We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost a Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn West Orange
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Bayonne, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost a Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here as part of The Manor's "romantic getaway" package. You dine in at The Manor and then stay at the Residence for 1 night. First let me say that lobby is beautiful, the room was nice, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean. Didn't have the breakfast this time. The hotel is convenient for those dining at The Manor. I had 1 problem with this Residence Inn - they should allow you to add on a day or 2 to your package. My husband & I come here for our wedding anniversary almost every year (since 2003). We called up the front desk until 9am the day of checkout to try & book just 1 more night. We were told "completed booked" or "call back tomorrow", or "we should have cancellations"(b/c of Hurricane Irene). We were willing to pay more until we check-out & they extend someone else stay for ONE MORE NIGHT right in front of us. After we told the front desk AGAIN, & they apologized(sort of) they offered us 1 more night without any discount, anything. We told them we got a room at another Residence (less than 10 miles) for almost 50% cheaper (which we did). We were quickly told sorry that's our rate & have a nice day. It's sad b/c I love Marriott brand hotels, but don't know if I'll be coming backing to this one.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebxs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    84
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
94
46
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

If you need to stay at a hotel in this area, this is it. Though it is a little on the higher side for rates, it is well worth it. We stayed here when our son got married at The Manor, next door. It was so convenient to the wedding, that in itself made things so much easier. We found all of the employees that work there pleasant and very helpful. I would have loved to stay there longer just to appreciate the area. So many different room setups was great for family coming from out of the area.

Room Tip: rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerbooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

With 5 of us adults, we got a 2 bedroom suite. While the price might seem high, we felt we were in a luxury hotel. And with 10 meals between us (manager's special of baked ziti, 2 kinds of pizza, salad, cheesecake, soft drinks or wine or beer on the evening we were there; huge breakfast the next morning), the money we saved on food made up for the higher than typical price. I've stayed in dozens of Residence Inns and I had to tell my friends that this one is not typical. A Residence Inn usually doesn't have such a huge room for breakfast and manager dinners, a billiard room, a bar area, and a library, it is more typical to have the indoor pool, big workout room, etc. which were also in the building.
The Bay Street train station in Montclair just 8 minutes away. You can park in the lot at Bay Street for just $5 a night and hop a train (25-30 minutes) to Penn Station in NYC. The tickets are just $6.75 and you save the $50-$60 per night parking charge you would have in the city. Any question you have about the parking system--there is a number to call. Only the first 60 spots on the first floor are for overnight parkers--we were told they might be taken be taken by noon, but we found one last spot. If you park on an upper level like my daughter mistakenly did recently, you will get a HUGE parking fine, so if in question--they have a phone number handy. After the morning rush, the trains run into the city every hour, until the later rush hour.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChautauquaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here in June 2011. We were married at The Manor 2 years ago and go back for our anniversaries. This year, we wanted to stay onsite at the Marriott. The location is ideal for patrons of The Manor. The hotel is lovely (it is modeled after The Manor in a sense). The staff is exceptional.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milena229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed here for almost a week for family visits, and had a wonderful experience. Not sure what the bad reviews in here are about in regards to staffing issues, but the employees we encountered during our stay were courteous, helpful, and friendly. The kids enjoyed the free breakfasts (large selection, standard for Residence Inns across the country) and we took advantage of the afternoon free dinners Mondays through Thursdays. We had a two-bedroom suite and it was more than ample for our needs. The sheets were soft, the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was decent, everything was clean. The only thing that I would add is beware of large wedding parties booking up huge blocks of rooms, leaving you with slim pickings. Large wedding parties tend to be loud as well.....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyLePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, IA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Our family was in town for a wedding. We were very happy with our stay. Beautiful hotel and property. Very clean. Good breakfast. Friendly and accommodating staff. They gave us a very nice military discount also.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, US
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed here 1 night with my wife and teenaged daughter. This is one of the most beautiful and elegant Residence Inns I have ever stayed in. Having said that the staff appeared overworked and bored. The complimentary breakfast reminds me of an old saying, "Nothing free is ever good". Finally it is way overpriced when compared with its competitors.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriniNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
5.6 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn West Orange

Property: Residence Inn West Orange
Address: 107 Prospect Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-4202
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange is an ideal choice among hotels in West Orange, NJ for business and leisure travel. We offer a comfortable home away from home, centrally located in the heart of West Orange and near many area attractions including Montclair State University and Wellmont Theater. Our West Orange, NY hotel is pet friendly and is an all-suite hotel boasting unique design and decor. We make it easy for guests to relax while traveling for work or pleasure, offering cozy guest suites and many enjoyable public spaces. When you stay with us at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, you will be able to sleep, work, and entertain in your suite and have productive experiences in the public areas of our hotel. We provide you with complimentary Wi-Fi, ergonomic work areas, and a daily free hot breakfast to start your day the right way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing