We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to host a family reunion”

South Mountain Reservation
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to host a family reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

South Mountain Reservation is filled with wonderful trails, nice places to relax, and great places to play sports. We held a family reunion barbeque here. My family really enjoyed the experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Netstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Best Suburban Forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Well marked primary and secondary paths. Plenty of picnic areas; waterfall; observation points with great views of New York City. Over 2000 acres to explore. Forage for berries, mushrooms, salad greens too!! Stop at doggy parks. Something to do on every boundary - zoo, ice skating, miniature golf, theater,restaurants.......

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bberbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great paths”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great paths to run and exercise. Paved and easy, some places don't let cars on so it is nice. Dog park is really good, have one for small dogs & one for large dogs.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseySchmidty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

After years of renovation this is a wonderful zoo, especially for the under 10 kids. Was there last week with my one year old grandchild. The exhibits were well done, there was lots of fun stuff for her to see. She loved her ride on the carousel We now have a family membership and look forward to our next visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank OntherunNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stretches as far as the eye can see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I love visiting South Mount Reservation. It's always well kept and now there's so much more to do. Whether you're going there for a long walk, planning a picnic or family gathering, playing a round of mini golf or taking the kids to the zoo, there's something at SMR for everyone. In the winter time, ice skating at Codey Arena is also a fun idea.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank jlindernj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Mountain Reservation also viewed

 

Been to South Mountain Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing