We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Orange, NJ Okay place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Property is clean, some floors are under renovation. Room was clean and spacious, the HVAC is noisy and turns on and off. Wireless internet is non existent on the 3rd floor. The front staff was curt and rude and not helpful. The restaurant attached is very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APRIL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear April A,
Thank you kindly for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is much appreciated. I'm sorry you had issues with the internet while you were here. We did reset the router once we saw this posting and I apologize that you were having issues with the wifi. Had we known while you were here we could have done it immediately to resolve that sections wifi issue. If you will be kind enough to reach out to me to discuss the matter of your dissatisfaction in detail I will extend a free night to you in the future to show you that whatever the issue was - this is not the norm for us at The Wilshire Grand Hotel and we will earn that "perfect score" with you.
Gratefully,
Ed Reagoso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

ZRG Partners had their 2014 Global Summit at The Wilshire Grand Hotel this month and I wanted to take an opportunity to let the staff there know that they did a great job making our event a success. Jac'Lynn Johnson, my Convention Services Manager was a huge help to me in the organization and execution of our program. She worked tirelessly beside me throughout the event. Thank you Jac! You were awesome! Her banquet staff, Alan, Harold, Elba and Hermann were always on top of our food and beverage service. Thanks to each of you. I really appreciate your hard work. The chef's menus were delicious and I received many positive comments on the food. Thank you Chef! Also, the folks at the front desk did a great job in checking in our guests. Thank you to Cheri and Brian. A special thanks goes out to Bill Andreorio, my Director of Sales. He was instrumental in our contract negotiations to book our program and I appreciate all of his patience with me.

The hotel itself is a beautiful venue for any wedding, convention, etc. The ballrooms are beautifully decorated with chandeliers, tasteful carpet and spacious. The guestrooms are spacious and very comfortable.

Thanks all for a great event.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marym4841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Marym4841,
We really appreciate your comments. By now it's no secret that we measure our success via our TripAdvisor ratings. We have been # 1 in West Orange since February 2008 and have held the Certificate of Excellence with TripAdvisor since 2010. I will be sure to thank and reward each team member noted in your review as I always do and I thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review!
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here for one night and found this to be a really great hotel. My room was huge and clean (spotless). The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Nice little touches were everywhere, from the way they folded the towels to water bottles left in the room. A fridge and microwave in the room is always helpful when I travel. The staff members were pleasant and the breakfast offered plenty of choices (though no gluten-free bread of any kind).
The only drawback for me was that they have a late check-in (3:00 p.m.) and my workshop began at 3:00, so I wasn't able to freshen up after having driven six hours.
In any case, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteMountainsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear WhiteMountainsF,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Your time is much appreciated. No one has ever asked for gluten free items except for on a few special occasions when we knew in advance of the guests arrival. We can and will always accommodate our guests needs when we know in advance and any one with special requirements is welcome to call me personally prior to their stay and make me aware of their needs. Now that you (and many others) know this about us, I hope to begin getting more calls so I can fulfill special requests such as this. My direct line is 862-252-8440. I thank you for alerting me to this and for letting us know how we performed.

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We really enjoyed our one-night stay. The staff were welcoming, and the room was very clean, attractive and comfortable. Nice shower, and handy to have refrigerator and microwave in room. The complementary cookies and beverages in the lobby were a nice touch. Breakfast was great - a good selection of pastries, hot and cold drinks, cereals, hot dishes, fruit, etc. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kermitbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Kermitbrit,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words. We depend on our guests real opinions and TripAdvisor verifies every one of them that gets posted to insure there are no phony ones unlike many others. Simply google it and you will see there are no others like TripAdvisor. This is why we LOVE TripAdvisor! We've been # 1 in West Orange since February 2008 thanks to guests like you that post reviews because you want everyone to know how we performed!

Thank you so very much and if it's not too late, Have a GREAT and PROSPEROUS 2014!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

looks like a done up holiday inn. rooms are nice, free breakfast in the morning. Kinda has like an old school look in the rooms...like your grandma house or something. big modern bathroom though......

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Jeff T,

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I'm not really sure what to say about the "done up Holiday Inn" comment other than I unfortunately, disagree with you. I believe that was a compliment but I'm not really sure? My grandmas house certainly didn't look like our guestrooms but I guess that's subjective. Your description "old school" can be interpreted many ways as well. If you mean "classic" as in not chrome, glass, or modern then I agree. We have a traditional classic design and feel focusing on comfort. I do appreciate that you liked our big bathroom and our free breakfast. If you would kindly reach out to me to discuss your actual experience I would truly appreciate it. Best in 2014 to you and your family!
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

After a long, fun filled day in NYC with the kids and grandchildren, and a mere 33 minute drive to the Wilshire Grand- our family had made another great Christmas memory. We are always a late check in and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. Hot Cappucino, coffee, hot chocolate were ready for our cold, tired crew and then we went to our gorgeous, immaculate rooms. The hotel also had 3 weddings last weekend so excitement was in the air. Breakfast was great as well. Always a pleasure!!
See you in 2014!!!

Regina La Grossa and family

Room Tip: No bad rooms- stayed several times-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Regina L,

You're always so very kind and gracious. We love having you and your family here around the holidays. I am just so sorry I missed you due to my being on vacation. Yes, I missed you this year but I'm so happy you had such a great time. The city of New York is so beautiful this time of year - and how shrewd are you to stay with us for so much less than one might pay to be at a city hotel. Hope to see you soon! Best to you and the family of course! Happy New Year!!

Your friend, Ed Reagoso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Exceeded our expectations and then some staff was above and beyond helpful!!! I ran into issues booking online, called and was taken care of super fast stayed in the king jacuzzi with the pampered in pink package the room was clean spacious the presentation of flowers champaign and chocolate only let the way for the delicious dinner and relaxing rest of the evening. Every one on the staff from check in to check out was pleasant as well as helpful will be back soon just because of the service given by all. A+++ thank you for a beautiful evening
Marcel

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank willstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Willstay,

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review. We've been rated # 1 in West Orange since February 2008 and we wear that patch proudly being an independently owned and operated boutique hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly prior to or after reserving your next stay so I may have the opportunity to upgrade you to one of our fine suites at no extra charge for becoming a BIG FAN!

Happy New Year!

Ed Reagoso - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
257 reviews
4.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
755 reviews
3.1 mi away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
222 reviews
10 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
845 reviews
5.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: £96 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 200Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing