We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel I ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms are elegantly decorated with beautiful furniture, grass cloth wall paper. The almost look like a gentleman's club. The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and marble counter tops. The staff is very friendly and efficient. They have an excellent breakfast buffet and buffet supper most nights. I stayed there over 20 times.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    83
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
92
45
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East, Maryland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were in town for a local wedding and chose this Hotel over the rest because it was a Residence Inn. It was convenient, extremely comfortable, not terribly expensive and located in an ideal location for our trip. Door to door was 4 miles and on the same road. Breakfast in the morning was hot and the selection was very nice. Its what we expect from Residence Inn's and the Marriott Brand.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandview, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our 2nd stay at this location and we were once again very pleased overall. After a couple of minor cleaning issues we settled in for an 8 day stay. The complementary breakfasts are complete and always delicious with many choices. Monday-Wednesday evenings have a light snack available in the dining room. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Décor is slightly dated but in good taste. The property is next to a beautiful golf course and the grounds are beautifully landscaped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My most recent stay, JUNE1-92014,was very last minute .I was fortunate, that with just a one hour lead!..the hotel was able to accomodate my room request.
I had just flown into the state,got my rental car, and immediately went to the hospital .My beloved Uncle was very ill. We had no idea just how serious his health crisis was.
I was able to make flight arrangements, and a rental car...and NEVER thought about where will I stay!...
When I called the hotel,I was told ,my suite would be ready when i arrived.
I never thought about the room again.
THE ENTIRE STAFF WAS OUTSTANDING. Each day they asked about my Unlce.The KINDNESS they offered me was overwhelming...Strangers, made me feel welcomed,as a friend. One night I got back from the hospital at 3:00AM. I was so tired. I just parked the car at the front door.I told the desk clerk I just had to leave the car. I was exhausted. And, he said" No problem. Welcome home.Rest comfortably and don't worry about the car."...I really did cry when I got to my room.
EVERYONE WAS SO KIND.
My Uncle died a few days later. And, I was left making arrangements for my family.Flights, car rentals, Again, the staff was just so KIND. Another room was secured.
The wonderful front desk staff, made me copies of my Uncles obit. They gave me tissues and bottles of water the day of the funeral.
THE KINDNESS WAS OVERWHELMING.
I have been a 'regular'client of this hotel*, and, without hesitation will stay here again...Hopefully for happier times.
*My daughter and I were here for a 3 day business trip in April.
The BREAKFASTS are wonderful.There is always a terrific selection of foods to enjoy.
The managers light dinners TUESDAY, WEDNESDAY and THURSDAY provide good food and drinks.The atmosphere is 'family' 'professional' FRIENDLY.
Housekeeping has been excellent.The staff always does a wonderful job .The room is cleaned, refreshed.Any items that I have requested be stocked, has always been in the fridge, waiting for me!...
STAY HERE. YOU WILL HAVE A FEELING OF ..."WELCOME HOME".

Room Tip: All of the ROOMS are GREAT ROOMS! However, my favorite rooms are in the BACK of the hotel facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shop4u18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The staff at this Inn is the most friendly I have come across in all my 45 years of traveling. Especially Pilar, who greets you coming and going and makes you feel like family. The hotel itself is extremely clean and well kept, The housekeeping staff cleans the rooms very thoroughly every day; I thought the hotel was new because of the great physical condition it is in. All in all it is a very comfortable place to stay and highly recommended. One last note, the Lobster Buffet at The Manor next store is outstanding and a value at $49. Wed thru Sat, I think.

Room Tip: The one bedrooms are roomy and have plenty of closet space. Corner suites are large and sunny High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidden Hills
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went to NJ for a family event and stayed at the Residence Inn in West Orange, NJ for seven nights. The first night we were in a room right above the entry way and it was slightly noisy. I went to the front desk and a lady by the name of Carol was most helpful in moving us to an inside room that was very quiet. The hotel has a breakfast every morning and I was able to bring food back to the room for my wife who is slightly informed. The breakfast were very good. We also enjoyed that all the rooms are suites, which gave us plenty of room. I would stay in this hotel again for any trip to the NJ area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I just finished a long term stay at this hotel. We were there for just under 6 months following some damage to our home. We had several options for housing but after visiting the hotel and being shown around by Pilar from the front desk, we knew it was the place for us.
The staff could not have been friendlier and more accommodating. We were made to feel welcome every day. Not only did the staff welcome us as we returned from work but wished us a good day every morning. After being there for such a long time, we got to know all by name. Our accommodations were perfect for our situation. The kitchenette and separate bedroom made it feel like and apartment rather than a hotel.
The meals during the week and breakfast every morning were a plus. The dining room staff worked incredibly hard for the guests. This was not always under the best of circumstances. My wife and I observed guests who were down right rude. As I said, we were there long term and these folks became like family. Please keep that in mind when traveling. The staff is there for you but they should be respected.
The staff at the hotel were excellent during our stay and we had no issues. I hesitate to mention them by name as they were all so helpful. Evenings at the on site bar were great for unwinding and meeting other guests. Unfortunately the bartender is a Rangers fan and things haven't been going well for him but we remain hopeful.
We made it through the winter at the hotel and now that the weather is improving, they offer barbeques and a firepit. Again, another amenity that makes it homey. I can't believe I used the term homey but that best describes it.
I would refer out of town family or friends to this property. The property is clean (thank you housekeeping staff), friendly and comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms that have a kitchette and separate bedroom if there for an extended stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseycpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.6 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
Address: 107 Prospect Avenue, West Orange, NJ 07052
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange is an ideal choice among hotels in West Orange, NJ for business and leisure travel. We offer a comfortable home away from home, centrally located in the heart of West Orange and near many area attractions including Montclair State University and Wellmont Theater. Our West Orange, NY hotel is pet friendly and is an all-suite hotel boasting unique design and decor. We make it easy for guests to relax while traveling for work or pleasure, offering cozy guest suites and many enjoyable public spaces. When you stay with us at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, you will be able to sleep, work, and entertain in your suite and have productive experiences in the public areas of our hotel. We provide you with complimentary Wi-Fi, ergonomic work areas, and a daily free hot breakfast to start your day the right way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing