We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great Accomodations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
SE PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Accomodations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We were blown away by this hotel: very clean, large rooms, comfy beds, reasonably priced. They even had a full complimentary breakfast! A sign posted in the lobby requires guests to be considerate during evening hours; A " No Tolerance Policy". FINALLY, a hotel staff who truly care about the clients' good night rest. A must stay place when in the Montclair area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackKayPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Jack,

Simply said "Thanks for noticing" our attention to detail and the concern we have for every guests "good nights sleep."

Sincerely,

Edward Reagoso, General Manager & Ownership Member
The Wilshire Grand Hotel, West Orange - New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    114
    46
    25
    21
See reviews for
167
96
33
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

My first trip to this area for business and in reading reviews that were negative about this hotel had me concerned BUT they are unfounded in my opinion. I do travel quite a bit of traveling and am probably more critical of hotels then most so I do not often or readily give out 5 stars or recommendations unless it was truly the experience. Everything from the front desk to the room, etc. met my expectations of a top hotel! When I checked out and was picked up by a business associate, my bag accidentally feel out of the car as we drove off. We could not find it, the staff came out and helped but again the suitcase could not be found. I got a call from Kwaku at the hotel that the bag was found in the parking lot, turned in and the hotel wanted to make arrangements to get it to me! Kwaku and the staff went out of their way to help me get back the bag--with the utmost professionalism and attentiveness!

Again, thank you very much, and I will most definitely speak highly of your services and the hotel and the Whilshire will be my hotel when traveling in the area!
12-7-10 David

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripping49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
David,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm happy to report to you that I was not even aware of this until after the fact. I am delighted my staff acted with compassion & professionalism. Though it's often thought in our business that this kind of action comes natural, I would disagree. I believe it's a work in progress and thanks to comments like yours it affirms our place in the market.

We are a small business with no international "big brand" backing. So I remain delighted to tell you that we have remained # 1 in West Orange on TripAdvisor since February 2008 up against some big players.

Thank you for staying with us & letting me know "how we're doing."

Sincerely,

Edward Reagoso, General Manager & Ownership Member
The Wilshire Grand Hotel, West Orange - New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Just had an affair at this hotel and had over 25 rooms booked with family and friends coming from all over the place. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful from the front desk people to Nelsey who held my hand the whole time during the booking process of setting this up and making sure everything worked out fine. Rooms were great and I can't thank Nelsey and the staff at this hotel enough for making this special night go off without a hitch.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigalittlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

I worked with Nelsy to book a block of 20 rooms for my overnight wedding guests. She was awesome to work with and made it easy since I live 2 hrs away. They had a free shuttle for my guests and the rooms were very nice. I highly suggest staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceblue33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We had our wedding at the Wilshire Grand Caterers so of course we booked a block of rooms at the Hotel. Nelsy, the sales manager, was a pleasure to work with throughout the process. She was able to address any concerns we may have had. The guests loved the rooms. They are all clean and roomy. And the free breakfast was a big hit. A s a side note, Anne and the team at the Wilshire Grand Caterers and Julio and his staff at the Primavera Restaurant in the Hotel made our wedding weekend absolutely spectatcular!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

Loved this place! I was there for one night for a wedding in the area. The room was large and the beds were amazingly comfy! The bathroom was big and the lotion and shampoo smelled soooo good!
The have breakfast in the morning which is nice and it is convenient to all hiways in the area.
The front desk was friendly and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4goingawayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Very clean and well maintained. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were a bit small, but perfectly cleaned and maintained. Beds and pillows were okay Bathroom was really nice, with super fluffy towels. Kids got a kick out of having a phone in the bathroom. Standard fridge and TV/Cable. "Full breakfast" was just an average continental breakfast. Waffle maker and egg burritos, along with usual breads/bagels. Sitting area was very loud for some reason, but plenty of seating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCT354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
1.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
10.1 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Property: The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 50Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing