We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and service were terrific, but location will hurt it.”
Review of Cut

Cut
Ranked #55 of 97 Restaurants in West Orange
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
301 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Food and service were terrific, but location will hurt it.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a review of location, location, location!

The steakhouse is situated on the second floor in the back of a dance club. You have to walk through the dance floor, and up a back staircase, then across the hallways to just get to the entrance of the steakhouse. Servers have to guide every guest to make sure they can find their way.

Don't get me wrong. The food and service are worth it. Sam Mickail is the chef, and has an excellent reputation. The food is prepared impeccably, and the descriptions of the dishes on the menu must have been written by marketing company-very descriptive and beautiful. That seems to be the new thing at upscale restaurants, with flowery images.

Various breads lined the basket, and the table was prepared beautifully. The apps were GREAT-crackling calamari, and the crab meat Brule. The crab was a bit sweet, but my wife loved it.

The bronzino was butterflied and deboned. Delicious. The lamb chops were perfect-medium rare with a mole sauce. Fantastic.

The drinks are made well, but a bit pricey. Our server was as professional as you could ask for, and was extremely attentive, even though there was a full crown that night. Mickail even came out to say hello.

All in all, a 4.5 out of 5. The only drawback was the location, and the excursion to get there. They need to put an elevator in the front, to ferry people up and down from the restaurant without going through the club.

To my followers:

Forget the trek up to the dining room, and just enjoy yourself.
Do not sit in the back near the heaters. They are blasting to warm the whole room, and you will fry from the heat.
Order your favorites. It will be well worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
301 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very Poor Service and Management!!!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This deals with honoring a groupon. I bought a groupon and the expiration date landed on the week of Thanksgiving. I called and asked if I could use it Friday, the day after Thanksgiving, and they refused, even though it was a regular work day for them. The woman answering the phone said no, and was ready to hang up. So, I asked for a manager. They were even worse. In fact, even though I explained my predicament, they were very rude and curt. I would stay away from this restaurant and not patronize it just because of the lack of caring on the managements part.

To my followers:

These are the kind of restaurants that we should stay away from. I would not support this establishment, and try one of the other fabulous restaurants that I have endorsed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite on the mark”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

After needing to be escorted to the restaurant which is a flight up and in the back of a disco/club, the set up was quite disconcerting, There are two rooms, forget the back room as the wait staff stomp their way out of the kitchen and rumble on to their tables. A steak restaurant should serve steak you can't buy at the supermarket. My filet mignon, while cooked to the right temperature, was anything but prime cut. The sides were okay and the cocktails were fine, the place was just not really much more than a finer diner.

I don't think i will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great steaks - overpriced - poor atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great steak - had the Tomahawk, which is a rib eye. My wife had sirloin. Cooked as ordered. Very tender & tasty. Very expensive - $42.00 for the steak alone. Dinner for 2, with 1 drink each, appetizer each, 1 veggie (overcooked asparagus), coffee & no desert was $162 without tip.

The restaurant is upstairs from a night club. We were there on a Tuesday night - club is closed, but the restaurant played a repetitive segment of techno beat music. NOT the right feel for a high-end steakhouse. Will probably not go back, due to the music. Would definitely not go here on a weekend (since I don't want to listen to club music)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_B_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wharton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place very personable atmosphere,Good Food,Great Drinks”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This place is one in which I recommend, great atmosphere,Good food,Great drinks. The staff are very attentive and very friendly...Awesome Experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellamyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cut also viewed

 

Been to Cut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing