We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I'll be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at this property recently as I was in town for a business meeting. I truly enjoyed my visit here. All the staff members were welcoming and accomodating. During my check-in, the gal at the front desk (I think her name was Tanisha) was multi-tasking like crazy as the phone was ringing and guests were asking questions at the desk. However, she made everyone feel valued and important. The room was spacious, bed comfortable, and decor was lovely. This hotel has clearly put effort into a "green initiative" and I appreciated the recycle bins and even the eco-friendly toilet paper. Very nice bath products in the room as well as Wolfgang Puck coffee. The hotel just put a new coffee machine in the lobby that offers complimentary cappucino and other selections. This was a nice touch! The included breakfast was average - on par with similiar hotels. It met my needs.

I had dinner at Primavera within the hotel. The food was excellent and I would recommend it to other guests.

Overall, this was a great choice for my overnight business trip. I have stayed at other local hotels in the past, but this is my new favorite. I will be back for more meetings and plan to stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Elizabethqueen,

Thank you for posting this terrific review on TripAdvisor and especially for understanding how busy we can get at check in time. I will be sure to reward Tanisha for her abilities and I am thrilled that you noticed our "green initiatives" which we're proud to have executed this year. Our mission to reduce our own carbon foot print is in fact alive & well. We have also just reduced our incandescent lighting output by 40% by changing to LED's in our catering center and are now working on our guestrooms and corridors. Thank you for noticing the extras we believe set us apart from the big box brands that we compete with. Regarding breakfast being average, though acceptable - it's simply not good enough for me and we'll continue to create and add baked fresh items that will stir up the taste buds and create more excitement when starting our day.

Thank you VERY much!

Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    111
    42
    24
    20
See reviews for
158
91
33
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting friends in the area, and really enjoyed it. The room was quiet, spacious and very comfortable; the staff was friendly and helpful; and the breakfast (included in the room rate) was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Robert W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review with TripAdvisor and Easytobook.com. My team and I truly appreciate your kind comments and we gauge our service execution success closely with these ratings. I have taken the liberty to send you a suite upgrade certificate for your next trip in appreciation for your wonderful review and for becoming a true fan!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed in the Wilshire Grand for a wedding. The hotel is small but the rooms are huge. The bathroom was elegant with all the amenities. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was quiet. The large big screen TV was also great. The complimentary breakfast was a surprise with waffles, breakfast sandwiches, bagels, croissants, juices, coffees, cappuccinos, lattes, hot chocolate. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I heard from another guest that there is a gym, but I didn't see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saturncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Saturncmc,

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review and for boasting about our service offerings. I have truly tried to personally offer all the comforts of home to our terrific guests and am always seeking advice and suggestions on what we can do better. It appears we need to better map out where our fitness room is and what we have which includes weights, cardio, large screen HDTV, cold bottled water and fresh towels for our guests. Please let me know when you will be returning so I may give you a personal tour of our fitness and the American Yoga Academy facilities!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The customer service experience of both Amanda and Diane were extremely uplifting; these ladies treated me very well and understood the value proposition of the hotel. What added to my great experience was the succulent and deliciously favorable food I encountered on a daily and maximal basis. Indeed, Amanda and Diane have gone out of their way to show guests what it means to live the high life.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Jason K,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! I will be sure to thank our team members personally for helping make your stay a truly memorable visit. When you return please let me know in advance so I may extend my gratitude by offering a suite upgrade on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern US
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

First the positives - Room was spacious. We appreciated the fridge and microwave. The desk staff was very helpful and the location was convenient for buses into NYC. Kids would love the giant fish tank with large turtles. The attached restaurant (Primavera) is really excellent. I really liked the little recycling bin in the guest room.

But the hotel was not grand or particularly luxurious. I think it needs a bit of updating. It was not on a par with other Stash hotels we have stayed in in the Northwest. The bedding was very simple, mattress was just OK, sheets were a bit "pilled". I don't expect a lot from a free breakfast, but this used very cheap ingredients and was well below the standards of a Hampton Inn. (For example, Hampton Inn has many choices of tea. Wilshire Grand had only Lipton tea bags.) The coffee was not good. The only hot item the first morning was some kind of sausage rolls wrapped in plastic wrap. The cranberry "juice" tasted like Kool-aid and I had to dump it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeeinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Yankeeinexile,

I thank you for your review with TripAdvisor. Being "satisfactory" is simply not good enough for my team and I however. Guests typically rave about our extensive buffet breakfast and rightfully so. We spend much time baking and selecting household name brands that are recognized immediately to achieve the consistency I desire. It appears we missed the mark from your perspective and I would truly appreciate speaking about it with you. We have four coffees available including a Colombian, espresso, cappuccino, decaf cappuccino, and a mocha along with our Lipton Tea. We also have a selection of four healthy flavored waters, all free and available twenty four hours a day to our hotel guests. I suggest the pomegranate! I think you will like this much better. Your tea idea is worthy of consideration and I have decided to test some brands to see what's preferred. Please take a moment and contact me to discuss how I can turn the satisfactory score into a future "Terrific" review. I know we can do better than satisfactory. My direct line is 862-252-8440. Please call me.

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great, grand hotel with lots of character, welcome cookies and lemonade and the rooms
were very spacious and comfortable.
The front desk was very helpful and and was a welcomed surprise.
The best part for my daughter was seeing tow "princesses" brides on their special day.Overall a very nice priceline surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taxidiataltys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Taxidiataltys,

Thanks so much for your terrific review! My team and I truly appreciate all reviews and one from a Senior Reviewer like yourself is simply that much sweeter. Thank you for letting us know how we're doing. We too are especially happy anytime we have brides and their families and friends staying with us.

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The purpose of this review is to write about Florence, the wonderfully pleasant Breakfast Hostess. After having a couple of minor glitches with the hotel, Florence truly made up for it with her genuine pleasantness and willingness to make sure that our family was well fed. We stayed for 5 nights and were treated to her presence on three mornings. One morning, I had to try on a tux (I was the best man at my best friend's wedding), and missed breakfast, but Florence wouldn't hear of it. She brought bagels and fruit for my wife and two kids and made sure that we were comfortable. In addition, she made some of the best tasting chocolate chip cookies and lemonade that I have ever tasted. I highly recommend meeting Florence from Jamaica when you stay at the WIlshire Grand. Tell her Andy sent you. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Room Tip: My one issue was that we had booked this room about 3 months prior to our stay for 5 nights. The on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear AG,

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know of your experience with us. Florence and I are both so happy to see your comments and we want you to know they are very much appreciated! We have been rated # 1 in West Orange with TripAdvisor since February 2008 thanks to friends like you that tell us about your experience. Regarding getting your room on the first floor, we should have been able to get you a higher floor and we were unable to do so. I do apologize! When you come back to the area I will see you are given preferential treatment along with a suite upgrade at no extra cost to you. Simply contact me directly to make this happen and thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
4.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
10.1 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Property: The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 50Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing