We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Upon arrival we were notified our room was not ready -- 15-20 minute wait. No biggie, we waited in the bar with the drink vouchers they gave us. My boyfriend and I decided to order dinner while we were there. Dinner took an absurd amount of time to arrive and there was one bartender working a packed bar on a Saturday evening. After about 45 minutes at the bar my boyfriend checked on the room. He was given a key, only to go to the room and discover the housekeeper still cleaning. He returned to the bar and we finished our dinner.

Went back to the room after dinner to discover a DISGUSTING bathroom. We called the concierge and were assured someone would be up momentarily -- after we waited another 30 minutes my boyfriend went to the front desk to see what was the hold up. They told him to change rooms however while he was downstairs the maid arrived and cleaned our bathroom (lack of communication). The maid told me that she didn't know why we were checked into that room because it hadnt' been checked for cleanliness. While they were switched our rooms they disabled our current rooms key and we were told our new key would be brought to the room.. the key never arrived.. once again we had to go downstairs. Our housekeeper mentioned getting us a voucher for complimentary breakfast.. we practically had to beg for it.

While having the complimentary breakfast the next morning, my boyfriend found a hair in his food. This could have happened anywhere but this was icing on the cake.

I sent an e-mail to customer service almost two weeks ago and have no heard anything back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ABB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear 4ABB,
Thank you for your response. I was most disappointed to hear that you had an unsatisfactory experience with us on your recent visit to the Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia.

We like to promote a high standard of quality and I am deeply apologetic that your experience did not reflect this. I can clearly see from your feedback that the service and product you received was unacceptable. I completely understand after hearing about the issues you had, why you would be disappointed.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback and I do hope that you will try us again in the future.

Thank you, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    757
    259
    109
    75
See reviews for
368
691
149
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed previously at the Raddison Blu prior to the completion of the recent renovations and the renovations are a great improvement. The lobby and rooms are modern and well furnished. The room was comfortable and clean. In addition to the stylish room and lobby, we were politely received by the front desk staff at our very late arrival check-in. The hotel is in a great location in Philadelphia, and is walking distance to great restaurants, pubs, and shopping. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room away from elevator traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlightRisk107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear FlightRisk107,
Glad to have you back! Yes, we are so pleased with the "new" look of the Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel - thank you for helping us tell others about it! We hope to see you again soon.
Have a great weekend and take care,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Radisson Blu and found the location to be its best feature. The first room we checked into was small, cramped and stuffy with views of the HVAC system. Due to mechanical issues, we were haltingly re-assigned to another room in the middle of the night by the front desk. We found the differences in room quality to be substantial. Parking/valet system is inefficient and chaotic. If given a choice, I would recommend other hotels in the area as pricing and amenities are relatively similar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear TravD
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia I apologize for the air conditioning issue you experienced at this hotel and having to relocate accommodations during your stay.

If your travel plans bring you back to Philadelphia, please let me know as I would like to personally handle your reservation. We would appreciate the opportunity of a return visit.
Enjoy your weekend.
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
558 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Don't get us wrong - four stars is a very good rating, but to qualify for five stars one has to go above and beyond, which presently is not the case with Warwick Blu.
There are quite a few great things about the hotel. Location is superb; it is right by the Rittenhouse Square and practically in the middle of everything, but at the same time the area is less crowded and less noisy (compared to other centrally located Philadelphia hotels).
Secondly, the rates are the best available for comparable hotels in the area. Then you get a free Wi-Fi with a decent reception, and free coffee and tea supplies in the rooms (something that many hotels have been recently nickel'ing and dime'ing its guests for) and even a small free bottle of water in the room, placed in every morning. The rooms are of a very good size; our room on the seventh floor was very quite, the windows giving on Locust Street. The walk-in closet is one of the biggest we ever encountered at hotels, though we do agree with other reviewers that some of this space could have been used for a bigger bathroom; yet the spacious closet is a plus.
Then the lobby and hallways and elevators have been remodeled and redesigned in a very creative and 'cool' way. The lobby is very impressive - please refer to the pictures we took.
The minuses are very few and insignificant. The sink and its table - as noted by other reviewers - offer limited space for one's toiletries and are a bit uncomfortable; the position of the toilet paper holder is equally sub-optimal.
The service is good, but average good, no special attention was given or felt.
The breakfast choices at the adjacent Tavern 17 are decent, both a la carte and the buffet options; the prices are reasonable.
The valet service is only $4 more than the area's parking garages, so we would recommend you use the valet service if coming by car.
All and all, we would definitely recommend Warwick Blu, hoping the management keeps working on further improvements.

Room Tip: Our seventh floor room facing Locust St was very good and quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotels does follow the environmentally-friendly practices, but then 99% of today's hotels doo too.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear RGSOUNDF,
Thank you for your comments.
I am just getting to some of my emails and I want you to know that I read your comment when it arrived in my email, but have not had time until now to respond. I sincerely apologize for the delay in my response.

I did discuss your response with our team in detail and I appreciate the detail that you shared.
If your travels bring you back to Philadelphia, please reach out to me so I can personally handle your reservation.

Take care,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I just checked out of The Radisson Blu Warwick less than 12 hours ago. The hotel is a mixed bag. On one hand, the hotel was accommodating when it came to honoring my parents request for a room change. The original front desk agent who checked us in and assigned the rooms gave my parents the keys to the room intended for me and vice versa. The room they were given far from the elevator and did not have a bathtub, not ideal for my parents. But, the hotel did honor our request for a late checkout.

It was my understanding that this was supposed to be an up-scale brand for Radisson/Carlson to compete with either W or Kimpton. Carlson needs to pick a concept (trendy or boutique) and stick with it. The hotel did not have a knowledgeable concierge or staff very familiar with restaurants and attractions.

The hotel is however in a great area with easy access to tourist attractions and restaurant's.

Room Tip: does not seem to be a hotel with great view's. Not every room has a bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgelles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear jgelles7

Thank you for your comments.

I am just getting to some of my emails and I want you to know that I read your comment when it arrived in my email, but have not had time until now to respond. I sincerely apologize for the delay in my response.
I apologize for the mix up with your parent’s room and the inconvenience it caused. All rooms do have baths except for our accessible rooms.
We do pride ourselves in the service we provide our guests and would like the opportunity to re-earn your patronage. If your travels bring you back to Philadelphia, please reach out to me and I will personally handle your reservation.
Enjoy your weekend,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

With the Kimpton and Soffitel, etc. hotels down the street, the Warwick has attempted to re-make itself from the classic downtown hotel to the modern, boutique hotel. It meets this challenge with varying degrees of success. The re-done lobby and comfortable beds are great and my king room had a lot of extra space that I did not use or need (i.e. I didn't need a large walk-in closet for a 2-night stay). I wish some of the closet space had been translated to the bathroom and that the people re-doing the bathroom had actually used some of the fancy fixtures put into place-- it's little things like having to twist more to reach the toilet paper and not enough space around the sink for toiletry bags that make this hotel rate below others down the block. The service was good though and staff responded whenever I needed assistance. Additionally, you can't beat the location and reasonable rates along with the free wi-fi. As long as you know you're not getting a true boutique hotel, these things outweigh the other minor issues for me.

Room Tip: The king bedroom was quite large and more than I needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davisellu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear davisellu,
Thank you for the very nice review you posted about the Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel in Rittenhouse Square Philadelphia. I appreciate the candid remarks and also pointing out the free wi-fi and unbeatable location. I am glad that you enjoyed the new bedding product as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Have a great week!
Joanne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel! A little too expensive but i wasnt paying :-) i would recommend this place for sure! The size of our room was massive! We had two double comfortable beds and good size bathroom - both very clean and in a good general order. Lovely stuff, the cleaners were lovely and chatty :-) i would drfinitely recommend this place! The only small problem we had was with a car. My friends have just bought their brand new Audi and when we collected it on the departure the seats were sticky and we had an impression that someone had a good look through the car ... nothing was damaged or missing though :-) great stay all together!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiolakaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear wiolakaro,
Thank you from us all here at Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia for the FIVE star review! We appreciate your time and your feedback as we continue to look for ways to improve upon the guest experience in the hotel.
Have a wonderful week and we hope to see you again soon!
Take care,
Joanne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#23 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square

Property: The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Address: 220 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated. Stylish. Uniquely Philadelphia. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square is where history meets innovation and culture. This hotel is high on design and style and located in Philadelphia's most prestigious address, Rittenhouse Square. This luxury center city Philadelphia hotel is in the epicenter of boutique shopping, entertainment and many of Philadelphia's award winning restaurants. The stunning illumination and architecture in the lobby, graceful fireplaces and comfy seating areas complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel Philadelphia
Radisson Plaza Philadelphia
Radisson Philadelphia
Warwick Philadelphia
Philadelphia Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing