We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay, Good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Hewlett, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Service was friendly and competent; facility was clean and comfortable. Nice firm bed. Nicely presented breakfast. Internet a bit spotty in guest rooms.. Enjoyed our stay. Very convenient location. Easy access to parkways. Near dining.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank maddi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Maddi , Thank you for your recent review of our hotel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    46
    33
    21
    19
See reviews for
66
23
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Twp, NJ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Easy check in, informative on the area, clean room, great shower outstanding breakfast, good workout, ease of internet use, easy check out , great stay, impressed with the staff and their appearance, in the area this would be my first choice

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear John , Thank You for your review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Billerica, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

For a reasonable priced hotel the above hotel is very clean Great flat screen tv updated krump coffee maker for individual fresh coffee in your room, expanded hot and cold breakfast which is free . The owners are hands on and very friendly along with their staff. I make it a point that if I have business in the area this is where I'm staying .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Ed , Thank You for your review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel, with a more-than-adequate complimentary breakfast, quiet rooms (even on the front, where the street is busy), and friendly hosts is a good stop-over hotel for a quick weekend visit with relatives or friends. It is tidy, and offers limited amenities but does have some workout equipment and a pool.

The exterior is well-illuminated for after-dark arriving and leaving, and the facilities are well-arranged for handicap access, if that is a concern.

The rooms are a bit dark for my taste, and when the prevailing decor is dark brown, it makes me wonder whether the intent is to save on carpet and bedcover cleaning costs--since any of that may otherwise be readily visible to the unscrupulous eye.

Room Tip: I didn't rate the pool because I didn't use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarose1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank You for you recent review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Orange hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

very clean, comfortable room, excellent service. the room was more expensive than i would expect from a BW hotel, a local discount made the room affordable. we had other plans for breakfast so didn't take advantage of the complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is very old, the smell of the rooms and the lobby is terrible. If you can please avoid this hotel. There is a lake nearby where strolling is ok. I guess that should be enough for now. The two hundred characters seem to be too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gyorgy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribbean
Level Contributor
248 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

the hotel is small, comfortable, the girl at the lobby was so nice, when we checked in, very accomodating, very helpful with everything, is well located, especially if you are visiting your kids at seton hall university, they should have someone helping with lugagge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank rosannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Rosannar , Thank you for your review. Sometimes it is not practical for us to have someone there to help with luggage , At the time of your arrival we were in the process of changing shifts and our night porter had not arrived yet. We do provide a luggage cart for guest use. In the future if you are arriving late with a lot of luggage , just call ahead and we will make sure that someone is there to help with luggage. If you plan on coming back call us directly to get the Seton Hall University discount . Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
3.2 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Newark
Comfort Suites Newark
#13 of 16 in Newark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Address: 555 Northfield Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-2426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 17 miles from New York City and close to all the exciting West Orange attractions, the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn offers friendly customer service, exceptional amenities and affordable rates for visitors staying in West Orange, New Jersey. Staying at this charming West Orange, New Jersey hotel means that you'll receive excellent customer service, cozy accommodations and affordable rates, in addition to easy access to key area attractions. The Turtle Back Zoo, Edison National Historic, South Mountain Recreation Complex, Codey Arena, St. Barnabas Hospital, Manor Restaurant, Prudential Center and New Meadowlands Stadium are all just a short drive away. Guests also have the option of taking a short day trip into New York City, just 17 miles away, to visit world famous sites. Seton Hall and Rutgers University are also close by the hotel, which makes the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn the perfect place to stay while visiting students or exploring campuses. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will find that each recently renovated guest room comes complete with all the comforts of home, including pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this West Orange hotel also include a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast each morning, guest laundry and an on-site coffee shop. Corporate guests traveling to the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will also appreciate the convenience of this West Orange hotel's business services and close proximity to area businesses, including Merck, Prudential, ADP and AT&T. Ready for an unforgettable and fun-filled vacation in West Orange, New Jersey? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turtle Brook Hotel West Orange
Best Western West Orange
West Orange Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing