We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful non-chain hotel in Phildelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful non-chain hotel in Phildelphia”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were given a corner room, high above the square. Very comfortable, extremely quiet with top of the line amenities - all at a very reasonable rate. Usually I'm in Philadelphia for business and stay at the Hyatt or Marriott or Westin. The Rittenhouse is a cut above the rest, yet its central location makes it so convenenient that I'm staying there next week when I'm in town for some meetings. If you go, book a table ahead of your arrival at Avance in the space that Le Bec Fin used to occupy. It's an unbelievable experience for your palate and your wallet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G Keith W, Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Eaglejohn:

Thank you for your kind words about The Rittenhouse. I hope upon your return you have the opportunity to try our renowned restaurant Lacroix. I rivals the best. I look forward to your return.

All the best,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    134
    44
    15
    8
See reviews for
198
280
37
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were "bumped" from the Omni Independence Park to the Rittenhouse because the Omni overbooked the long weekend. I was naturally annoyed with the last minute change in plans but boy am I glad it turned out the way it did! The Rittenhouse is a beautiful hotel with surprisingly spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. The service was exceptional from the doormen to the front desk and concierge. Our family felt very welcome throughout our stay. The only less than ideal experience was dinner at Smith and Wollinsky, which I would not recommend, as we found the food quite average and terribly overpriced. Thankfully there are plenty of other dining options in the Rittenhouse Square area. This is our new go-to hotel in Philadelphia.

Green Features: I appreciated the recycle baskets in the rooms and how easy the hotel made it to choose how much or little we wanted to conserve linens and towels.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaniD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are happy to have had the opportunity to "steal" you away from the competition! Most guest find us to be the best property in the market for a number of reasons. Sounds as if we can count on you for future visits as well.

Please try Lacroix, Bar 210 or our Library Bar when you are next with us. I am sure that you will not be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Rittenhouse Hotel is an excellent choice. The service is impeccable ,the rooms large and the staff most accommodating. Located on Rittenhouse Square, the location is quite charming and just a mile from most art museums. Our last stay was about five years ago and there has been some telltale wear on the furniture. That is something that the management needs to pay attention to in order to keep up the standards that the room price commands.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dentdoctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for recommending us to others. We are continuously upgrading our product in all areas, including an entirely new spa, salon and health club later this summer. Rest assured that you will have much to look forward to as you return in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I treated my wife to a weekend in Philly for her birthday and was deciding between this, the Four Seasons and the Ritz. In the end, I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and I couldn't have been happier with my decision. Though the outside of the hotel looks a bit dated, the hotel itself is perfectly appointed and beautiful with large rooms overlooking the park to boot. And the service here was incredible - they didn't miss a beat from check-in to check-out. The hotel sent a birthday bottle of champagne which really set the tone for the rest of the weekend. Mike who worked in valet and Perry who drove the courtesy Jaguar were particularly memorable though the staff at Lacroix and in the Library Bar was also ridiculously attentive and wonderful. The only miss for me was the brunch. We were there on Mother's Day weekend where they hike the price up to $95. that price doesn't include any alcohol and the spread was very similar (if not identical) to the spread they described serving on non-holiday Sundays. In the end, the food and service were good but not worth the price.

Room Tip: Get the park view room - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks very much for choosing to celebrate with us. I look forward to recognizing Perry and Mike for their stellar service along with our entire team. We truly appreciate your comments and observations. Please come back and see us sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is perfectly located in central Philadelphia (be sure to ask for a park view) but doesn't quite provide the luxury experience for the price. The bathroom was quite small for the room size, with no tub, no separate toilet space and only one sink. The shelf is too small in the shower enclosure and there is no seat or safety rail for older guests. No Kleenex are provided but there is a scale. The Acqua di Parma toiletries are intensely fragranced, if you are sensitive to that sort of thing. The room furnishings are a little dated but the bed was quite comfortable. Although three adults were staying in the room the maid forgot to make up the sofa bed (and there were no extra linens in the room) necessitating a midnight call to housekeeping. They did arrive promptly, however. All the staff were quite friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charisse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Charisse,

It was a pleasure to have you with us. Please know that we are continuously upgrading our products and take your suggestions very much to heart. Amenity placement is key. We always offer additional and/or alternative items based on your preference.

We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you for choosing The Rittenhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Rittenhouse is a large hotel on Rittenhouse Square in Philadelphia. It is well located and has a lovely staff. The rooms are large and the bathrooms well-designed. It was a first class experience from beginning to end. I loved the Acqua Di Parma bathroom amenities. The decor was a tad bit dated as is the exterior of the hotel, but the planters were filled with spring flowers and the landscaping was well done. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Anita,

We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in Philadelphia. We continue to upgrade The Rittenhouse with a new spa, salon and health club coming on line this summer. In the meantime, you can be sure that all of our products and services will be among the best that you can find anywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Rittenhouse is a rare "wow" experience. Drove up and greeted by professional valet and doormen. Part of the space is for residents and the staff know the "regulars" and treat guests with courtesy and professionalism. Same is true at the front desk. My corner suite was beautiful, with a ton of space, a huge bath, sitting area, great desk space and a comfy bed. The views are decent -- it is Philly after all -- but I would recommend a higher floor. Free WiFi in a high-end hotel is much appreciated and way too rare. The local area offers a beautiful park to walk in or have a seat. Many dining options as well. I have stayed elsewhere in town and the Rittenhouse deserves superlatives.

Room Tip: Higher floor has better views. Park side is nice but I looked west at the building with the giant ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Dave,

We truly appreciate your observations regarding the arrival experience and overall feel of the property here at the Rittenhouse. Please be sure to come back soon to experience our new spa, salon and health club; opening later this summer. This 11,500 sq ft newly built space is destined to be the best in Philadelphia, if not the east coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,278 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#23 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,535 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Property: The Rittenhouse Hotel
Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing