We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was friendly and helpful and our room was immaculate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Hadley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The staff was friendly and helpful and our room was immaculate.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. Breakfast included waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, assortment of bagels and muffins, yogurt and cereal. The hotel is ecofriendly. Local restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay there again when travelling.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massachusett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Massachusett,

Thank you so very much for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Our team is always appreciative of new reviews and yours is truly stellar. Thank you for noticing our eco-friendly practices as well. Our goal to reduce our own carbon footprint by twelve percent this year is truly a task but we're working hard to make it a reality. Thank you for noticing!

Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    117
    48
    26
    22
See reviews for
171
97
34
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I live relatively close to The Wilshire Grand Hotel, so I did not have a reservation nor intend to stay there when I recently joined a friend's post-wedding party at the hotel lobby bar. The hotel makes a great first impression and I was very surprised by the size of the place and all of the amenities. So, I decided to inquire about a room so I could stay with the group a bit longer and not have to worry about driving home. Elijah was working the front desk at the time - he was very hospitable and was able to offer what I felt was a great rate that solidified my decision to spend the night. The room was very spacious, clean and well presented with a king bed and an additional sofa bed. The lobby offered plenty of necessities for someone who had not necessarily planned to stay the night and there was a great breakfast set up the next morning also attended by very friendly staff. Should I ever find myself in need of a local hotel, I would most definitely make plans to return and I will most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that I can.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Dennis C,
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. The fact that you took the time to post this review is truly appreciated by my staff and I. We gauge our success on our TripAdvisor ratings and we've managed to stay # 1 in West Orange since February of 2008 which is quite a feat considering some of the big box brands we compete with. Thank you for taking your valuable time and lettings us know how we're doing!
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Was looking for a place to stay in the Montclair area and didn't want to spend a fortune, but did not want to lower my standards either. The hotel exceeded my expectations and the staff was awesome. Elijah and Courtney at the front desk went above and beyond the call of duty (even calling me to say that I'd left my computer recharger behind!). Not only would I go back, but I'm already planning my next stay. I recommend these guys without hesitation - the rooms are very clean, my floor was quiet and I was very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travlr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear travlr09,
Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Your comments will surely be shared with the team and I too am delighted that you got your charger for your computer back. Please send me a private message so I may get your address and send you a "BIG FAN" suite upgrade certificate for your next trip! We love new guests!! Thank you for becoming a believer!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Not sure what the negative remarks are about this hotel but I really liked this hotel.
I do travel for business so I stay in many hotels.

The front desk were very nice and they were able to do an early check in
The room was very nice clean and big. Beds were very comfortable.
I did order room service which was delivered in under 15 min and the food was great!

The free breakfast was the best. I could not believe this was free. They had everything!
The check out was great as well and all the staff were very friendly.

I did not hear any loud noises and slept like a baby
Thank you!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEKDES-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear JEKDES-NYC,

Thank you very much for posting your review with TripAdvisor. By now you must surely know - not only do we take this review process quite serious but we gauge our success on our service rating with TripAdvisor. Coming from a Senior Contributor, your comments carry much weight and it's clear that as a seasoned traveler your demands may be more specific in nature. I will be sure to share this with my staff and I again thank you for letting us know how we measured up. Your room tip as always, is appreciated as well.

Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have to say we recently held our annual trade show there and it was second to none. The setup was spot on and the food was great. Jacqueline took the time to help us throughout the planning and Daniel Clayton did a great job helping us lay things out and assisting throughout the event. Everyone went over and above to make sure we were happy and well taken care of.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Kelly V,

Thank you so very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Your comments will surely be shared with the team and each person named will be awarded for their service level. It's truly nice to know that we've impressed you enough to post a review and the fact that your such a regular client makes the review that much sweeter!

Thank you!
Ed Reagoso-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was happily surprised with the hotel and my stay at the Wilshire Grand Hotel. I was not sure what to expect, but given the price ($89/night) and the level of chain hotels in the general area, was not expecting much beyond the basics. The Wilshire Grand was really quite nice -- attractive and well-maintained inside and out, with friendly staff and an array of amenities. I was not there long enough to take advantage of anything except for the complimentary breakfast (also surprisingly good) but definitely enjoyed my stay. The one issue I had was with noise -- my room was located on the first floor (just passed the business center) and I heard comings and goings late into the night and beginning early in the morning (they were particularly loud because of the marble floor) -- To avoid this problem, I would recommend requesting a room on another floor or further down the hall. Otherwise, it was a nice hotel and I enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor (especially rooms close to the lobby).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear lucymontgomery,
Thank you very much for posting your terrific review on TripAdvisor. My team and I take each and every review to heart and we work aggressively to create an atmosphere of personal service. To have your review memorialized is really appreciated. Adding your room tip is appreciated as well!

Thank you kindly,

Ed Reagoso- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Wilshire Grand Hotel for a week, along with other family members. We primarily chose the hotel for its proximity to Kessler Rehabilitation (and the fact that they offered a discounted rate for Kessler-affiliated guests). We were expecting a standard hotel experience but immediately realized we were in for something special. The interior has a very different look from a standard chain hotel: marble/limestone signs throughout, unique furniture, high-end craftsmanship throughout. They have a variety of nice touches, from a high quality latte/cappucino machine (not the usual sweet varieties) to fresh-baked David's Cookies and cider each evening, to a reasonably priced wine reception. The breakfast was outstanding and the selections included homemade oatmeal, real scrambled eggs, a huge fresh fruit bowl, high quality bagels and pastries, and even organic Stoneyfield Farm yogurt, as well as the more standard fare (cereals, toast, etc.) that you get at other hotels. There is also an excellent Italian restaurant on the premises (Primavera) that never disappointed us.

We left the hotel very satisfied and planned to post a positive review on Trip Advisor. We did have one suggestion for the General Manager, which we emailed to him one evening before posting the review. He answered our email at 7:00 a.m. the following morning and immediately addressed our concerns. So now our review is even more positive because we can add the fact that the hotel also has a very responsive general manager.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MN_travelers_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear MN_travelers_18,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are proud to be a Kessler Rehabilitation preferred hotel and we empathize with everyone and their families as they go through the trying times often involved in the recovery process. We are proud of our quality breakfast offerings and are glad you took notice of the many detailed items we make available. Regarding Zagat Rated Primavera, I too have never been disappointed! I do also thank you for memorializing my responsiveness in dealing with your concerns. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance to you again and I thank you and wish you and your family all the best in 2014.

Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
213 reviews
4.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
10.1 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
788 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Property: The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 50Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing