We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely renovated, convenient roadside hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated, convenient roadside hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

I stayed here before when it was not affiliated with Best Western. Was glad to see it has been nicely renovated with tasteful modern classic furniture in the rooms, spotless bathrooms with granite counters, refrigerators, and really comfortable beds. The service was pleasant (they even give you a cookie when you check it), and there are nice perks like the morning breakfast and free internet in the lobby (a little slow but it works). I think there is wi-fi in the rooms but I'm not totally sure. They were also accommodating about giving us a quieter location (would recommend a second floor room facing away from the street.) My only quibble is that the building itself has a bit of a mildewy odor (pre-dating the renovation) which can't be helped. Overall a nice value and good place to stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    46
    33
    21
    19
See reviews for
66
23
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Excellent choice. buffet breakfast. coffee/tea, bagles,facilities on tap 24/7.as well as coffee maker in room. Room spacious with 2 double beds. Open plan breakfast room leading from reception which can also be used as a kitchen at night with a microwave available. Internet station(2 computers) available at no extra charge which was a bonus to us. Staff very friendly & courteous and none more so than the proprietors Brian & Paula who went out of their way to help two Irish guys. We stayed 5 days and have to say
our business was quite stressful but this hotel was so laid back we really didn't notice.
NewYork express bus stops right outside for a 40 min ride to the "Big Apple" if you don't wish to be in the middle of the ' hustle&bustle ' (unfortunately we didn't get to sample it on this occasion). For those who have kids,the hotel is located directly across the road from a zoo. All in all we had a terrific stay and it was the first time in all the hotels we've stayed in that we got a "hug " from the owner on departure !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

The room was tastefully decorated, clean and quiet. Great, comfortable beds. Everything in the room worked fine. Plenty of towels, etc.. Breakfast options were plentiful and varied, though that experience could be further enhanced by tuning out the Fox News channel. Staff was helpful and friendly. Convenient location. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, MD
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

I would definitely stay there again. My wife was at a conference at Seton Hall so I and my 6 month old daughter spent most of the week at the hotel. The staff was very friendly. We felt very safe there as this was our first stay in this part of New Jersey. The breakfast was continental and good. The bagels were great. You can make your own waffles on their griddle. We got a discount since we were doing something with Seton Hall University.

The best part of the hotel is the small places to eat up the street within walking distance. There is great chinese food, pizza and an out of this world deli. It was so convenient that we could walk there. The beds are very comfortable. The TV is nice. And it's great because you feel so safe and they bake you cookies every night.

The bad parts are that its not the newest hotel. But that did not bother us. We did find a bug in the room. And they could've told us that a cable guy was coming around to do something to the TV. That was somewhat unnerving. And we blew a fuse in the room.

All in all in, it was a good experience!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdpst44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

This hotel has the most comfortable beds of any hotel I have ever stayed in. I am not kidding! The bathrooms were a little on the small side, but very clean with large towels. The staff was great. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to the west orange area.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kriscBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

This hotel is not clean! Their were bugs in the bed and bathroom. They gave us another room, but I didn't feel comfortable staying there. The owners of the hotel were very pushing and fast talkers. I don't recommend this place.

Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RocketStar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Orange hotels

Deal, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

The place is basically a motel that's got a new coat of paint and a new carpet. The rooms smell a little funky but you get used to it after awhile. The breakfast area is fine (bagels, waffles). There was no orange juice left when we went down to eat, and the FOX News blasting throughout the breakfast area. The fitness center has some machines but they're hard to figure out and the room is tiny. Basically, it seems that the place did the minimum to become a Best Western affiliate. If you have to stay here, I'd say it's fine. But I might check out some alternatives first.

  • Liked — TV
  • Disliked — Room smell
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ethan045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
3.2 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Newark
Comfort Suites Newark
#13 of 16 in Newark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Address: 555 Northfield Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-2426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 17 miles from New York City and close to all the exciting West Orange attractions, the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn offers friendly customer service, exceptional amenities and affordable rates for visitors staying in West Orange, New Jersey. Staying at this charming West Orange, New Jersey hotel means that you'll receive excellent customer service, cozy accommodations and affordable rates, in addition to easy access to key area attractions. The Turtle Back Zoo, Edison National Historic, South Mountain Recreation Complex, Codey Arena, St. Barnabas Hospital, Manor Restaurant, Prudential Center and New Meadowlands Stadium are all just a short drive away. Guests also have the option of taking a short day trip into New York City, just 17 miles away, to visit world famous sites. Seton Hall and Rutgers University are also close by the hotel, which makes the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn the perfect place to stay while visiting students or exploring campuses. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will find that each recently renovated guest room comes complete with all the comforts of home, including pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this West Orange hotel also include a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast each morning, guest laundry and an on-site coffee shop. Corporate guests traveling to the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will also appreciate the convenience of this West Orange hotel's business services and close proximity to area businesses, including Merck, Prudential, ADP and AT&T. Ready for an unforgettable and fun-filled vacation in West Orange, New Jersey? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turtle Brook Hotel West Orange
Best Western West Orange
West Orange Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing