We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lovely people, Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, lovely people, Great location!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Rittenhouse is a large hotel on Rittenhouse Square in Philadelphia. It is well located and has a lovely staff. The rooms are large and the bathrooms well-designed. It was a first class experience from beginning to end. I loved the Acqua Di Parma bathroom amenities. The decor was a tad bit dated as is the exterior of the hotel, but the planters were filled with spring flowers and the landscaping was well done. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Anita,

We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in Philadelphia. We continue to upgrade The Rittenhouse with a new spa, salon and health club coming on line this summer. In the meantime, you can be sure that all of our products and services will be among the best that you can find anywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    134
    44
    15
    8
See reviews for
198
280
37
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Rittenhouse is a rare "wow" experience. Drove up and greeted by professional valet and doormen. Part of the space is for residents and the staff know the "regulars" and treat guests with courtesy and professionalism. Same is true at the front desk. My corner suite was beautiful, with a ton of space, a huge bath, sitting area, great desk space and a comfy bed. The views are decent -- it is Philly after all -- but I would recommend a higher floor. Free WiFi in a high-end hotel is much appreciated and way too rare. The local area offers a beautiful park to walk in or have a seat. Many dining options as well. I have stayed elsewhere in town and the Rittenhouse deserves superlatives.

Room Tip: Higher floor has better views. Park side is nice but I looked west at the building with the giant ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Dave,

We truly appreciate your observations regarding the arrival experience and overall feel of the property here at the Rittenhouse. Please be sure to come back soon to experience our new spa, salon and health club; opening later this summer. This 11,500 sq ft newly built space is destined to be the best in Philadelphia, if not the east coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The service here is excellent! From the time of arrival with the doorman,the front desk staff,to the housekeeping staff, all are top notch. Our room was really spacious , and beds were very comfortable. They brought cookies and milk for my kids with their names on the plate. They loved that. They also have little robes and slippers for the kids . Lacroix breakfast was delicious. The pastries were outstanding! The hotel is really beautiful,and the staff is wonderful,totally worth a five star!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank elyseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are so happy to know that you had such a wonderful visit. Children always enjoy the custom amenities and our location is perfect for families who want to hit the ground running in the heart of Philadelphia. Please come again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Rittenhouse is an elegant hotel with spacious clean rooms (at least mine was) with old modern charm. The exterior is deceiving since its got a 1980s modernish look. The location of the hotel could not be better to explore downtown Philly on foot. While I wanted to go to Lacroix, that did not pan out given the diverse array of great restaurants in the area, including Parc right across Rittenhouse Square from the hotel. Would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: You have the option of a room overlooking the Square or a city view. While I did not have a wow vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greengalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Please make sure you make a point of joining us in Lacroix on your next visit. It holds its own as one of the best restaurants in the area- including New York. Other options are our Mary Cassatt tea room or Library Bar. Thank you very much for your endorsement of the Rittenhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel was wonderful. It was clean, the service excellent, the room was phenomenal. They were great with the kids. We were a little bummed the pool was being worked on but they did offer for us to go to a sports club a few blocks away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definitely stay in it again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Shannon,

We are happy to know that you and your family had such a wonderful time. In the near future, we will celebrate the re-opening of our entirely remodeled spa, salon and health club- including indoor pool. Please make a point of visiting again and thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Grande, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed in a room with view of the square . Bed was very comfortable. Room was well appointed.The highlight of this place was the service! Everyone we dealt with was absolutely amazing. So helpful and courteous it made our Stay exceptional. We went out to dinner and had the luxury of being taken and returning in their car(Jaguar). The driver Perry only added to such an elegant experience.What a nice guy! We will definitely be back.One of the bet hotel experiences we have ever had.

Room Tip: Corner suite overlooking the square was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muskymstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Wonderful to hear about your experience at The Rittenhouse and great interaction with Perry, our bellman. I look forward to sharing your feedback with him and the rest of the team. I am sure they will be encouraged by your remarks.

Looking forward to seeing you as our guest sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for an overnight at the Rittenhouse Hotel. We had a deluxe city-view room. It was very large, with a sitting area, and beautifully furnished. The carpeting and room decor was old-world and in mint condition. Bed linens and towels were glorious. The bathroom was large (especially for a city hotel) and seemed newly redone with separate shower and tub--all marble.

We had dinner in the hotel at La Croix restaurant. It was absolutely as good as any of the Michelin Starred restaurants in Paris without having to make the airplane flight. The service was professional, yet very friendly and the food was exquisite both in taste and presentation. We can't wait to go back to this hotel and definitely recommend both the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank discerningNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are very proud of Lacroix, our award winning restaurant led by Chef Jon Cichon and Director of Outlets Sylvain Briens. We treat it as a free standing restaurant within the hotel and it certainly stands on it's own in terms of quality and service.

Thank you for your kind words in letting others know about us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,278 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#23 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,536 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Property: The Rittenhouse Hotel
Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing