We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“Everyone Loved It”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We had our wedding at the Wilshire Grand Caterers so of course we booked a block of rooms at the Hotel. Nelsy, the sales manager, was a pleasure to work with throughout the process. She was able to address any concerns we may have had. The guests loved the rooms. They are all clean and roomy. And the free breakfast was a big hit. A s a side note, Anne and the team at the Wilshire Grand Caterers and Julio and his staff at the Primavera Restaurant in the Hotel made our wedding weekend absolutely spectatcular!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    117
    48
    27
    23
See reviews for
175
97
35
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Loved this place! I was there for one night for a wedding in the area. The room was large and the beds were amazingly comfy! The bathroom was big and the lotion and shampoo smelled soooo good!
The have breakfast in the morning which is nice and it is convenient to all hiways in the area.
The front desk was friendly and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4goingawayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Very clean and well maintained. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were a bit small, but perfectly cleaned and maintained. Beds and pillows were okay Bathroom was really nice, with super fluffy towels. Kids got a kick out of having a phone in the bathroom. Standard fridge and TV/Cable. "Full breakfast" was just an average continental breakfast. Waffle maker and egg burritos, along with usual breads/bagels. Sitting area was very loud for some reason, but plenty of seating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCT354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My wedding was located at a venue very close by. I blocked a set of rooms for my guests at The Wislhire Grand Hotel. From the moment i went in 6 months prior to my wedding till the day after my wedding....the service was outstanding. I am very pleased with the professionalism and service I received. The sales manager Nelsy was wonderful to work with. I would recommend staying here if you are in need of a hotel in the West Orange area.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbd326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Reading
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Our stay at the Wilshire Grand after our daughter's wedding was a great experience from start to finish. The entire staff was courteous, friendly and very helpful. Our friends and family, as well as the newlyweds,Mr. and Mrs. Richard J. Cuthbertson were all extremely pleased. I recommend this hotel highly.

Angel Korodan

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelkoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

The only thing "grand" about this hotel is the name. It is below the standard now being set for less money by Hampton Inns, Hilton Gardens, etc. Our room was tired. Window did not open,. Room temp controlled by a motel style unit that turned off and on all night waking me each time and blowing cold air on my husband's head.. We unfortunately got a handicapped room so while this may not be true of standard rooms, the bath vanity was tiny and had no room for our toiletries. We had to use the bench that was there for use in the handicapped shower, to put our kits (think about what had been on that!). The shower had a hand held shower head that was covered with mildew and had hair stuck in it.. Any sound that was made in the hallway could be heard inside the room.

Positives, the room was large and had a decent sofa and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
We take great pride in executing fine service. Your comments indicate you had some unique complaints regarding your stay with us. Unfortunately, we show no record of the complaints and I would truly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally & make amends. In even the finest, well tuned of organizations an occasional misfire can & will occur. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly - I can & will prove to you that we are the best hotel in the area.

Sincerely,

Edward Reagoso, General Manager - The Wilshire Grand Hotel, West Orange NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2010

My daughter's wedding was recently held at the Wilshire Grand. From the moment we looked at this venue over a year ago, we knew it was the place for us. We met with John,
Director of Catering and loved him. We toured the beautiful hotel and fell in love with the accommodations. Nelsy, Sales Coordinator of the hotel, was wonderful and took care of all my requests and was always eager to please. The front desk was always most courteous.

We booked 50 rooms for our of town guests which was so convenient. They loved the rooms. The rooms are beautiful.

The wedding was elegant, food and service were fabulous. Presentation was spectacular. Array of deserts - beyond belief. John took care of all the details and was happy to help us in any way possible. He is meticulous and the attention to details was amazing. He is so much fun to work with. John is the best!

Keith, was so attentive at the wedding - very very helpful.

My guests said it was one of the best weddings they had been to.

I would recommend this hotel without question, whether for an affair or just a sleepover.

Wish I could do it all over again!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#1 of 4 in West Orange
250 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
1.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
683 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
10.1 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Property: The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 50Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing