshman at UPenn and could not have been happier. Booked through American Express Platinum and received an upgrade to an extremely spacious and comfortable suite, among other benefits. Ample closet space, robes and slippers. Very nice bathroom with tub and separate glassed-in shower, plus makeup mirror and counter right outside the bathroom was a real convenience. We have found our hotel in Philadelphia for the next four years--at least!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are happy to add you to our Penn Parent family and look forward to hosting you in the coming years. Please let us know if there is any way we may personalize your stay by way of amenities or transportation to and from campus. Your review and recommendation is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here during the Made in America music festival! We felt so comfortable and at home in this hotel. Perks galore!! Not to mention the perfect location for walking home after partying. Excellent service from beginning to end

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Kay,

Whether in town for a concert, shopping, dining or sight seeing, we agree that you can not beat our location. In addition, we truly try to provide personalized service to every guest on each visit.

Thank you so much for recommending us to others and don't wait for the next Made in America show to pay another visit.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weatherly, pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at "The Rittenhouse" this past weekend while in town for a wedding. Wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly, the amenities were extremely decadent and the accommodations were luxurious. I cannot wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorri64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Lorri,

We can't wait to have you back...We truly appreciate your endorsement of our most prominent point of difference, service.

Many thanks,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Rittenhouse Hotel is lovely. The main floors are beautiful with a jewel box of a bar tucked away in the back. La Croix is superb (although I was only there for a cocktail and for breakfast the next day). The room was nice, but needs a bit of a facelift (which I understand is in progress). We had a nice upgrade to a larger room and it had a fabulous view. The staff was very nice and cheerful! They made you feel at home!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Ms. Walker,

Senior contributors to TripAdvisor often have the most perceptive insights to what sets us apart from others. We are very proud of our Library Bar and new offerings throughout the property. Coming soon this spring will be a new health club, spa and salon. One thing that does not change is the quality of service from our dedicated. They truly enjoy looking after you and it shows. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with others.

Best regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I've stayed at the Rittenhouse twice in recent months -- once for business (a quick one-night trip) and once for pleasure (special birthday celebration for my wife) and the hotel stood out on both occasions for the quality of their service throughout and prime location.

I've stayed at several of the other top-end hotels in Philly (including the Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons) a few times and while the rooms at all three fall roughly into the same category of luxurious, comfortable, but not particularly modern, the Rittenhouse manages to stand head and shoulders above through all the "little things" they do right. For example, the new Library Bar noted that it was my wife's birthday and brought a special amenity (a little cake styled as a Tiffany box) despite the fact we were just having one round of pre dinner drinks. Dinner at Lacroix on my business trip was also thoroughly enjoyable, with a great setting overlooking Rittenhouse Square, warm, friendly service, good food and lots of extras. The fitness centre is a touch dated (to be renovated soon), but does offer a full range of equipment in a bright setting (and is better than the basement gym in the Ritz or the Four Seasons).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clydethetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Clyde,

it is a pleasure to read your impressions of the Rittenhouse Our team here truly tries to make every interaction as personal and welcoming as possible. Thank you so much for recognizing our efforts. We look forward to seeing you again whenever you are in the neighborhood.

Best regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I just returned from my twelfth stay at the hotel. It is a very special place. Exceptional service is the main thing. Impeccable. People always polite and go the extra mile, never making you feel they want to rush on to something else. I have only seen this level of service at the top hotels of the world. It is also beautiful: rooms and public places. I have loved it as it was and I am hoping the new renovation will not take away its special-ness, which I guess lies mainly with the staff. They have made the furniture in the lobby more modern and have renovated some rooms in a style that is more commercial and less homey than in the past. Also gone under the new management is the free champagne (endless glasses that is no doubt why this is a thing of the past) that greeted guests lucky enough to arrive at certain times. Still I would surely say that staying anywhere else by here on a visit to Philly is a big mistake. I have stayed at both the Ritz and the 4 Seasons and this place is in a different league. The reviews do not do it justice. Don't miss T on Saturday and Sunday and enjoy the very large pool. Interesting the lowest end rooms in my experience are fabulous and often better than the suites, excepting those on the third floor which have been recently renovated and, though modern, are just great. Many of the rooms have a TV in the bathroom, a touch an addict like me appreciates. Also worth checking out the deals of using either Platinum Amex or Leading Hotels of the World Club to get free upgrades and other goodies.

Room Tip: Many people find the cheapest rooms as good as the suites, except for the special suites like those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronaldfairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Ronald,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review of the Rittenhouse. We have undergone and continue to perform significant upgrades to the property in order to keep our offerings up to par with our service levels. Your points are well taken and valuable as coming from a seasoned traveler.

We will look for you on future visits. Thanks again.

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,277 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#23 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,531 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Property: The Rittenhouse Hotel
Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing