We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Great rooms & service. Park across the street is an oasis with huge shade trees. Gorgeous views from our room. Very attentive and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet sub par for such a high end hotel. Not a 5 because of the restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for letting us and others know about your experience at the Rittenhouse. We are very proud of our offerings in Lacroix and elsewhere in the hotel but are always looking for ways to enhance and/or improve. Please feel free to contact me directly to give us ideas on what you would like to see offered and know that you are never limited to what is presented on a buffet. We happily accommodate special requests and preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    124
    41
    14
    8
See reviews for
185
256
36
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
199 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely hotel with very nice staff. We were upgraded to a park view suite which was great and even had a kitchen with a washer/ dryer which was a convenient bonus as we had been traveling a while already. Rooms are very traditional. Technology felt a little dated but internet never went down! They really keep things working and in good condition even thought they are older. Bathrooms are quite small but well equipped with good amenities. Bed was comfortable. Again, reflective of an older style. Spa was closed for renovation when we were there but there was a temporary gym set up. I would return when next in Philly for the location and the service, even though we typically prefer a bit more modern, fresher feel.

Room Tip: Try to get a park view
See more room tips
Green Features: option to hang towels if you don't need to wash them
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripindicular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for joining us. Our "old world" is indeed getting newer with upgrades continuously happening. Next up will be our entirely new spa, salon and health club due to open by the end of summer. Please do check back as the majority of our rooms have been refreshed or are newly built, like our Park Suites. We appreciate your business and taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for a recruiting event. The hotel is ridiculously luxurious. Rooms are extremely comfortable and the staff is attentive. Plenty of great restaurants both in the hotel and steps away in Rittenhouse Square.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
The Rittenhouse is a wonderful place for a weeding or any special occasion. Our rooms are large enough ( the biggest in the market) to entertain in or simply unwind. We train every day on how best to personalize your experience so thank you for noticing. We look forward to having you back sometime soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
Level Contributor
273 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was here overnight for a wedding and got an upgraded room overlooking the park on the front. Room had a lovely sitting area for two as I thought I might have a guest in. Outstanding comfort. Bed was super comfy. A makeup area in addition to the bathroom. Service was with a smile everywhere. Whoever trains staff does an outstanding job. Very pleased with everything and I would definitely return again. It was expensive though but worth it I thought!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Philadelphia! Thank you very much for you visit and wonderful review. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you back at the Rittenhouse soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've stayed in probably over a hundred hotels in my lifetime. I have never paid this much for a room, but I have never had such an incredible room either. If you're rich- not wealthy, but rich stay here. This hotel will meet every standard you could ever think of. I'm pretty sure I was on the same level as those in third world countries in comparison to everyone else in that hotel. I paid almost $800 for one night. I had two bedrooms, a living room, fifty bathrooms, a dining room- that hotel room is bigger than my house. But wow, I paid $800 for one night. Great centralized location. Valet parking for my dated chevrolet equinox. If you're rich, stay at this hotel. But then again, if you're that rich why are you on Trip Adviser and not Forbes?

Room Tip: Take out a second mortgage.
See more room tips
Green Features: I thought the price I paid included solar panels to take home, but I guess they ran out.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Michael,

Regardless of which room type you choose, we are very happy to have you with us and you can be assured we will always strive to provide you with a personalized experience. Our suites do command a higher rate than our superior or deluxe rooms but even our most reasonably priced rooms are well appointed and ample in size, starting at 500 sq ft. Please check our website for seasonal offerings and feel free to contact me directly if you would like a tour in order to see all the options available to you.

Thank you so much for choosing The Rittenhouse and taking the time to tell others about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Waht an experience. This is a beutiful hotel. Nicely furnished, generous sapce. On the top of all of that, amazing staff. Excellent service. This is truly classic, whit glove 5-satr hotel. I would definitely comne back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srinala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Your feedback and review are truly appreciated. Please be sure to stay with us whenever your travels bring you to Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have heard great things about the Rittenhouse for many years but never had the opportunity to stay there during my visits to Philadelphia. I just finished a 2-day stay at the Rittenhouse and I must say that it is everything that I had been told—a very nice, very attentive stay. The things that stand out about the Rittenhouse experience are the friendly accommodating staff, the large, well-appointed rooms and a perfect location within Philadelphia. First, the neighborhood is wonderful. The hotel sits right in Rittenhouse Square with a very nice park right in front of the hotel. More importantly, there are a number of very nice shops, restaurants and neighborhood window shopping to be had all within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are extremely large for hotels and nicely designed. There are separate sitting, bed and desk areas. I am a business traveller and use the hotel room for work. The desk is situated in a window alcove of the room with a number of the modern connections for the workstation of the business traveller which are well located for easy accessibility within the desk area. The carpet and furniture are of exceptionally high quality--- much higher than typical quality at high-end hotels. The only negative is that the furniture is starting to show its age and wear with several nicks apparent in the wood. The beds are very comfortable with high quality linen. It was a very comfortable sleep and the hotel rooms are very quiet. I never heard any exterior or hallway noise. The bathrooms are quite spacious, marbled from top to bottom with separate shower and bathtub. A particularly nice feature is that the room has two separate thermostat controls for separate zones of the room. The desk area, which sits in a windowed alcove corner of the room, has the potential to have a different temperature from the remainder of the room because it is an a windowed corner. However, this potential issue has been thoughtfully preempted by a very well-considered air conditioning design. Another feature which is a nice touch is that with turn down service, the curtains in the rooms are pulled closed and slippers and chocolates are set up right at bedside side. On the third floor of the hotel is an all suites area. Finally, the attention to service is really what sets the hotel apart. Every hotel employee is extremely friendly, extremely accommodating from the moment you arrive at the hotel. Among the several hotels which I have stayed in Philadelphia, the Rittenhouse is now at the top of my list. I must say its reputation which I had been told about over the years is definitely deserved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ByronDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Great to have you as new and soon to be return guest. Our rooms and location are trumped only by the service our team of dedicated professionals execute every day. Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell others about The Rittenhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#27 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Property: The Rittenhouse Hotel
Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star and AAA Five Diamond award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (26 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing