We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and center city location, reasonably priced package for 4th of July weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over the 4th of July weekend. We received an excellent room rate which included valet parking. Internet access was complimentary. The water pressure in the shower was super. The hallways were quiet. The valet and front desk staff were friendly and helped make the stay very pleasant. One minor disappointment was the bed pillows. They were flat as pancakes! I usually sleep with 1 pillow at home and I required 3 here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large. You should be satisfied, even with a standard room.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 4happyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for joining us over the Independence Day holiday. We strive to be excellent in every area and will take a close look at our pillow inventory. We feature various types and sizes and will ensure that all are the best available. Please come back and see us whenever you are in Philadelphia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Elegant, classic, clean rooms. Helpful and friendly staff. In the heart of Philadelphia within close distance to every attraction. Staff was always helpful and friendly whether it was for a restaurant reservation, advanced order of a taxi, recommendations on nightlife. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Rooms facing the park are beautiful n
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DebPete1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We aim to please and clearly hit the mark with your recent visit... Thank you so much for telling others about your Rittenhouse experience and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Every time I stay at this hotel, I wish I could spend more time there. It is a wonderful place, with a nice quiet space off from the lobby for reading and relaxing. NIce courtyard in the back. Minutes away from whatever you want to do in Philly, with a lot of things in walking distance. The service is outstanding from the time you drive up to the hotel until you check out. I was made to feel as if I was the only guest in the hotel. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I had a large room with a king-sized bed, large bath with separate tub and shower. It was a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Almalittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We work every day on trying to personalize our service. It is heartening to hear that you felt as if you were our only guest because that is precisely what we are aiming for.. Please consider us your home away from home in Philadelphia and thank you for choosing the Rittenhouse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spend 4th of July in Philadelphia and had chosen The Rittenhouse because of the many positive comments. We stayed in a city viewing king size room, very spacious, perfect bed, nice bathroom, all very clean and well kept (and even had a view on the fireworks from our window!). Highly attentive staff and great location very central at Rittenhouse Square. We were extremely pleased with our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann2013Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Please be sure to join us at other times of the year as well...We always look for new ways to show off our location and access to the heart of Philadelphia. Thank you so much for telling others about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed this weekend and found the hotel to be as others have noted, very good indeed. I stayed in a park view room. Comfortable bed, spacious room (even without the separate living room that the larger suites have), nice bathroom, very attentive staff, nice decor, very good restaurant, and good location. From the doormen to the restaurant staff, everyone was eager to please without over doing it. I wish the spa was open but I knew that when I booked the room. Will give me reason to return.

Room Tip: Choose a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G Keith W, Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Highly Attentive:

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay. In particular I am happy to see you noticed our committment to sustainability and our responsible Earth View Program.

In addtion I am excited to share your "shout outs" with our staff. Finally please stay in touch as we plan to launch our state of the art Ritenhouse Spa and Club, Hair by Paul Lebrecque late summer or early faill of 2014.

All the best,

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Every single hotel employee we came in contact with was friendly, pleasant, courteous, efficient and helpful!!! The Rittenhouse is one of those rare places where you sleep as soundly as you do at home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minkey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your endorsement and please let us know what we can do to earn a perfect rating from you based on your experience. We always know that as good as we try to be that we can always do better...

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

There's so much that's perfect about Rittenhouse. From the minute you arrive, the valets are very friendly as was Brian at Concierge and the front desk staff. Room we got at great wedding rate of $219 was huge with large bathroom as well. Few small issues that made it not perfect....pillows are terrible, very puffy and firm. And to flush the toilet I had to hold down on the handle for the entire time before everything got flushed down or it would stop and not flush. Everything is beautiful but it just doesn't feel like it has been thoroughally updated.
In the area, enjoyed the walk along the river to the museum area followed by yummy brunch at Rembrandts and then excellent self guided tour at the Eastern State Penitentiary.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

It is good to hear that you had a pleasant visit to The Rittenhouse. We continue to upgrade in every area and will unveil our new spa and salon very soon. Please know that we have both firm and soft as well as down and hypoallergenic pillows available on request. Please feel free to let us know your preference so we may note it in you guest history. This was we will have this in place for you every visit.

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,392 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#23 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £272 - £691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing