We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant & Bar”
Review of La Primavera

La Primavera
Ranked #9 of 98 Restaurants in West Orange
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Same owner as Primavera at the Wilshire Grand
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Restaurant & Bar”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've eaten at this restaurant numerous times. Great Italian food, Great Staff. I would highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Orange
Level Contributor
129 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food, nice presentation, and good service”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A quiet little table in the corner made for a romantic evening for two. The staff was very attentive. The menu had nice variety. The rock shrimp are fantastic as were the salad and pasta dishes. Would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreaterJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Unbelievably Rude Treatment”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Ate at the bar. The staff pushed out the three customers staying in the hotel at 9:15PM and asked us to hurry up and leave because they had no other customers and wanted to get home at 9:50PM . To the Owner: Wonder why with great food and good location you have mediocre business? You have a horrible reputation with the worst staff at any restaurant in the area. When I complained to the mustachioed manager that we were told when we called before coming that the restaurant closed at 10PM, he responded, "We close when we want depending on the amount of customers."

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeline07052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The only thing new is the name”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We came here thinking this was all new now that it is affiliated with Primavera in the Wilshire Grand down the street. Having been to the previous restaurant, Reggiano's, that used to be in this location and being very annoyed and disappointed with them, we thought we would give La Primavera a try. We had made a reservation, and though we were there early enough that most tables were open, they never asked if we had a reservation. Later we noticed that other customers who said that they had made reservations, particularly a large party, the staff was not ready for and they had to scramble to put tables together. This is a huge issue that we had with the previous restaurant, reservations were completely ignored.

As for the food, it may be associated with Primavera but it is NO Primavera. The food is mediocre to average. The pasta dishes that my table ordered were very dry and lacking sauce/oil, not to mention they also lacked flavor. The only good thing I can say is that the rock shrimp was ALMOST as good as Primavera's.

The decor was kept the same as the last restaurant, save for the removal of the TV on on wall.

We will definitely not be rushing back here any time soon. I would rather go down the street to the real Primavera or to any of the numerous restaurants in Montclair.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kiki1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonito, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice small Italian Restaurante”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had a great friendly service, and there was a large menu selection. Food was very good and plenty of it. I had the same meal at another restaurant the night before and it was a little better than here but I would not hesitate to come here again. Check it out!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grannydee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Primavera also viewed

 
West Orange, NJ
 

Been to La Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing